We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
286 Grand Avenue P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lowest price we found
$699
View deal
Official Site
Lol.travel
FindHotel
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3722)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (871)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 10/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Hotel
Updated 10/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 12 hotels in Mackinac Island
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse-drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s Top 10 Resort Hotels in the Midwest and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 10 Mid-Atlantic and Midwest Resorts in 2021, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch, complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Waterslide
Kids pool
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Hand massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
4801Reviews126Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,205
  • 782
  • 389
  • 259
  • 166
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RNorthrup wrote a review Yesterday
Ann Arbor, Michigan1 contribution
I have stayed at Grand Hotel many times over the years. The hotel stay this year was generally very nice. The property continues to be improved year over year -- Thank You for reinvesting in it! Room was ready early on check in day, nice. A few small challenges to work on, though. The dining room staff was spotty on service around timeliness of visiting the table, not clearing away unused seating settings. Mr. Crutcher or Kenny would have not been happy. At the Jockey Club, the staff was slow to turn on the heaters and lower the canopy sides when the temperature got cold. These are small items. The biggest issue was, however, the luggage pick up on check out day. Called before 3 hours prior to ferry departure. When I left to walk to the ferry, my luggage was still by my door. Called the bell captain who explained, "they were busy". When I got to Mackinaw City. My luggage wasn't there. It finally came over later, on two separate ferries one-half hour apart. You should fix that. It's not like you don't know when rooms are turning over, and in what volume. Overall, good stay. Loved the pool area. Thanks! See you next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded today
Thank you for your recent stay at Grand Hotel, as well as your review. While we are thrilled to hear you had a great experience overall and appreciate all of the improvements we have made, we apologize for any concerns you may have had with our staff. Your insight is appreciated, and we are looking for ways to remedy these situations. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Read more
Stay46172069273 wrote a review Jun 28
Harrison, Michigan2 contributions1 helpful vote
The view, quality, dining and amenities are very good. The staffing shortages caused some waits beyond normal but not bad. The changes to the pool, etc. definitely reflect the change toward being more family-focused and more kids are dining at dinner than before, so not quite as exclusively adult and formal. Still a great experience and the golf was better than expected.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded yesterday
It was amazing to see that you enjoyed our gorgeous views and fantastic amenities. While there have been some changes, we are still committed to providing the quality experience we are known for. Thank you so much for the perfect rating. Come back and stay with us again soon at Grand Hotel.
Read more
drewap2018 wrote a review Jun 27
Grand Rapids, Michigan4 contributions3 helpful votes
Better than we ever dreamed! My wife has wanted to stay at Mackinac Island her entire life. I had little interest in it but finally agreed. We both loved and are definitely doing it again! The slow pace “forced” on you by having to use the horses for everything is very relaxing….you must try it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the slow pace here on Mackinac Island. It was a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to your future visits!
Read more
469april wrote a review Jun 27
Lake Forest, Illinois12 contributions16 helpful votes
We have been enjoying The Grand for the last 25 years, with the exception of the two Covid years. And since than a lot has changed. The ownership has changed as well as of some of the standards we were use too. At 1200$ a night, the honor refrigerator is no longer stocked, yet it is still in the the room EMPTY , you no longer supply the personal sundries, like q-tips nail file, ect. all things you use too. All the portions seem to be a little smaller at dinner. The Grand has become just Great. and thats to bad. Room services never answered the phone, even though they have a late menu, we tried several times between 9:30 And 10:00 with no answer. We had a king bed with just 3 pillows that were completely flat and needed replacement. A little disappointed for sure.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
We are honored that you chose to spend your 31st anniversary with us. There is no greater compliment than having repeated visits from our guests, and we thank you for making us one of your favorite destinations. That said, we are sorry that certain aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. The global pandemic has caused us to change the amenities we provide. However, our goal remains to offer a high level of service, so we will definitely be discussing your concerns with our team. Additionally, please know our front desk staff is more than happy to handle any issues you are experiencing while staying with us. Thank you so much for your feedback, and we hope you'll return to us for your next anniversary.
Read more
DiWechter wrote a review Jun 27
Naples, Florida10 contributions2 helpful votes
The Grand is always exquisite - so beautiful with amazing views; but the new pool complex is unbelievable. There is an adult tub (above the huge family pool, which has a great slide by the way); and the adult pool is really warm and has a fantastic view of the bay. There are new lovely chairs as well. There is a new beautiful building with a lovely workout area. Top notch!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear DiWechter, Thank you for your exceptional review of your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel. We are honored that our stunning and modern facilities, as well as our gorgeous views, managed to exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope you will come back to see us again soon!
Read more
Pathfinder240199 wrote a review Jun 27
1 contribution
The reservations people were polite but grossly incompetent. Booked 4 rooms and wanted to cancel 1 room they cancelled entire reservation. Had to rebook and spent lot of time sorting it out. Staff excellent at hotel but inexperienced. Food excellent. Worth a visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. While we are sorry to hear of the concerns you faced at check-in, we are thrilled to see that the rest of your stay was pleasant. You can be confident that your experience will be reviewed with the relevant parties, and we hope you will come back to see us for an even better stay soon!
Read more
westrakarl wrote a review Jun 26
Kalamazoo County, Michigan1 contribution
The experience was good but was very expensive-I rally thought it was over priced for what you got. You did a great job remodeling but the price for everything is way out of bounds. I really thought you should have the priced the stay so expensive-I believe you will notice this on your bookings
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Hotel! While we regret that you felt we could have provided better value, we're glad that your overall experience was pleasant. Please know that we strive to keep our prices competitive while also offering a great experience to our guests. Nonetheless, your positive rating is appreciated, and we hope you'll return!
Read more
mitatoc wrote a review Jun 26
McKinney, Texas2 contributions
The setting is matchless. The attempt to recreate the past is intriguing. The attention to detail is wonderful. The food was presented in several courses with so much choice and variety. Everything was so tasty, except maybe the beef, but I'm from Texas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mitatoc, Thank you for sharing your input with us! We are glad to know that you appreciated our beautiful setting, attention to detail, and delicious food. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Scenic30613414414 wrote a review Jun 26
2 contributions
A wonderful romantic trip!! Best birthday present ever!! Staying at The Grand Hotel is like stepping back in time. Gorgeous hotel and island. Loved the suite we were in! We will be back again! The best!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Happy Birthday! We are honored you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. Your kind words about our beautiful, well-preserved facilities and spacious accommodations made our day- thank you! We'd be honored to welcome you back to Grand Hotel next time you're on beautiful Mackinac Island!
Read more
Cory H wrote a review Jun 26
Houston, Texas107 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
Stayed June 2022 for the Lilac Festival and an early celebration of our 20th anniversary. I'll try to make the summary of our experience short, but this is still a long review. While overall an enjoyable experience, there were numerous problems that I would never have expected to experience or observe for a resort of this caliber and given the rates. Our expectations were very high and the Grand fell short. I received a survey after our visit and I took the time to lay out what we enjoyed and where the Grand fell short. I received an email thanking me for the honest feedback and that the information was shared with the appropriate staff to avoid making the same mistakes. Hopefully this is so. Starting even with the reservations process there was an unusual issue, wherein I received notice that my reservation had been "changed". This was confusing and concerning as I had not changed anything. What i noticed is that the new reservation was $20 more with no explanation given. I reached out via email and was informed that this was the baggage fee. Of course, this should have been made clear up front when i paid, not added later as a surprise fee. When we arrived for check-in at about 6 pm, there was one person at the desk and dealing with other guests who were having an issue. It was taking some time and there was zero acknowledgement of our presence (a "we'll be with in you a moment" is customary everywhere). On check in, we were informed that it would take up to 3 hours for our bags to reach our rooms (later found out it is officially up to 2 hours but we were absolutely told 3 hours as were the guests in front of us). We were completely taken aback by this and reviewed our communications and the website to see if this was made clear anywhere. If there was information about this, we couldn't find it. The luggage has to travel from the ferry docks to the hotel via carriage, so some delay is understandable but we had been on the island a couple of hours by this point and knew the bags were in the hotel. Had we known of the delay, we'd have simply brought the bags with us and/or checked in immediately upon arrival to the island. We attempted to see if this could be expedited or how long it might actually take to get the bags but were told simply by the second person we were asked to talk to that we were in the queue (rather grumpily I'll add). The problem with the delay is that we needed our clothes for dinner in the main dining room. We went to our room and waited for a while, then decided to talk to the manager to try and understand how long we might have to wait (and should we scrap our dinner plans and just go to a casual restaurant?) The manager, fortunately, had our bags up to our room by the time we walked back. She also offered us a credit, which was much appreciated gesture. We had a balcony room with a spacious sitting area. Very nice room but the balcony needs work. There was a plastic fork on the floor when we walked in. The room otherwise appeared to be properly cleaned (although the balcony windows have not been cleaned in some time). The bathroom had been recently renovated (very tasteful) but the handle on the shower and the faucet were both loose. These should be easy fixes but apparently low priority (I forgot to mention it on check out but housekeeping should have reported it). The bed was very comfortable. Back to the balcony, great view, but not a very inviting place to relax at all. It had peeling paint, a wood table with peeling paint, and cheap aluminum and plastic strap furniture with no cushions. For the price we paid for this room I still can't get over this. Dinner in the main dining room is probably more about the experience than the meal. The courses before the entrees were just okay. I really enjoyed the beef but my wife did not enjoy the fish at all (very disappointing). I have a gluten sensitivity and they were able to accommodate that with no issues at all. Meanwhile, my folks were staying at Mission Point Resort on the island and had a meal less than half the price of ours that they said was one of the best they've had. The following night we were to have dinner at the Woods, but there was a mix up on the reservation and it was made 2 hours later than i recall making it. It could have conceivably been my mistake, but I really don't think it was because I had always intended to eat a little early and enjoy the evening elsewhere. I was informed of something about a 2-hour slot on the reservations form probably being the reason it was made 2 hours late (I didn't really understand it). There was an apology and an offer for a reservation at the Jockey Club. We declined and walked down to the village for dinner. Later that evening we went up to the Cupola Bar atop the Grand. This is a very neat place, with an amazing view of the Straits, but the service upstairs this night was exceedingly bad. Getting drinks was okay initially as it wasn't very busy, we then received a surprise bill before we were planning on leaving; ordered more drinks but they never came so I just went to the bar and got them myself; not seeing our waitress again (well, she was 20 feet away but never came to the table) until we decided to leave and ask for the bill. I don't blame the waitress, I just don't think she was properly experienced or trained. I felt bad for her because the other staff were noticeably agitated with her. The worst thing I witnessed happened to the table next to us. The server brought an extra order of sliders the guest said he did not order, and the extra order was taken back. About 5 minutes later, the server returns, argues that the guest did in fact order them and said he would bag them up for him. I was floored. The other guest was exceedingly patient and polite and kept the sliders. I would not have kept the sliders on principle. Even if this was an honest miscommunication, the guest is always correct in this situation (and I don't think he ordered them as they had other food as well). I also saw a member of the staff accept a tip here (and it is not as though it was just left on the table, it was a personal hand-off). There is no tipping inside the Grand and staff should know to politely refuse. The service was so bad, it was comical. It would have been comical anywhere, but to experience this at the Grand Hotel? The Grand is likely experiencing labor issues like everyone else and appears to just be throwing bodies at it. I'd rather they just be open about this to set expectations rather than pretend all is normal. Also, rumor among the locals (and we have a lot of family in the area) is that many staff quit after the new private equity ownership took over and started doing things "their way" rather than listening to what worked. The highlights of our visit were just enjoying the beauty of the hotel and grounds, the history of the place, and the evening entertainment (top notch). It is an amazing place, just wish the service and hotel processes reflected that. We did take a little time to tour the new pool. Had we had our kids with us, this would have been a highlight as well. They did a very nice job with the pool. There is also a new mini golf area (was opening the week after our visit) and the tennis courts are receiving a much needed revamp. I'm just not sure these capital projects should be taking priority over the service and rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Leave at least 2 hours for your baggage to arrive in your room after check in. Premium on balcony...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Cory, Thank you for providing us with a detailed look at your stay. Please forgive us that certain aspects of your stay left something to be desired. We want every guest of ours to have an exceptional visit, so we've alerted our team to your concerns so we can learn from your experience as we constantly improve in all areas. We're better than this, so please allow us to prove it next time you're in our area.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$797 - $1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel mackinaw island michigan, grand hotel mackinac island michigan, grand hotel island mackinaw, grand mackinac island
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaMackinac CountyMackinac Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
388
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Forge a Memory (0.3 miles), Threads of Mackinac (0.4 miles), and Fort Mackinac (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include JoAnn's Fudge, Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, and Original Murdick's Fudge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grand Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Mackinac Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Mackinac (0.4 miles), Fort Holmes (0.7 miles), and Biddle House (0.4 miles).
Does Grand Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.