We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1257 Ice Lake Rd, Iron River, MI 49935-8122
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$89
Hotels.com$89
Booking.com$102
Agoda.com$102
Orbitz.com$89
Tripadvisor$89
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (36)
Pool & Beach (4)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Iron River
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.9
Finding an ideal quaint motel in Iron River does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake, Iron River, MI! Whether you are staying one night or several, Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake is the perfect option for travelers like you who enjoy comfortable beds, fresh linens, and a peaceful atmosphere. Guests of Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake will enjoy hot coffee and continental breakfast each morning, seven days-a-week. All rooms include flat screen TV, small refrigerator, microwave, and free Wi-Fi. Our kitchenettes are fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans, coffee maker, full-size refrigerator, and stove. All you need to worry about is bring your food and beverage! You can find Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake nestled within the beautiful Northwoods of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula where you will enjoy fresh, clean air, freshwater lakes, and breathtaking scenery. We are one mile from downtown Iron River and walking distance to the local hospital. Whether you want to try your hand at fishing or kayaking around the lake, you can do it all from the convenience of our sandy beach area. Bring your boat – guest launch for free! The next time you are planning your getaway, make Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake your destination of choice!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
107Reviews3Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 72
  • 26
  • 5
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Greg&Patti wrote a review Dec 2021
14 contributions
We have stayed at Lakeshore for many, many years. Claudia and Steele were great owners and took care of the motel in exceptional ways. We were saddened to learn they sold the property and were retiring but also happy that they could now enjoy what they worked so hard for. We arrived in the afternoon and were able to meet the new owners, Bonnie and Mike Shudarek. It was a pleasure. Both are friendly and so accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and made arrangements for July of 2022. While Claudia and Steele will be missed, they did a great job transferring ownership to people who will continue the Magnet's tradition of great customer service. Thanks Bonnie and Mike ... See you in July. Greg & Patti
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie Shudarek, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Dec 26, 2021
Hello Greg & Patti! If was a pleasure meeting the both of you! As guests ourselves late last year, we fell in love with this establishment. After learning of the many years of repeat guests like yourself, we thought "why not"! We realize we have big shoes to fill, and we are committed to providing the best possible experience when staying with us. Thank you once again and we look forward to another summer here in the UP and beautiful Ice Lake! Bonnie & Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie N wrote a review Nov 2021
Sterling, Virginia267 contributions113 helpful votes
Very comfortable and clean motel. We arrived at night so we had no idea about the area. But in the morning with the sun rising...OMG the view...not enough words. The owners are very nice and helpful. As most places, the continental breakfast was just ok. There are few items that the owners will need to update, but I'm sure over time things will be done. I would stay here again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie Shudarek, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Dec 26, 2021
Hello Marie! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to rate our business. Being here only a short time, we have a nice list of updates that we will be working on! Input from our guests is always welcome :) Come stay with us again - perhaps in the summer when you can enjoy our lake. We do have row boats, kayaks and paddle boats that are fun to take out on the lake. Bonnie & Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa B wrote a review Aug 2021
Itasca, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
This place is the best! Clean rooms, beautiful views, friendly and accommodating hosts - what more could you want! Pet friendly too. The rooms are spotless and decorated so cute. Each room has a lake view. Can't wait to return! Thanks Bonnie and Mike, you guys are the best!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie Shudarek, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Sep 5, 2021
Thank you Lisa! We do love it here and we look forward to your next visit! Bonnie and Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph B wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
The couple that own the motel were very helpful. Parking was accessible and good for us as senior citizens, The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The lake was beautiful and clean, Breakfast was amazing with lots of coffee, We will visit that location again, My wife loved the stay,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie Shudarek, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Aug 17, 2021
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we promise to keep your coffee cups full and hot! Perhaps you would like to visit during the fall? I hear the colors are breathtaking! Bonnie and Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cathrynr2014 wrote a review Jul 2021
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota113 contributions59 helpful votes
Comfortable motel at a great price. Bonnie, one of the new owners, is very nice. The quality has not changed. Ice Lake is a beautiful lake. The swimming beach is just down the road. If passing through or staying for a while this is a great choice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie Shudarek, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Thank you Cathryn for taking time to review our hidden gem! Please visit us again soon and send your family and friends - we will take good care of them! Bonnie and Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian S wrote a review May 2021
Oak Forest1 contribution
I've been staying at the Lakeshore since I discovered it 15 years ago. I have fond memories of all my stays. Claudia and Steele were fantastic hosts. Sadly, my last stay I learned they have sold the Lakeshote and will be enjoying their retirement. Although I'm happy for them, its sad to know their familiar faces will no longer be there to greet me. Good luck and good health to them both. The new owners will have alot to live up to. Hopefully they will be good custodians of what Claudia and Steele created over the decades.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gregh335 wrote a review Jan 2021
Batesville, Mississippi23 contributions4 helpful votes
The owners (Claudia & Steele) are what sets this lodging ahead of all others. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the owners friendly ways make it so relaxing. The lake is beautiful. We like hearing the loons and fishing is very good. The location is centralized so restaurants and attractions are close by. Lakeshore is our home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cathy K wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
My daughter and I spent the night when my husband had surgery done at the nearby hospital. With COVID restrictions, we were not allowed at the hospital during his stay. The owner graciously allowed us to get into our room much earlier than the check in time. The room (a kitchenette) was clean, comfortable, and well equipped with an amazing view of the lake. I would stay there again without hesitation!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Judy E wrote a review Feb 2020
Calumet, Michigan6 contributions
We went to Iron River Hospital for Outpatient Surgery and chose this motel -Tripadvisor said it was pet-friendly. Cute place, very reasonable. We are elderly, and try to travel with our dog so we brought her along. We let the motel know that when we made our reservations by phone. Well, surgery went OK and we went back home (2 hours north of Iron River) and then a couple days later called to reserve for 2/16 because of another hospital procedure on 2/17. The manager was really angry. Not gonna give us a room because of the dog, who apparently shed all over the place. She's a short-haired Beauceron, so not unusual shedding. Also, because we reserved a room with 2 beds (husband will not sleep with wife snoring loudly in his ear), she was mad that we used BOTH beds. Yow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IceLakeQueen, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Hi Judy, Thank you for your time in writing a review. I am sorry that we have two different versions of the story. As I said you were the sweetest lady , but the pet shed all over all bedding and pillows. Everything needed to be washed. I am sorry for the inconvenience and sorry for the bed misunderstanding. Good luck to your husband and have a great day. Claudia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry E wrote a review Feb 2020
Calumet, Michigan90 contributions21 helpful votes
This place advertised itself as pet friendly and we told them in advance we were bringing a dog. We rented a room with two double beds. When we checked out they complained about the dog shedding. They even complained because my wife and I used both beds! You rent a room with two beds and you're not supposed to use them both? Otherwise the room was small and the furnishings old-fashioned, but it was clean and well kept.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IceLakeQueen, Owner at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Hello Barry, We thank you and your wife for your reviews and are very sorry that we did not appreciate all the dog hair. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to remove the short , fine hair and I do apologize about the bed misunderstanding. You two were both so nice, sorry it didn't work out. Good luck on your recovery.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lakeshore hotel iron river, lakeshore motel iron river
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaIron River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Nearby attractions include Iron County Historical Museum (2.5 miles), U.P. Trading Company (1.0 miles), and Stanley Creek Crafts (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riverside Pizzeria, Alice's Restaurant, and The Pasty Corner.
Are pets allowed at Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lakeshore Motel Ice Lake accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.