We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Super 8 Houghton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Houghton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 615: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Houghton
 Click to rate
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location on the waterfront if you are visiting the MTU or the local area. I recommend a lakeview room if possible. Comfortable public areas near reception desk. Breakfast nothing special. We grabbed coffee, a yogurt, and prepackaged cinnamon roll and then had breakfast at a local establishment.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea_upnorth
Southgate, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first night of my trip I developed the stomach bug - the cleaning staff upon seeing that I was traveling alone was kind enough to get me some toast from the breakfast buffet. Now that's service above and beyond!!

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable, pillows could've been a little fluffier. For as cold as the outside weather was, the room stayed very warm. The continental breakfast was nothing special but it was adequate. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub numerous times. Overall a good value and I would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Hefei, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worst value possible. Prices are so high for such a simplistic hotel. A great location by the university and the canal. Everything else is sub par. Old twin beds, old towels, old bathrooms, cheap toilet paper, noisy low end Frigidaire heating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you felt our prices were high, but due to a special event in town we did raise our prices, as most hotels in the area did. Our mattresses are replaced yearly depending on their age and we due replace mattresses every...

Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Let me first say, I am a level-headed person. I never give bad reviews and I try to see the best in everything. However, in this case if I could beg you to spend your $107 per night anywhere else and spare yourself the headache, I would, and I am. It is just not worth the value, especially if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mindy O
Waupun
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stay here frequently for snowmobile and some summer trips to the area, the staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and well kept, the pool, hot tub and sauna area is nice, the only real draw back here is that the breakfast is very generic with only having waffles and dry cereal and toast and some...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Niagara, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinamO1041LK
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

ROCKFORD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay here whenever I'm in this area, rooms are always good, staff is nice, beds and pillows are great. In the past the breakfast was always good, I'd never go someplace else, but it seems like each year it goes downhill. Now its no longer an asset and this time all I took was a cup of coffee. Waffles are...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happyover50
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Super 8 for your visit to the Houghton area and thank you for writing a review.Yes, our breakfast has changed through the years and you are correct, that some of the items you mentioned have not been available for many years. Super 8 does tell us what is permitted on the breakfast menu and we...

Ramsey, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value for the price and locstion. Rooms were updated and the beds were new. I will stay here again on the next trip.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C9700RQadams
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Houghton Super 8. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here during a snow storm. The rooms were outdated and not overly cleanly. I believe this hotel is overpriced based on my experience. Please note that there are NO ELEVATORS, so if you have heavy luggage- request a first floor room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review of our property. Most of our rooms have been renovated with the remaining rooms to be completed this first quarter. We have had great feedback from guests staying in the rooms that have been completed; with even more renovations planned. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the prices...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
24.6 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Super 8 Houghton

Address: 1200 E Lakeshore Dr, N on Lake St From US 41, Houghton, MI 49931-1300
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Price Range: $104 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houghton 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houghton Hotel Houghton
Super Eight Houghton
Houghton Super Eight
Houghton Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Houghton staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Houghton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a lake view, second floor won't have people walking by on the path.”
 of 5 bubbles 5mamec, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“Call Ahead, if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesj269, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Has water front views and good boardwalk along water front”
 of 5 bubbles W1253XDdavidb, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Kinda hard to locate. Road construction could have been the issue.”
 of 5 bubbles carrieh715, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Riverside rooms have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles J4030AWrichardb, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question