We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Erindi Game Reserve, Namibia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erindi Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Erindi Private Game Reserve \/ Old Traders Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent two nights here June 2016. The Old Traders Lodge is very nice - accommodation and food very good. Price wise it was right at the top of the many we stayed in but did feel it was worth it. The main lodge common area is stunning overlooking massive waterhole with resident and visiting wildlife regularly - we saw wild... More 

Helpful?
Thank theplainswanderer56
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello David and Margaret Taylor, Thank you for your great review of Old Traders Lodge. We are pleased you had such a great experience! We are thrilled to hear that you found our accommodation comfortable and our cuisine up to standard. It also sounds like you had incredible wildlife sightings from the viewing deck and on the game drives. It... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
551 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the largest private game park in Namibia. It is well-stocked with giraffe, antelope and other animals. Upon arrival, we took sunset game viewing tour, we saw a lion, two white rhinos, rare antelopes, numerous giraffes and elephants. You will not go lacking for wildlife sightings at this park. A shout-out to our guide, Warren, who knew all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RodMcLeod
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Rod McLeod, Thank you for your stunning review of Erindi. This is what it is all about! Being outdoors near incredible wildlife, and just relaxing and enjoying the moment. We are pleased to hear you had such amazing sightings, and that you found your suite to be comfortable. With regards to our food and buffet meals, we will escalate... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving with high expectations and leaving disappointed ! As seasoned South African and Namibian overland travelers, Erindi was on our "bucket list " and so I decided to treat my family to this highly rated resort. The reception was warm and hospitable, and we were escorted to our rooms 50 (VIP), 49 and 48 after a scrumptious Sunday lunch. The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank VanCapes
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello VanCapes, Thank you for your feedback of Old Traders Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. Allow us to explain. Firstly, it is unacceptable that your room was in disarray on arrival. We maintain high standards throughout the lodge, so we will follow up on this incident. We are pleased that you had such... More 

Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited Old Trader's Lodge on one of our last nights in Namibia. It was a big disappointment after staying in so many other lovely lodges in the country. Our room was fine. It was large, well appointed and overlooked one of the properties watering holes but the place is HUGE so you eat breakfast, lunch and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mkrause3
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback of Old Traders Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. On behalf of Erindi, we extend our apologies for the temporary unavailability of our activities. We did have the following notice signs on our Activities page on the website: PLEASE NOTE: All our guides will be doing intense training... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Facing a drive back from Swakopmund to Windhoek we decided to try Erindi for a night and have to say we were not disappointed. "Unfortunately" for us they had a vacancy in the top of the pile Livingstone Suite so we had to put up with a private balcony with views over the main waterhole for a night. The room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you for your positive review of Old Traders Lodge. We welcome the feedback. And thank you for your spontaneous decision to visit Erindi. We were happy to accommodate you. We are pleased to hear that you had such incredible wildlife sightings and that you enjoyed your suite and private balcony. It is always comforting to hear that... More 

Bloemfontein
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Erindi is awesome and one of the best game reserves I have ever visited. The fact that self-drives are limited is very positive implying that visitors cannot really "push the boundaries" (happen so often in the Kruger National Park). The variety of animals is excellent; the rangers outstanding. We had Jeremiah - professional and so passionate about nature and animals.

Helpful?
Thank Helena V
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Helena, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the entire Erindi experience! We are thrilled that Jeremiah made your safari such a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Erindi TripAdvisor Team. More 

sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Old Traders Lodge for 3 days and loved every minute.even though we have been to game parks often we learnt something new every day from our wonderful guide Uli whose wealth of knowledge was amazing. We saw many nocturnal animals we had not seen before.Sitting and watching the waterhole from the comfort of an armchair was relaxing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nad08
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Old Traders Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us! We are pleased that you had such incredible game sightings, that our food was of a high standard, and that our guides and staff made your stay so memorable. We hope to welcome... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an amazing setting and first class accommodation in the superior suites. The views and proximity to the waterhole were fantastic. The only reason I did not give a five rating was a scarcity of the big cats and also poor management of a food intolerance. I have been told that the latter is now to be addressed.

Helpful?
Thank egp2014
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Old Traders Lodge. We always appreciate any feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodation to be of a high standard. Our guests' comfort has always been extremely important to us. With regards to the food intolerance, we apologize profoundly. We will adjust our catering practices accordingly. As for finding... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for a nice family holiday that features good food, great accomodation, friendly people, great nature surroundings and wild life then Erindi is the answer. We were a group of 7 people and had 3 units looking out on the waterhole. When saw a lot of animals that came to feed and drink water and the elephants... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anton D
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Anton, Thank you for your kind review of Erindi. We really appreciate the feedback, and the amazing rating. It sounds like your family had a truly memorable time while staying at Old Traders Lodge. We are always pleased when guests enjoy the full Erindi experience. We strive for excellence in all that we do; from food to staff to... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lodge itself is amazing. Bold, beautiful dining room, crackling fire, chefs in white coats and chef hats, hostesses and hosts in vests and button-down shirts, elephants and giraffe casually munching on grass outside, a crock sunbathing by the water... even a baby hippo paid a visit. Only, none of it is real!! I mean, it's real. They're not fake... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lori A
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Lori, Thank you for reviewing our Old Traders Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, the staff, the facilities and the views of the surroundings. We hear you about the animals being fed. Allow us to explain. Firstly, it is a drought year in Namibia. Food and resources are scarce. We are currently supplementing for the shortage of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

297 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (260)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erindi Game Reserve
25.9 mi away
Guestfarm Onduruquea
Guestfarm Onduruquea
#4 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ovita Wildlife
Ovita Wildlife
#3 of 8 in Okahandja
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#7 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 13 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 11 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After an exhilarating nature experience, enjoy the space and comfort of our luxury suites. Guests can spot various game species on their way to one of two watering holes within the Old Traders Camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge

Address: Erindi Game Reserve, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Erindi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Hotel Okahandja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing