We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

American Inn & Suites

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
American Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with my cousin and her two children just to catch up and spend some time together. Check in was extremely fast and the girl at the front was so helpful and accommodating. We asked for a first floor room as close to the pool as possible because with two little kids we knew a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
Houghton Lake, Michigan
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just had our son's birthday party at American Inn and Suites to use the pool. Upon arrival, the front desk receptionist was wearing a pink bra and a tight white see-through tank top, stretch pants, and slippers. We started the party, and when it was time to go swimming, and we needed keys to get into the pool area,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori F
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What is that smell. It is like a musty wet dog. The lobby smells like that and in our group, three of the four rooms smell horrible. We can't find four rooms elsewhere or we would move. The pool is fine, haven't had breakfast yet, but nothing else matters because of the smell

Helpful?
Thank sgbgalt
victor k, General Manager at American Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize at the American Inn we take our reviews very seriously We have correct that issue due to the wet carpet in the Lobby We had a an ice machine that leaked and caused that smell, that problem has been resolved immediately we had a professional company come take care of that. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I travel a lot for work. I am in hotels at least once a week. This was the worst. Just FILTHY! Dead bugs and mold in the shower. Trash all over the grounds outside. Walk in the pool room and the stench was overwhelming. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua B
victor k, General Manager at American Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us at the American Inn we take our reviews very seriously We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered these issues have been corrected. We make sure that our rooms are clean at all times . Their was a heavy storm and heavy winds that night and blew the trash everywhere in the parking lot and... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a business/golfing trip and had about 8 rooms for the weekend. The rooms were much quieter and comfortable than I had expected. Typically in this class of hotels the walls and ceilings are paper thin. I did not hear a peep from people next door or above me the entire stay! There was a nice indoor pool... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chrisevans415
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as it was the best option by reviews that allowed pets, in the area. The other hotels had a 25lb maximum on dogs, or just didn't look appealing. The bed was nice, and comfy. The rest was outdated, and not really my standard of 'clean' per se. The tub had a soap scum tub ring and chrome was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gucci123_13
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Good service from the time I called to book the room through my entire stay right to checkout. Comfortable clean rooms, nice pool, and a decent breakfast. Conveniently located right off the expressway. Stay Near Houghton Lake, restaurants and shopping, and near-by attractions. My only complaints are that the shower by the pool did not have hot water and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda M
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

I have stayed in this hotel a few times already for business and I can tell you that this hotel is as consistent as can be when it comes to cleanliness, stay, and comfort. The staff is very friendly and very helpful when it comes to getting directions, recommending restaurants, or anything else. I travel 50 percent of the month... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rerobsntna
Wixom, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the American Inn because of the great cleanliness and comfortable beds,wonderful staff were so kind and helpful Sean the front desk was knowledgeable of the area . The lobby was very relaxing and cozy nice fireplace excellent wifi service, The complimentary hot morning breakfast was also great We will assure you we will be back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lou H
New Boston, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

Arrived to the hotel late Monday night service was Great Room was Very Clean Service was Great. I will stay there again when in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful both at check in and check out.

Helpful?
1 Thank cwood48164
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.0 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
22.2 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#6 of 15 in Houghton Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
18.9 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 10 in Grayling
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites

Address: 200 Cloverleaf Lane, Houghton Lake, MI 48629 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: $78 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your American Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Houghton Lake
Comfort Inn Houghton Lake
Holiday Inn Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay