We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed her recently and were a little disappointed. The rooms are showing their age, the breakfast is very basic, and there is basically no parking if you are pulling a trailer. It just seemed like we ran into an obstacle at every turn. We will look for a different place to stay next time we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelBee231
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was great an helpful with info about the trails! Getting gas for the sleds was right next to the Hotel, as was access to the trails. Pool area was nice an well taken care, Rooms are kind of dated but not bad, They can feel kind of small at time as with the bathrooms for a big person like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny W
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

So, I have nothing but amazing things to say about the check in clerk, Bailey. After 12 hours of packing up 2 houses to move downstate, I'm informed that they are unable to rent to anyone from Ishpeming. I've called Marquette County home for 17 years and Ishpeming home for 11. After a tiring day, all we wanted was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellee P
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed although I am not quite sure what happened to cause it. I spoke to the clerk who checked you in and she didn't mention any issues and you did indeed stay here so I am confused as we do in fact rent to locals who need a place to stay on occasion....

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

As other have mentioned, the hotel is a bit dated. But bang for the buck? Worth it. Rooms and hallway were clean. Indoor pool area was HOT like a sauna but opening a window fixed that right up. Free wi fi is bonus! Breakfast is cold cereal Danish type continental but no wait. Fridge in our room was helpful but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boatgirl6
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Room was spacious but very outdated. Lamps had burned out bulbs. Some outlets didn't work. They did include a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was nice. Staff was friendly and did accommodate a late check in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DH_Traveler01
Le Center, Minnesota
Reviewed August 27, 2016

This Hotel provided a good value and a nice, clean and fairly quiet environment. We noted there was a pool and Hot tub, but did not utilize. We did walk next door to the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. This was our last night in the U.P. and planned to stop at Agate and Bond Falls the next day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed August 24, 2016

This was a nice, decent hotel for the price. We were moving our daughter up to NMU in Marquette and didn't want to pay the prices the local Marquette hotels were offering for that weekend. We found the Magnuson to be clean, and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VegasGirl1970
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed August 7, 2016

We stayed on 2 separate occasions in July 2016. The room was satisfactory - reasonably clean and comfortable. The rooms were quiet and nice, but they are somewhat dated and in need of an upgrade - especially the bath fixtures. The first stay was in a King room, which was better than the double beds the second stay. The amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwigDi
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed August 4, 2016

My room was well maintained and comfortable. The Marquette area market is a bit higher than much of the UP so the price was in-line for the area. The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel is far superior to the normal buffet style.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Reviewed June 17, 2016

This was easily the best place we stayed. It's pet friendly. It has a free breakfast at the restaurant on the side. It has a pool. It's easily accessible being on a main highway. The staff was very friendly. Very good bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words, we are happy to hear that you found our facilities to be exceptional and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area. RL

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#3 of 3 in Ishpeming
27 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 18 in Marquette
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 18 in Marquette
734 reviews
15.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 18 in Marquette
213 reviews
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#11 of 18 in Marquette
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Price Range: $78 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Country Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't plan on the Breakfast!”
 of 5 bubbles kennyw818, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“As stated, go for the King Bed room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles TwigDi, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the backside if noise from highway traffic is an issue - US 2 is not an interstate, but it does have some traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesbT1688LC, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
“We had no trouble with our room and it was very close to the vending machines.”
 of 5 bubbles B1360RIjimm, Jun 17, 2016 | Read review
“We got a handicap friendly room as I had just had knee surgery. Very nicely appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethh170, Dec 15, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question