We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown

Save
Share
161 Ottawa Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2701
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Only 1 left at
$205
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$205
View deal
Algotels
Travelocity
Lol.travel$265
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (226)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (23)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Updated 12/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 34 hotels in Grand Rapids
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Enjoy all the comforts of home when you stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids/Downtown. Discover shopping, dining and entertainment within walking distance, and enjoy easy access to downtown Grand Rapids attractions like the Gerald R. Ford Museum, the Grand Rapids Public Museum, the Van Andel Arena and the Grand Rapids Civic Theater. We are also just four blocks from DeVos Place, nominated Beer City USA, and 18 minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport. Join us each morning for a complimentary hot full breakfast, and unwind at our complimentary evening social*, Monday through Thursday. Sip cocktails in the only rooftop bar in Grand Rapids - the perfect spot to enjoy amazing views of downtown. There is an additional bar located on the second floor, and a warm and welcoming coffee shop, Jam 'N Bean, on the first floor of the hotel lobby. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Sundance Grill & Bar also boasts Grand Rapids' only Margarita Bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking garage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
722Reviews8Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 496
  • 142
  • 42
  • 18
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gwendyh75 wrote a review Oct 1
Auburn Hills, Michigan2 contributions
Best hotel in a long time. Heads above the rest from start to finish! Every single staff member was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and oh-so clean. Every detail of our weekend stay was perfect! Thank you Homewood Suites!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nikki A wrote a review Aug 2021
118 contributions64 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was our last stop on a week vacation around Michigan. After staying in 5 hotels, this was by far the best! Such kind and attentive front desk staff, and the two bedroom suite felt like a condo. Our teenage boys loved having their own space. The location to downtown was precise. I would happily return here on any stay over in GR!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Dear Nikki A, Thank you for the delightful 5 star review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us! Please come stay again the next time you visit, as we would love to have you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ethan C wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in room 325, which is in many ways a lovely, plush suite. But the street noise on Friday and Saturday night made sleeping impossible until after 1:30 a.m. on Friday, and after 3:00 a.m. on Saturday. When the old building was turned into a hotel, it seems that Hilton didn't bother spending on sound abatement. I live in the center of a large city and am used to the noise of crowds at night, motorcycles, muscle cars and all at once, but this was off the charts. It was clear as we were checking out (and when we called the front desk to complain early Sunday morning) that this a long-standing problem at the hotel, but when we checked-in, we were not warned about what we were getting ourselves into.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: To avoid noise, get an interior room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elijah Steinmetz, Other at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for reaching out and providing feedback. The hotel is aware that there is a nightclub that is opening on random nights across the street from the hotel. This is a random nuisance to the area that's hours vary and we do not know when there will be sound issues. This has been brought to the attention of the police, chamber of commerce, city of Grand Rapids, and the ownership of the building the club is located. From the information received we are aware that the club is not going to remain in that location and hope that you consider staying with us in the future. You can reach out at any time should you want to know the current status of the nightclubs existence. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dicksmith625 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Great location, fantastic amenities and lovely well kept and clean rooms/suites. Do yourself a favor and forget the complimentary breakfast though, for a quality hotel with a little invention this could be so much better than a barely warm cheese omelette and salty overcooked sliced sausage.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear Dicksmith625, Thank you for the amazing review! We hope to see you return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventurer819239 wrote a review Jul 2022
13 contributions15 helpful votes
We have been Hilton Honors member for a long time and we we’re always faithful to the brand. However this location did not represent the standard at all . I reserved a king size bed room with city view. What we got was a basement room with a window looking into the parking garage. The room was long and narrow, dark and depressing. The blue lights made it all the more uninviting . We couldn’t wait to get out of there early enough next morning after a restless night under the garage. This kind of rooms shouldn’t even exist. I would definitely not recommend this location for anyone, other than, if you were always curious about how would it feel like spending a night in prison. Then it will definitely do!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go there
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear Adventurer819239, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay. I will share your feedback with our management staff and we wish you well on your future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan V wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were in town for The Doobie Brothers concert at the VanAndel Center, which is less than 3 blocks away. We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of our room, a comfy bed, modern shower & restroom, complete kitchen with full-size appliances. The weekend stay afforded us free parking at street meters around the hotel to avoid the $32/night garage parking fee. The only criticism I have is the noisy air conditioner fan, which required the use of ear plugs. Overall, a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear A389AVjanv, Thank you for the amazing 5 star review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rtr0opch wrote a review Jul 2022
Montreal, Canada32 contributions63 helpful votes
Really nice hotel but definitely needs a renovation. Super nice people and good service! Downtown was safe and the location was very good. Parking is $32 per night which I thought was high. Clean and well maintained. Biggest issue was the loud music and loud traffic. We were on the 3rd floor and it was really loud!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Dear RtrOopch, Thank you so much for your kind review! We would love to host you again the next time your travels bring you to Grand Rapids!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrianD317 wrote a review Jun 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana496 contributions104 helpful votes
BIG WARNING: There's two Homewood Suites in Grand Rapids. The first is downtown and the second is not. If you're wanting to stay at the downtown one triple check that's the one you're making reservations for. Also triple check you're using Hilton's own website and NOT a 3rd party vendor. If you discover you booked in the wrong hotel it is a massive pain to cancel reservations if you used a 3rd party app. Sadly several of my group did this. I'm also confused as to WHY a last minute rebooking costs so much more booking it the room several months in advance. The room is available so I would think a hotel would want the room sold. I felt sorry for the lady who was helping me at the front desk. She did her best that's for sure. If it was just me I might not have said anything about these troubles. Since a few of us booked the wrong hotel I figured I would offer this as a cautionary tell. The building is an old furniture factory/showroom that's been repurposed. Lots of historic touches throughout the building. The resulting room layouts get interesting. They're all large as near as I can tell. One friend had a two level room with the small kitchenette higher up and the living area on the lower level. My room was one level. There's a ceiling fan; however, it was configured to winter mode to blow air upwards instead of blowing air downwards to cool you. That was a problem when the air conditioning went out through a part of the building on our second night. Not a common problem at all, but most unfortunate. The location is downtown and near plenty of interesting places. It's about 2-3 blocks from the Grand River and their riverfront. The Gerald R. Ford museum is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Homewood Suites. There's plenty of restaurants nearby and even a piano bar my friends enjoyed. There has to be a nightclub nearby as I could hear music for awhile. The breakfast buffet was quite delicious. With the exception of the AC going out and the fan not in the configuration to blow air downwards most of the problems were of my own creation. I don't want to give the impression you should stay elsewhere despite so many negative experiences on my trip. So I would likely stay here again if I were in Grand Rapids. Most of my friends definitely enjoyed their stay here, and once again I realize most, but not all, of my problems were of my own creation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear BrianD317, Thank you for the kind review regarding your stay. I am thrilled you found our location and decided to stay with us. We cannot wait to see you return to our location again! Justin B CTA
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaye N wrote a review Jun 2022
Provo, Utah2124 contributions260 helpful votes
+1
I really liked this hotel. It was in a nice location downtown. Many interesting things were within walking distance which was great. The room was spacious and comfortable with windows that looked out on the town. There were blinds and curtains so we could adjust how much light came in. The room included a small kitchen which was helpful. The bathroom light comes on automatically and shines on anyone trying to sleep. That was a downer. The breakfast items that were available were varied and tasty. The workers kept things filled and fresh. There is no shuttle service from the airport. If I'd known this, I would have chosen a different hotel that offers shuttle service. We spent money both ways on Lyft. Also, we were charged a higher rate than the conference rate given online. I talked to a manager who said to contact Hilton. When I asked for the phone number he impatiently pulled out an 8" X 11" piece of paper and wrote the number down in 4" numbers and shoved it at me. I wasn't impressed. I called the number and spent a half hour with a clerk who, in the end, said "sorry, you cannot have the quoted lower rate." Again, not impressed. We ended up spending around $60 more than we should have. I like hotels where I'm treated like I mean something as a guest. I did not get this feeling at this hotel and can't recommend it. Yes, it's nice. The rooms are nice. The food is good. The location is nice. But rudeness and an unwillingness to help a guest don't bode well. And not having shuttle service is ridiculous. This hotel could work out an agreement with other local hotels and provide that service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: No shuttle service. Be sure of the price quoted and check before you get your bill.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Bombul, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear Kaye N, Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to have hosted you and hope you return to our location soon. Justin B CTA
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mdaze wrote a review May 2022
Michigan25 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel itself was wonderful! Clean room. Very comfortable beds. There must be a club very near by because the noise level at night was very loud outside out bedroom window(we were on the third floor)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elijah Steinmetz, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Responded May 30, 2022
Dear mdaze, Thank you so much for your kind 5 star review! I am thrilled you had a wonderful experience at our location! We hope to see you return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganKent CountyGrand Rapids
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Nearby attractions include DeVos Place (0.2 miles), Grand Rapids Children's Museum (0.3 miles), and Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leo's Seafood Restaurant & Bar, San Chez a Tapas Bistro, and The Chop House - Grand Rapids.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Grand Rapids.
Are any cleaning services offered at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.