We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

American Oak Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
American Oak Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I were very disappointed with this resort. We nick-named it the JAR (janky a-- resort). Our cabin was disgusting; dead bugs and grime, top of the refrigerator had crusty food and spilled rice on it, our sheets had dog hair in them and the comforter on top was stained with blood. The floor was so filthy that... More 

Helpful?
Thank charchar263
Warren, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Art, JoAnn or To Whom It May Concern: This letter is in reference to the 3 charges you access to my credit card August 16, 2016 in the amounts of $382.32, $80 and $1,000.00. I am requesting a partial refund of the first 2 charges and a full refund of the deposit ($500 per PWC) along with an itemized invoice/billing... More 

Helpful?
Thank bethabowl

Travelers are raving about these Houghton Lake hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I decided to rent a pontoon and while there were a number of places to rent from, American Oak Resort had great rates and a great location. And this is where the greatness ended. I called and reserved a pontoon for Saturday only to be called back 4 hours later saying that my pontoon was already booked.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Steven R
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We're renting three chalets right now. All of our questions and concerns are being answered quickly and courteously. "Jo" works hard to keep all the guests having a good time. The beach is perfect for small children (Lots of shallow water). Free Wi-Fi is great! Big flat Screens.

Helpful?
Thank Corey B
Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review, Corey. We love hosting large family groups such as yours and seeing everyone relax and enjoy themselves. Glad to hear the young ones enjoyed the beach so much! More 

Jaffrey, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Let me get to the important thing first: they accused us of scratching one of the seats on the pontoon boat we rented, despite proof. When we refused to pay for something we did not do, they called the police on us. Even the police officer scolded them for having gone that far for something they could not prove. Then,... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Amy K
Warren, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Booked a Pontoon boat to enjoy a Saturday on the lake for the 4th of July weekend. The misery began at 8:40 in the morning when we arrived at the American Oak Resort office. According to the website and the conversation earlier with the manager we would have the Pontoon boat for 10 hours (9 to 7). After filling out... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ginslinger21
Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak Resort, responded to this review

This is related to the other review so again I wills state that the boat was flooded then run out of gas on one tank, not switched over as they were shown how to do and we responded as quickly as we could to get them back up and running so they could enjoy their day. I do not "threaten"... More 

Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

DO NOT BOOK WITH THESE PEOPLE. The boat broke down and we had to get towed in. Only got to ride on it for 30 minutes They wouldnt refund any of our money. They wasted all the gas trying to get the boat started then said it was our fault the boat was out of gas. We were supposed to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nnnnnn2015
Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak Resort, responded to this review

The boat was flooded, run out of gas and not switched to it's secondary, full tank. We did do our best to get you back up and running as quickly as possible and offered you more time out on the lake. You chose to come back in early. More 

Kingman, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful cabin rental. Heater in cabin was good, hot water was perfect. Cabin was clean, staff very friendly and extremely accommodating. I felt like I was staying with family. It was my son's first time on a snowmobile, when he finished, he ran up and hugged the owner, he had so much fun!

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak Resort, responded to this review

We're so glad you had fun and especially that we helped introduce your son to the sport of snowmobiling. This makes what we do so very worth it! More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

We rented a pontoon boat over the Fourth of July weekend for a day on the lake. We paid extra for a boat that could pull a tube and also rented a tube. We waited about 30 minutes for the resort manager to come back to her old house/office so we could provide the information to rent the boat only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jugadimes
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Art and Joanna are great people to deal with. They rented us 4 Wheelers for our weekend getaway, when my son ran the 4 wheeler into a tree, their concern was for him and not the machine. Rather than raking us over the coals, Art allowed us to fix the machine at a huge discount as we have mechanical experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
4.4 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 10 in Grayling
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
4.5 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Houghton Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about American Oak Resort

Address: 112 Jefferson, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: $114 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — American Oak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your American Oak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Oak Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay