We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6860 Main Street PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Traveluro
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (279)
Room & Suite (116)
Dining (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Be immersed in the historic charm of the Harbour View Inn on Mackinac Island. Located on spacious, scenic, and beautifully landscaped grounds only a short walk from the island's best attractions, yet away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, our beloved lodging on Mackinac Island offers an unparalleled escape.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1261Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 718
  • 387
  • 96
  • 40
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ItchyFeetBTS wrote a review Dec 2021
Chicago, IL215 contributions162 helpful votes
This property was in a nice location – close to town but out of the main fray. We had a room with a beautiful view of the harbor. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. One thing we really appreciated in our double room is that it had 2 comfortable chairs and 2 luggage racks – very nice. Some of the paint needs to be touched up and the chairs needed reupholstering. Breakfast was ok – we wished they had more options that weren’t high in sugar. Bikes were available at a good rate – but only 1-speed coaster bikes. There was a lovely front porch for relaxing as well as some nice common areas indoors. We’d definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Bruce B wrote a review Nov 2021
Phoenix, Arizona173 contributions114 helpful votes
This is a Beautiful hotel towards the edge of town. Nice views of harbor. Very clean and comfortable. Have bike rentals cheaper than most places in town. Nice breakfasts each morning. Staff are very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Request a harpor view. A bit more, but worth it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Thank you Bruce! We hope to see you again this season!
Read more
Brittany J wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My family recently stayed in the Guest house, a queen suite, with balcony view of the court yard. The room was very nice, included a fridge, and our suite had a door that blocked the living area from the bedroom which was nice with kids when they had to go to bed a little earlier. We had a portable air conditioner in the room which worked ok. The continental breakfast was easy, cereal, muffins, fruit, coffee, hard boiled eggs, juice, etc that was put in a to-go bag for you, this saved time and money from going out to breakfast on Main Street. The staff was friendly, clean, and always helped us with your needs. Easy access to Main Street and a quick bike ride to downtown, also walking distance. We’d definitely stay again, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask for a fridge in the room, for left over dinners, drinks, etc. Get lunch from Doug’s market...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Guest House and that you will visit us again! Looking forward to that visit!
Read more
Hdbaum0723 wrote a review Oct 2021
49 contributions14 helpful votes
My mom and I spent a weekend on the island for a mother-daughter get-away. We had a garden view room. The garden is small but very pretty. We were on the first floor and there was a small patio outside with Adirondack chairs. Due to the temperature we did not sit outside but that area would be nice in warmer weather. Our luggage was brought to the inn upon arrival on the island which was nice. The inn will also take your luggage back to the ferry when you depart. The complimentary breakfast was nice. The room was clean and the staff was friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Nov 1, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again soon!
Read more
David S wrote a review Oct 2021
Ann Arbor, Michigan28 contributions6 helpful votes
Underwhelming. Lovely location. Lovely building and grounds. But… Breakfast: Muffins, apples, bananas, pre packaged Kellogg cereals and prepackaged oatmeal. See pics…Comfy bed though. Lovely courtyard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast is a continental breakfast and with Covid concerns is still packaged to go.
Read more
mustngal wrote a review Sep 2021
Sterling Heights, Michigan2 contributions
Way overpriced for what you get. Paid $400 for one night in a very tiny room in which no room to walk & hit my head on ceiling for than a few times. Room ok but common areas in cottage house FILTHY..garbage allover the place & completely unorganized. Hotel staff…housekeeping needs training & desk clerk LARRY was absolutely the rudest person I’ve EVER encountered on the island. I left item behind & thanks to this person being so awful & dismissive, refusing to help me locate my item, my 5 day stay on island was tarnished. For the amount of money I paid to stay in that place, I deserved better treatment. I’ve have been a guest at 75% of hotels on Island & so I can honestly say DO NOT RECOMMEND The Harbor View Inn. The management & staff don’t seem to really care about much other than over charging guests for sub standard accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Oct 8, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. The general manager had been in contact with you already and thought we had resolved the issues of your stay. This is the first we are hearing of any house keeping issues, but can assure you that the common areas are cleaned on a regular basis. We look forward to having you stay with us again and hope we can get it right next time!
Read more
Carenjames C wrote a review Sep 2021
Cumming, Georgia103 contributions52 helpful votes
Nice but not overly impressive. Very clean! Room cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed made. We stayed in the main building room 1211. I do not recommend this room! No air conditioner, only a ceiling fan and a screened door that opened up to a shared balcony. Was rather warm when we were there and the room was stuffy. No window just the door. Was not completely comfortable sleeping with the door to the balcony open but had no choice. This room is also right by the ice machine which you can easily hear. Lobby staff was very helpful booking our tours. Hotel was far enough down Main Street to be away from the downtown noise. All and all it was ok for the money but will try somewhere else next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not room 1211 if it is going to be warm during your stay.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback on the room and hope next time we can find one that better fits your needs!
Read more
USNA wrote a review Sep 2021
Tryon, North Carolina73 contributions82 helpful votes
Harbor View Inn has a great location at the quiet end of the main street. Easy to access everything. Rooms very clean; staff friendly and knowledgeable. Nice breakfast included, too. So glad we stayed here. We recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us Tara! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and appreciate your recommendation!
Read more
Rob B wrote a review Aug 2021
Palmyra, Pennsylvania23 contributions7 helpful votes
My wife and I booked a two-night stay on Mackinac Island to rest and relax after dropping our kids off at college. It was a last-minute decision and I think the Harbor View Inn had the only remaining room left on the island....and what a pleasant surprise. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. We had a room (#1108) in the main house. The room had air conditioning, a small bathroom, and a comfortable bed. The room and bath were extremely clean and the room had a door which opened to a nice patio area. The only slight issue was the lock on the patio door. It was tricky to operate but once we figured it out, it was no problem. They had a lemon water cooler and coffee/tea service available 24/7 and a delicious continental breakfast with a suprisingly wide selection. We would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us including the clean room, patio, lobby beverages and continental breakfast! Please visit us again soon!
Read more
KBD87 wrote a review Aug 2021
Arkansas1022 contributions386 helpful votes
We stayed at Harbour House for our first visit to Mackinac and had a great stay. It is just out of downtown so it was quiet and peaceful. There were several sections of it and we had a nice balcony overlooking the gardens. The staff was pleasant and most accommodating. Our AC went out and they sent a fan and had it fixed promptly. The gardens were beautiful with places to sit and read and get away. They rent bicycles on property and offer a breakfast as well. I loved the location and the quiet, we had a suite and wished we had a fridge to keep drinks cold but that was our only disappointment. The beds were comfortable and the service kept the room clean all week. Great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Becky Miller, Sales at Harbour View inn
Responded Aug 20, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad the staff were pleasant and accommodating, you enjoyed the balcony overlooking the gardens, bike rentals and breakfast. You can always request a mini-fridge for your room! Please visit us again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$246 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
harbour view hotel mackinac island, harbor view hotel, harbor view mackinac island
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaMackinac CountyMackinac Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harbour View inn
Which popular attractions are close to Harbour View inn?
Nearby attractions include Fort Mackinac (0.3 miles), St Anne's Catholic Church (0.1 miles), and The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Harbour View inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Harbour View inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Harbour View inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include JoAnn's Fudge, Doud's Market, and Murray Hotel Fudge Co..
Is Harbour View inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Mackinac Island.
Are there any historical sites close to Harbour View inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Mackinac (0.3 miles), Fort Holmes (0.6 miles), and Biddle House (0.4 miles).
Does Harbour View inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Harbour View inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.