We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stearns Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stearns Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I know this hotel is old but nostalgic...no. Bathroom was clean but the room and bed were smelly. Tv was so old, the remote control didn't work. Plastic curtains and carpet that had to be 30 years old. One person at the desk was very friendly and helpful, but the rest needed lessons in customer service. I had to cut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAM R
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

When you called to make your reservation, you specifically requested the type of room that your friend had stayed in. It is our most economical room in the older section of the hotel. We normally rent those to people in person that can see them first. Since your friend had stayed there we assumed you were familiar with the type...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did not say at this hotel, but I stood up in a wedding there and got to see about 4 rooms and deal with a lot of staff during set-up. The ballroom is nice and highly reccommend. They worked with the bride and allowed us in to set up as needed and tear down. The guy at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WSUnurse
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our Ballroom for events. We strive to make every wedding reception, Christmas party, Meeting, or other event a success and to help in any way we can so that our guests can enjoy themselves. We apologize if you felt our night clerk wasn’t personable. We have addressed this with him. Since you only saw a few...

Point Pleasant
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Per the owner this hotel was built in 1901... and it shows...but in mostly a good way. If you are going to expect a Marriott, though this is not for you. Everything is clean and neat but it is afterall 115 years old. Not an abundance of outlets, poor wifi (I went out in lobby where fine) so request a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear when customers understand the challenges of maintaining a building that is over 100 years old. The electrical system in the hotel has all been replaced and brought up to code. The project started in the mid 1970's and continued for several years as the building was remodeled. Unfortunately, they couldn't forsee all of todays needs...

Mt. pleasant
Reviewed September 28, 2016

So accommodating and helpful for my sisters wedding. Helpful and above and beyond! They have all the extra touches needed to make it a special event. Location was wonderful as well. Tiki bar was a nice touch too, fun to move the party there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank april929
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We like hearing that people love the Ballroom and our Hotel for their wedding receptions. We always try to be helpful in any way we can so that all events can run as smooth as possible. Stop by and see us the next time you are traveling this way. Stearns Hotel Management

Superior, Wisconsin
Reviewed September 27, 2016

There were a few inconveniences, but overall this was a pleasant, comfortable motel with some old-world charm. Inconveniences: the elevator was VERY slow and the entrance ramp was steep and could only accommodate one vehicle, which caused issues for loading/unloading. The old fashioned key locks on the rooms were somewhat sticky/tricky. BUT - the beds were comfortable, the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmb605
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to hear when customers let the historic charm of our 110 year old hotel outweigh a few inconveniences. When the elevator was installed, 50 feet per minute was fast. We feel that the building is telling our customers to slow down and enjoy your stay. The ramp replaced a flight of stairs and is restricted in size...

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed September 20, 2016

My daughter recently had her wedding at the Stearns Motor Inn and it was amazing! The staff were all wonderful and were so helpful through the entire process, she planed the wedding from out of state. Many of her guests stayed at the hotel for the weekend and we received rave reviews from everyone. We had some reservations of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissahG7793IB
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! It is true that we have a few rooms above the Tiki which can hear the music but we always inform guests at the time of booking. Some people say they don't notice it and some people are more sensitive to the sound. We are glad to hear that your wedding guests were happy with their accommodations and...

Wyandotte, Michigan, United States
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We stayed here for a wedding weekend. The rooms are very dated but comfortable. The banquet roim is very noce and the public spaces are nice. The staff is friendly. The rooms are clean. The location is very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our HISTORIC (dated) hotel. Our hotel is over 110 years old and we have taken great pains not to disturb the original feel and atmosphere. If you are interested in more modern amenities we do have rooms with fireplaces, hot tubs and kitchenettes. We are trying to provide a nostalgic experience from check in to...

Howell, Michigan
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Our family had rented most of the hotel for my granddaughter's wedding reception. The staff was, without fail, extremely helpful and very friendly. We all agreed that we would recommend The Sterns Hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gma_gpa9878
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! Our staff works hard to make sure everybody's event runs as perfect as possible. We are happy to have your recommendation since a lot of our business is through customer referrals. Hope to see you in the future! Stearns Hotel Management

Scottville, Michigan
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying there because it was very clean and comfy. I love the nostalgia feel! I loved that they have real keys! The exercise room and hot tub were great as well. The location is very convenient, and was easy to walk to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigang68
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you liked the historical feeling of our building. We take pride in the work that our housekeepers do so it is nice to hear they are appreciated. Thanks again and see you soon! Stearns Management

Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

I needed a place to stay the night and catch the Car Ferry across Lake Michigan the Stearns Motor Inn is a wonderful HISTORICAL Place clean rooms nice fitness center. Walking distance to all downtown businesses. I would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our downtown location. We are the closest lodging to the Carferry. We hope to see you on your next trip. Stearns Hotel Management

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 17 in Ludington
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
0.7 mi away
Viking Arms Inn
Viking Arms Inn
#8 of 17 in Ludington
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Stearns Hotel

Address: 212 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-3013
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Stearns Motor Hotel Ludington
Stearns Hotel Ludington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Stearns Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Muskegon, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Stearns Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Suspect all rooms equally good..ask for room with strong wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles kenb862, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“We like the courthouse view the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 17cherries, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“Try the east face of the building. Ask to be shown rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Scott06151950, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“Bring a blow dryer. The rooms don't have them. ”
 of 5 bubbles 193bethf, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“The jacuzzi fireplace room is really nice. Has a nice bathroom tub/shower. A closet. Full length mirrors, a kitchen area... can't beat it! ”
 of 5 bubbles musicianized, Apr 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question