We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Julie's Motor Inn

Is this your business?
Save
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good44%
  • Average26%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“close to town”(3 reviews)
“chain hotels”(3 reviews)
“michigan tech”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair access
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
13
23
15
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
13
23
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townchain hotelsmichigan techbreakfast itemsplace to sleepplenty of parkingbed was comfortablecleaning staffwould stay againmotelcampuspillowsschoolsongrilldesktrail
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 56 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2018

You never know what you will get at this price point, and this was a great surprise. Sure, some of the decor is a bit outdated, but everything is clean. It is the cleanest motel I have been in. Everything in the room worked -...More

Thank Oatgirl12
Reviewed December 18, 2017

This was our second stay at Julie's. The room was clean, but a bit dark. The beds were a bit stiff and the pillows small. We found ourselves between two rooms that seemed to be having a party. This made our early morning wake-up and...More

Thank JennyWrenReck
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Who knew Houghton regularly runs out of hotel rooms?! We certainly didn't! So we found ourselves room-less one dark, rainy Saturday night. I called everywhere and was sadly talking my family in to sleeping in the minivan. I did one more google map search and...More

1  Thank Jen m
Response from InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded October 25, 2017

Hi Jen - Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I wish you had mentioned about the shower running cool...we have just installed a brand new, state of the art, natural gas water system and there should never be an issue with...More

Reviewed October 2, 2017

I am not going to knock this place since they had availability and was really affordable. I also liked being able to park right in front of my room. The location near MTU campus was nice. The place seemed clean. The service was quite nice...More

1  Thank Edward W
Response from InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded October 25, 2017

Hi Edward - thank you for taking the time to review. Although I thank you for your kind words; I wish I had something to say regarding the list of items that we failed at with your stay. We have done many updates to the...More

Reviewed September 5, 2017

Room had spider webs with spiders to start. The room was so damp, had to put the heat on to 75 all day to get dampness out, and still damp. The carpet and the sheets were also damp. I felt like I was sleeping in...More

2  Thank Kimberly L
Response from InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded October 25, 2017

Hi Kimberly - I am so sorry for the mess you encountered during your stay with us. I wish you had mentioned the dampness, as we do have dehumidifiers to help with that. Not that it matters, but we did incur a flood the previous...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert F
October 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from schoolbus1313 | Reviewed this property |
I am not the owner--but Julie's is very, very reasonable. Call them and speak to Lois or Wendy they are the most knowledgeable. It is a plain motel--no frills--nice grab and go breakfast. Safe Travels and Good Luck on your... More
0
Votes
schoolbus1313
May 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from InnkeeperJulie | Property representative |
Thanks for the inquiry. Unfortunately, we do get a bad review time and again. It's hard to please every traveler and we just continue to do our best. The rooms with one bed do have smaller bathrooms - and there is not a... More
2
Votes
luvtafish
October 19, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from InnkeeperJulie | Property representative |
No, I'm sorry. You are thinking of the Chippewa motel directly in Chassell which is now closed. We are located on the US-41 just 2 miles from downtown Houghton and the MTU campus and 3 miles from Chassell. As you drive... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Queen rooms are more spacious"
Read review
"I like a room closer to US-41. You can open your window and see the pines."
Read review
"Second level was very quiet."
Read review
"They have pet rooms and non-pet rooms... request accordingly :)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing