We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Groupon.com$52*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 161: English reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for one night, due to attending a family memorial service. What a great place to stay! We were greeted upon arrival by an extremely friendly and helpful front desk woman. We were early and needed to get in the room to freshen up before the service. She accomodated us by letting us have an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erinmike2
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel. Customer Service is the most important responsibility in the hospitality industry and the staff at the Beachfront Hotel ensures that is provided to all our guests. Please come stay with us again when returning to Houghton Lake in the future, we'd love to have you back!

Midland, Michigan
Reviewed June 3, 2015

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly :-) however, once we checked in then went down to the beach an employee came out and told us the owner was complaining about us having our dog on the beach :-( So yes, she got to go, but no, she didn't get to play in the water. Needless to say...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda S
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Beachfront Hotel for your night away in Houghton Lake. While we are all pet owners/lovers at the Beachfront Hotel, we are required to make sure our pet policy is followed to ensure the safety of all our guests. We are not able to allow pets on the beach specifically because we want to ensure our...

Leelanau County, Michigan
Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stopped here during the week prior to Memorial Day weekend. My fear was that I would not find an available room. I was wrong. Several rooms were able. And what a gem of a hotel. It may not look like much from the street, but that is where the surprises begin. I got a room with a beautiful view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank birchpointmich
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. To read such a positive review sure gives us all a great feeling of accomplishment and I can't wait to share it with our staff. I also am glad to hear the hotel was far more than what you had anticipated it to be. We look forward to...

Fenton, Michigan
Reviewed April 29, 2015

We traveled from Fenton, Mi. ( Abt 2.5 hours from Silver Lake to Houghton Lake)..My wife and I were greeted by Samantha (my wife has a knack for remembering names)..As we arrived at the hotel on empty (our car and our energy level) we were greeted in the parking lot by an employee in uniform with a smile (we travel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ryan H
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to know you were happy with your decision to stay with us, but even more excited to have you return during your next trip to see your family. Also thank you very much for the heartwarming personal mention, like your...

Rockford, Michigan, United States
Reviewed February 18, 2015

We arrived early and were instantly told our room was not ready, which was fine, just kinda rude of the person behind the counter. Room was great, 4th floor, facing parking lot with balcony. Hot tub was nice, plenty of hot water!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joel N
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Beachfront Hotel for your Valentine's Day getaway. While we strive to allow guests to check into their rooms early if they are available, there are some instances when this exception can not be offered prior to our guaranteed check in. We do greatly appreciate your patience and understanding of this...

Redford mi.
Reviewed November 19, 2014

Nice,clean, quite place to stay. Would like to return during boating season as hotel has own dock & there is a boat launch down the street. Worth dragging a boat up to on our next fall color/lighthouse cruise.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Greg Q
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. We are glad you were pleased with your visit and do hope that you decide to return with your boat. Our 14-section private dock provides plenty of space for boat parking and with our covered bbq area and beach bonfires, we are sure you will love your return this...

Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting friends, although off-season it was extremely quiet. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Views of Houghton Lake were very nice. Pool area was kept up well. Standard Continental breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AParrott88
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting Houghton Lake, and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks for the new posted pics too!

Prudenville, Michigan
Reviewed November 11, 2014

We checked into a jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi tub is small and the toilet is right on top of it! There's NO privacy between them..We were not in the room but ten minutes. We asked to get our money back politely to a woman and said it wasn't going to work for us. She called Melissa over who checked us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori K
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I do greatly apologize for your stay not being as great as you would have expected it to have been. While I do understand your disappointment in the decision my staff member was required to make, hotel policy was expected to be followed in this situation. Had your room preference...

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewed October 14, 2014

I drove up to Houghton Lake without having a hotel reservation. I checked out a few places and wasn't very impressed. The minute I drove up to Beachfront, I was immediately impressed. There was the lake right behind the hotel and it looked very clean on the outside. I went in to ask about a room and was shown a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ann m
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us what you thought about our hotel. It's always a pleasure informing each department their hard work was mentioned in a guest's review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendations. We look forward to your next visit!

Zionsville, Indiana
Reviewed October 13, 2014

This is a nice hotel, but it seems a little tired after a summer of occupancy and it seemed a little overpriced for what you get, but we were traveling during a peak week. (Then see note below *** about waterfowl hunting.) The positive is the location is beautiful, the hotel is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is standard fair,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rabbitdave
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations during your next...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
73 reviews
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
320 reviews
4.0 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Houghton Lake
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful private sandy beach on Michigan's largest inland lake, Houghton Lake. The hotel features barbecue grills, picnic tables, fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub, free boat parking on our 14 section private dock, free wi-fi, pet friendly, continental breakfast, 48 rooms with private balconies, 12 jacuzzi rooms to enjoy for your special occasion, family friendly, great for weddings, family reunions, golf outings, birthday parties, graduations, wedding packages available, group discounts. Closest hotel to the heart of Bud Bash and Tip Up Town USA! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Address: 4990 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9203
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: $83 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Houghton Lake
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greenville, oh
12 days ago
4 months ago
Defiance, Ohio
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Beachfront rooms had a beautiful view!”
N3128UMjessicap, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Lakeview room with a balcony is the best choice.”
C0leenB, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“most beautiful view of the biggest inland lake of Michigan”
chiquita48653, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view and if in need of a lot of ice, request the first floor.”
Christie_Holzer, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“Beach Walk Out.”
Kellymichigan10, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Groupon.com
$52* /night
View Deal
getaroom.com$80
Booking.com$76
Hotels.com$78
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates