We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$299
Booking.com$299
Travelocity$299
JW Marriott$299
Priceline$299
Algotels$333
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (415)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (36)

About

#8 of 35 hotels in Grand Rapids
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 42" flat screen TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Patio
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1204Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 847
  • 210
  • 71
  • 42
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
misskittiewampuss wrote a review Nov 13
Bay City, Michigan79 contributions90 helpful votes
From arrival to departure this hotel did not disappoint. The valet and bell service was on point, very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. No hot tub in pool area, so we were a bit disappointed about that. Bathroom was beautiful with separate shower and tub, but the sink and counter area were small. Plenty of storage underneath tho for your toiletries. Kuerig coffee maker and refrigerator worked perfectly. Great location within walking to everything downtown has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: 35.00 for the day to self park, 39.00 to valet. Def, worth the valet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with out team at the JW Marriott in Grand Rapids. We are very grateful you had the opportunity to enjoy our amenities and service touch points during your reservation. We wish you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EAC79 wrote a review Aug 2022
Chicago, Illinois25 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed on a Saturday night when there seemed to be a few different special events going on, so it was very busy. We weren’t surprised that our room was not ready by 4:00 check-in. The hotel porter kindly held our luggage for us while we went out. We received a text at 5:35pm that our room was clean and ready, along with our mobile key. We had plenty of towels in our room, and the beds were comfortable. Hotel pool was fun for kids–it is entirely under 4 feet deep. There is no hot tub, though there is a sectioned-off space where one obviously was (or will be?), which seemed a little odd. Our room was on the small side, but fine for the four of us for just one night. The bathroom vanity space was minimal, but the shower and tub were very nice. The most bothersome aspect of our stay was the parking situation, which was quite confusing. I wish the hotel had sent an email prior to arrival explaining the procedures. Signage within the hotel also could have been better--we weren't sure how to find the lobby when we first emerged from the parking lot pedway. When I went to the front desk to check out and return my husband's room key, our credit card was charged $35 for the self-park, which the front desk did not tell me. I was glad I noticed in time, because I was able to use my mobile key to validate parking when we left. Otherwise, you either have to use your room key, or call for help if you have already returned it. The front desk was very busy, but I wish they had explained all this when I was checking out. Everyone at the hotel seems to be doing the job of several different people, which is unfortunately very common in the hotel industry these days. We had a fine stay, but nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would not recommend paying extra for a water view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with our team at the JW Marriott this summer. We appreciate your overall feedback from parking, to room accommodations, to amenities available within the hotel. Our team does our best to provide a memorable experience from check in to check out and we apologize we were unable to meet expectations during your reservation. We appreciate knowing where your family felt these hurdles so our team can continue to train and develop to provide a service experience designed like no other. We hope overall you had the ability to relax and enjoy the Grand Rapids area during your stay. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in a future trip. Thank you for staying with our team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RC wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York7 contributions
You pay JW prices but you are staying at a property that is more like a Courtyard. The world has moved on and yet this hotel is still operating at pre/during pandemic level. They won't make up your room, the lounge has nothing to offer other than water, to get a table for breakfast you will wait 15+ minutes.. all that with an attitude from most staff membesr. Sad to say it (as a Bonvoy Titanium elite members), do yourself a favor and stay at a different hotel until they have figured things out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Hello RenniNYC, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, it appears we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not as you expected and I can assure you that we have some exciting new changes for the new year that will be addressing all of your listed concerns. We value our guests and want them to have an enjoyable time that meets yours and our expectations. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure we do address these concerns for our future guests. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids. Glenmore S. Johnson Rooms Division Manager JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AHNY wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We had a pretty terrible experience at this hotel, primarily due to the staff, who are either stretched because there are too few valets, front desk, or housekeeping workers, or who treat guests' requests with a shrug instead of an eager attempt to provide exceptional service. By paying a premium price for a 4-star hotel, I expect much better, and I have had much better, in many other cities and hotels. Here are a few of the things I experienced during my three-night stay: - The room I was initially given had a water leak in the closet, which would have damaged hanging clothes if I had not spotted it early. When I asked for a new room, it took them 45 minutes to send up a staff member to help move luggage and give me keys to the new room. - It regularly took the valet upwards of 30 minutes to get my car from the garage when I requested. Even when I called down 30 minutes before I needed to leave for a dinner, I still had to wait an additional 30 minutes for the valet. There were only one or two valets working at any given time. - Housekeeping was non-existent. I requested towels and new sheets, and found a pile of sheets on the sofa and towels left on the floor of the bathroom. My dirty towels had also been left on the bathroom floor - apparently they did not want to collect them. - Breakfast room service began only at 7am. When I called down at 6:45am to put in an order, I was told to call back at 7am because they couldn't access the system to enter the order before then. At any other hotel, a helpful staff member would write down my order and make sure it was ready as soon as possible, knowing that my time while traveling is valuable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Our team does our best to deliver a memorable hotel experience during your travels. Unfortunately, we have fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Being a frequent traveler myself, this truly pains me to read about all of your challenges and I can assure you that I personally will be looking into all these matters and addressing them with each department and individuals. The great level of detail is greatly appreciated and is valued. Our team sincerely apologizes for how frustrating this would have been during your stay . We value our guests and want them to have an enjoyable time that meets yours and our expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids. Sincerely, Glenmore Johnson Rooms Division Manager gjohnson@ahchospitality.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitzy Applegate wrote a review Aug 2022
Chicago, Illinois279 contributions227 helpful votes
PROS - Room available at 9:30 a.m. - Given a corner room with two walls of windows, and great views (Titanium Elite) - Friendly staff - Complimentary breakfast + bonus points - Lounge access - Comfortable bed - Quiet, spotless room. Very dark at night. Could control the temperature - Enjoyed my dinner at Margaux (have the asparagus appetizer) - Onsite Starbucks - Close to restaurants, museums, river walk - Very hot water in the shower CONS - $35 parking
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Thank you Mitzy for taking the time to review your recent stay with our team at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. We greatly appreciate your attention to detail and overall impression during your recent trip! Our team takes great pride in providing top service experiences to our guests and we are happy we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon during your next trip into the area. Safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna N wrote a review Aug 2022
Milton, Washington31 contributions3 helpful votes
Not off to a good start. Booked a King Riverview weeks in advance to be told that they had "over booked". Negotiated for an acceptable alternative to find that the TV would not power on. Front desk indicated that they would send IT. One hour later a call to the front desk indicated that IT had "left for the day".
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you Donna for reviewing your current stay with out team at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. We sincerely apologize to hear about the start of your trip as this experience does not meet our high expectations we hold our teams accountable to. We have contacted our property management to investigate further into this experiences and sincerely hope the remainder of your stay is much more enjoyable and wholesome. We greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again during your next visit to the Grand Rapids area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wil B wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
As Bonvoy Marriott members we expected a wonderful stay at this hotel. We did not expect to be told there would be NO room cleaning. We were told to ask for new towels and would need to make our own beds with if needing clean sheets. Paying premium prices for less than premium services was a big disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MIke Barton, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded Jul 18, 2022
My name is Michael Barton and I am the Asst. Executive Housekeeping Division Manager's here at the JW Marriott Hotel. I wanted to thank you so much for taking the time to give our staff constructive feedback on your recent stay. We certainly appreciate hearing how we did, both the good and the bad, and being able to use your stay as a coaching opportunity for our entire team. The issues you encountered during your stay are certainly not typical of a stay here at the JW Marriott. We pride ourselves in being able to offer topnotch accommodations and service and I am so sorry to hear that we did not accomplish this for your stay. Again, thank you for your feedback and taking the time to let us know about your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fixit14 wrote a review May 2022
Ottawa, Canada51 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel hoping for a superior experience, but didn’t have one. They don’t provide maid service, the spa is closed, and $35 a day for self parking on top of the already high room rates is ridiculous. They didn’t even apologize for the fact there was no maid service! Next time I’ll stay out of downtown and just come in as needed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylene Geyer, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. We certainly understand your disappointment and sincerely apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We will be utilizing your feedback as a learning opportunity to make necessary changes in order to improve our hotel overall. We appreciate you taking the time to inform us about our opportunities and hope we can earn your business again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dr. Matthew Zagumny wrote a review May 2022
Cookeville, Tennessee14 contributions3 helpful votes
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is just a fabulous property. The views of my old home town (and Sacred Heart Church) were great for a hometown boy revisiting the (old) “Furinutre City!” Great food from breakfast to dinner. Services across all aspects of the hotel are too notch! There’s no other option for us in GR. Thank you for a great Christmas meal and experience in the igloo! All around, one of the best Christmas’ ever in Grand Rapids at your property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylene Geyer, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott for your recent stay to Grand Rapids! We are grateful to have the opportunity to host you and hope you enjoyed your concert! We will look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert C wrote a review May 2022
Detroit, Michigan25 contributions23 helpful votes
I stayed at the JW Marriott on April 22. Checked in about 4 o’clock in the afternoon . the room was wonderful, bed very comfortable pleasant heating cooling system, excellent bathroom, shower terrific. The next morning I had breakfast at the hotel restaurant that was beautiful; didn’t check out till 2:30 in the afternoon hotel was most accommodating. Valet parking excellent. great place loved the hotel. I’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylene Geyer, Marketing at JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott for your recent stay to Grand Rapids! We are grateful to have the opportunity to host you and hope you enjoyed your concert! We will look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$299 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jw marriott grand rapids, marriott grand rapids, grand rapids marriott
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganKent CountyGrand Rapids
NUMBER OF ROOMS
337
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JW MARRIOTT GRAND RAPIDS - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (MI)

Frequently Asked Questions about JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Which popular attractions are close to JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Nearby attractions include Gerald R. Ford Museum (0.2 miles), Grand Rapids Public Museum (0.1 miles), and DeVos Place (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leo's Seafood Restaurant & Bar, San Chez a Tapas Bistro, and The Chop House - Grand Rapids.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is JW Marriott Grand Rapids located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Grand Rapids.
Are any cleaning services offered at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does JW Marriott Grand Rapids offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at JW Marriott Grand Rapids?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.