We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lagoon Resort & Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houghton Lake
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Lagoon Resort & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lagoon Resort & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Camden, Michigan
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We read review on how nice the people were suppose to be.. When we arrived the older gentleman was rude. Made comments like I guess since you are tourists you want a key and you city people want a lot. When we informed him that we lived in a more remote area then him he didn't believe us and pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsimmons1957
Millington, Michigan
Reviewed July 22, 2016

This was our first time back at Houghton Lake since about 1990. This was a wonderful stay and we will be coming back. The owners try real hard to make you feel comfortable and help with what you need. There is so much space here. Most resorts are on very small pieces of land and you have no place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiltfong53
donaldt805, Owner at Lagoon Resort & Motel, responded to this review

So glad you had such a good time. Our goal is to make sure when you stay here that you have a wonderful experience. Thank you for the great review. Don T.

Millington, Michigan
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Very, Very Happy with our stay at the Lagoon Resort. We rented a 2 bedroom cabin which we found very clean and plenty of room. The resort is on 3 acres which gives plenty of room. Nice beach area and play ground for kids. We stayed for 2 weeks We rented the resorts pontoon for a few days which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EZSELL
donaldt805, Owner at Lagoon Resort & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We do our best to make everyone that stays with us have a good experience. Don T.

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed July 21, 2016

My family and close friends have been summer and winter regulars at the Lagoon Resort for over 17 yrs. The place is very family friendly. Playground for the kids, gently sloping beach with slide, excellent facilities for docking your boats, fish cleaning house,well stocked bait and tackle store next door,nice restaurant across the street, ample vehicle parking, qaud ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yeagerbuilders2016
cincinnati
Reviewed July 4, 2016

We took our yearly trip up to the lagoon resort. We always stay in cabin 2, a few days into our vacation the cabin developed some plumbing problems. Don and Brian immediately looked into it and found the issue. They upgraded us to a different cabin and Brian even helped us move our stuff into the new cabin. As usual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottsgrl
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed June 10, 2016

We were going to rent a pontoon sun and it was to windy to take it out and we already had it paid 175 which is more expensive then most. We also had it reserved for the next day (memorial day 2016), although the pontoons were not rented out that day we still had to pay the same priceand we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tami s
Ashley, Michigan
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed here and we were very happy. There is room to park your boat and trailer and a dock that you can leave your boat right in the water. The cabins were clean and don and brian were very accommodating. I would 100 percent stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharyl S
New Baltimore, Michigan
Reviewed March 1, 2016

We stayed in cabin 6 over the past weekend with our family. The cabin was very clean and bug free! The cabin was larger than we thought it would be and provided more than enough space for my wife and I, 2 kids, grandma, and several friends who stopped by. The owner was very nice and accommodating. We were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

First time up and loved it! It was nice and clean, was easy to get on and off the lake, the owner and son were very nice and helpful. Walking distance to party store and restaurant. Planning on coming back for tip town next year. Best weekend ever got engaged on the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth K
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed February 4, 2016

We've stayed at The Lagoon Resort for 4 years in a row. We go at Tip Up Town and find the location is perfect. Walking distance to restaurant and party store. Older place but kept very clean. Owner and his son are very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
1.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
327 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open year round 3 Acre lakefront cottage resort with 2 and 3 bedroom cottages, 2 bedroom apartments and 2 motel rooms. Huge playground areas w/swings,teeter totter,volley ball,shuffleboard,horseshoe pits,and large water slide in the lake. Large above ground fire pit by the lake. We have 14ft boats with 15hp motors and pontoon boats you can rent. Bait shop next door. Many childrens toys on the beach. We are walking distance to 2 amusement parks and a restaurant. We also have boat slips in the lagoon and a long dock. Your children will love this. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lagoon Resort & Motel

Address: 6578 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9708
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: $54 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lagoon Resort & Motel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lagoon Resort & Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“we had a cabin”
ericmaxson, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you can afford it try to get a cabin ,you wont regret it.”
jnphick, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“This is a fully equipped cottage, bring pillows, bedsheets, towels and blankets!”
cgrill0, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you put on Sun Screen”
EZSELL, Jul 22, 2016 | Read review
“I d ont know anything about the cabins but boat rental is more expensive then most.”
632tamis, Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question