We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Budget Host Cloverland Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a good stopping point that will accommodate families. We only had two concerns: some unsavoury items left behind in a desk and the noisy air conditioner. There was plenty of space and the beds were comfy (but you may want some more pillows). Room had a small fridge and coffee pot. Rooms do not have a view and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were on our way from Ohio to northern Minnesota and had booked into the Budget Host Cloverland after a long drive through Michigan and the Upper Peninsula. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the owner, given great information about local restaurants and directed to our room. The room itself was spacious, exceptionally clean and comfortable (with great wifi!)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us! You're always welcome! More 

Deerbrook, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The time was right for my husband and I to take that short extemporaneous getaway trip to the U.P. we'd been talking about for several weeks. We wanted to check out the beach at Little Girl's Point, for one thing, and decided to head there first. The nearest overnight accommodations were in Ironwood. Keeping our itinerary spontaneous, we had made... More 

Helpful?
Thank D0D13
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

wow! What a wonderful review! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here! We try to keep a nice, clean motel, and to tactfully and tastefully share our faith! Thanks for staying with us! More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I were returning from a fishing trip. After a 10 hour drive, we arrived at the motel. Everything from our reservation was ready. The room was clean and comfortable. In addition there were good restaurant recommendations for dinner that evening. Even though we were just over half way home, it felt like we were home that evening.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron G
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! You're always welcome! To our guests, we offer restaurant discounts to a number of local dining establishments! We can also provide waterfall information, and recommend local tourist attractions! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have enjoyed this hotel every year for the past 6 years and the quality service has never waned. The rooms are large and SUPER clean (cleaned every day). Great beds with crisp, clean sheets, quiet surroundings, helpful staff. LOVE IT!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your words of encouragement! We try very hard to make every room clean and comfortable! Please tell your friends and family that we're the place to stay when/if they ever come to Ironwood! Thanks for staying with us! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were watching the races in Ashland and wanted a place to stay since evey hotel in Ashland was full so we tool the 30 mn drive to ironwood and stayed here. Very nice place. Very clean and rooms were nice. We plan on going back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Zachary H
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words of encouragement! We do have a lot of guests stay with us who are going to events in Ashland, Wisconsin, since we're the next town East of them. Our rates are cheaper than Ashland motels, too! Thanks again for staying with us! More 

Wetmore, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A one nighter, but a good choice. Room was clean and comfortable. A few restaurants/lounges within walking distance but you are a ways out from downtown. Only complaint was the bed base, which seemed to stick out and be a toe stubber - several times. They are wood and they are a little bigger than the mattress so... I've stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denny D
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Yes, 9 of our 16 motel rooms have wooden bed bases, where the mattress fits inside a custom made base. We've been forced to transition to these wooden bases, because we just can't find metal bed frames that are any good anymore. They all are very shoddy quality, made of soft metal, break too easily, etc., Thanks for staying with... More 

Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always stay at the Budget Host Motel as the rates are good, the management is friendly and helpful, and it's close for rock collectors going to Little Girl's Beach and Saxon Bay! Discounts offered on local restaurants, as well. For me, I like that they are not afraid to place an open Bible in your room with a devotional.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank smithwigram2
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the encouragement! Yes, we provide open Bibles, and "Our Daily Bread" devotionals in all of our motel rooms. They aren't glued to the table. The Bibles do close, and there are plenty of drawers to put them in if someone wants them out of sight. We are Christians, and are proud to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made a last minute reservation at this motel over a holiday weekend. The manager was very helpful and encouraged us to book soon given that most of the hotels in the area were booking fast. We arrived a bit later than we thought we would (road construction) and the manager was very accommodating. The room was spacious and comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank frog2534
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your encouragement! Please come back again! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was at the end of a 3-week road trip, and late at night, that we found our room here. Reviews were good, as were the rates, so we took a chance with it, even though we had had a less-than-pleasant experience with another Budget Host several nights before. We were glad we did! The room was large, 2 queen-sized... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review

Wow! Thanks for the encouragement! My wife, Sherri, and I, try hard to make every guest, often a long way from home, feel welcome! We remember going to Branson, years ago, and having to "roll the dice" to randomly choose a place to eat, and hope we get lucky! Because of that, we try to recommend the best places to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Ironwood
AmericInn Ironwood
#1 of 11 in Ironwood
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hurley
Days Inn Hurley
#1 of 2 in Hurley
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget Host Inn is centrally located on US Hwy 2 West in Ironwood. Nestled among towering red pines. A short driving distance to major ski hills, Lake Superior, and breathtaking waterfalls!All of our rooms are large, spacious, and contain at least 2 queen sized beds. Microwaves, in-room coffee, cable-TV, small refrigerators, a tub with a shower, hair dryers, and a large vanity area are all “standard equipment” in every room! Choose from convenient main floor rooms, second floor rooms with a front balcony, or quiet corner rooms. All rooms are decorated to resemble more of bedroom than a motel room!W have accommodations for groups. Our largest Suite has 4 Queen beds in 2 adjoining rooms! This Suite sleeps up to 8 people! 2 additional Suites have 2 queen beds PLUS a queen sized hide-a-bed, sleeping up to 6 people! Free Wireless Internet access in all rooms.Ask to stay in one of our decorated theme rooms! For you "fishermen", we offer our "fishing room" so you'll feel especially at home! For newlyweds, sweethearts, or anniversaries, you can extend the romance by staying in our "hearts" room! Our extra-large upstairs Suite is tastefully decorated with a “Cherub” theme. Pictures and statues of Cherubs adorn this spacious room!We have a Large parking lot for snowmobile trailers, etc., Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations for all! All major credit cards accepted.We'll treat you like family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Host Cloverland Motel

Address: 447 W Cloverland Dr, US 2 West, Ironwood, MI 49938-1007
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Price Range: $87 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Cloverland Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Budget Host Cloverland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Cloverland Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
#3 Family Hotel in Ironwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay