We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Homestead

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 508: English reviews
Granger, Indiana
Reviewed September 23, 2016

I recently stayed in the Tall Timber section of this development. The condo was a two bedroom unit and was ok but nothing special. Be careful when booking a unit in this development as our condo did not have air conditioning. We were lucky as it just so happened to be a cool September weekend so we fared well. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JefferyJ
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear JefferyJ, Thank you for being our guest at Tall Timbers. These are privately-owned condo's which the majoriy do not have air conditioning. All of the hotels on property, Fiddler's Pond, Stony Brook Lodge, Little Belle and The Inn have airconditioning and wifi. Maybe you would be willing to try one of our hotels on a return visit. If I...

Brooksville, Fl
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We had stayed at the resort previously and had a great time. This time we stayed in Wilderness 11. The view was beautiful and it was quite. The beach was pleasant and uncrowded. The condo was old and worn down. Only three persons could fit around the table. The toilet upstairs leaked and we placed towels around the bottom but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JudyDBrooksville
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear JudyDBrooksville, Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback that you offered. Wilderness 11 is separated from the rest of The Homestead and offers privacy and close proximity to Lake Michigan. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Tomás Paddack tpaddack@thehomesteadresort.com

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed September 14, 2016

The Homestead property rates a five star, but service is poor. Mid summer I booked a long weekend at the Homestead and was excited to visit since my family never stayed there and we are always open to a new place. About two weeks before traveling I called reservations to extend our stay another two days and received voicemail. Waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank K
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Frank K, I am terribly sorry that you had such a hard time waiting for a response from our staff. During our peak season we do get very busy, but that is certainly not an excuse for following up with a guest. I am happy you were able to explore the Sleeping Bear Dunes, they are a beautiful and...

Vail, Colorado
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We stayed here for a wedding. The Homestead at the top of ski hill is a beautiful setting for a wedding with awesome views of Lake Michigan and South Manitou Island. The reception was in the Mountain's Flower Lodge. We had a sit-down dinner and all of us had an excellent meal. Service was excellent too. A great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minichix
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear minichix, I am so happy to hear that you had a good time at the wedding you attended at the Homestead. Little Belle suites are great not only for wedding parties but also for couples to reconnect. I am glad to hear that you also were able to visit the beach, there is so much to explore here. Please...

Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Came in for 1 night for a wedding and the grounds and amenities seemed great. The check in was quick and painless. Our room was nice and spacious. It was easy to walk to everything in the little village area by fiddlers pond. The breakfast was pretty amazing! Wish we could have stayed longer, we hope to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel I
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Daniel I, Thank you for being our guests at the wedding you attended at The Homestead. I am happy to hear that the check in process was quick and painless and that you liked your accommodations. There is so much to do and see that a second trip is necessary. Please let me know if I can help yo...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed September 7, 2016

We visited last year for the first time, and it was so amazing, we came back! I'm not kidding, it's just like heaven should be! There is not a resort around that is this picturesque. The only thing that was missing was the dining plan/special with stay that was provided last year, it was breakfast each morning and 1 dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darleen s
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear darleen s. Thank you for your loyalty and for being our guest. I am excited that you decided to come back after you first visit last year. The Resort, as you mentioned, is quite picturesque. I am sorry you missed our special, but if you would like to be added to our marketing list, we would be happy to...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Our accommodations were at The Fiddler's Pond, close to Lake Michigan,but there are other places that you can stay--rentals, the inn, condominiums. We had 2 queen beds, wifi, an outside small deck with 2 adirondack chairs facing the man-made creek that trickles around The Village. The Village includes Nonna's restaurant (great steak and sea-bass) but not a good, buttery Chardonnay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BJLarson
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear BJLarson, Thank you for being our guest for your niece's wedding and providing us with such positive comments about you trip. The accommodations at Fiddler's Pond are quite charming and Nonna's is one of the top restaurants in the area. These amenities provide a great sertting for a weddng. Please let me know what I can do to bring...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful resort with lots of amenities. Nice Italian restaurant on premises. Friendly staff. Great for family reunions. Relaxing!! The beach was clean and pool looks like fun. We stayed in the Fiddlers Pond which was a little cheaper and certainly more than adequate. The other rooms at the Inn are closer to the water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus Q
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Marcus Q, Thank you for being our guest and for exploring some of our amenities including Nonna's and The Beach Club. We are very happy that you felt like it was a good place for family reunions. Please let us know what we can do to help persuade you to return for another visit. Sincerely, Tomás Paddack tpaddack@thehomesteadresort.com

Charlotte, NC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We rented a two bedroom condo for 3 nights. Spent most of our time hiking dunes and kayaking, but the resort has nice pools and was convenient. Two drawbacks... the resort did not have the wifi for our unit, said it needed to be issued by owners and they did not leave password anywhere. Had to use guest wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tish M
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding our accommodations. The wireless internet is one of our bigest issues. For the four hotels on-property, which are grand quality units, all have wireless internet as does the dinning areas and common spaces. For the condo's that are indepentely owned, the issue of wireless internet...

Western Michigan
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

Now, for $1200 a night it better be awesome. And it was. The river in the back of the building is shallow and clear and great for kids playing or lazy tubing with a cold Michigan adult beverage. The pools are decent on property and the other facilities went unused by us at least. We hiked trails and sand dunes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewdclark
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear andrewdclark, Thank you for being our guest and for appreciating the beauty that surrounds us. The Sundance units are well positioned on the resort and offer comfort and serenity. The neighboring town of Glen Arbor is also quaint and charming. Together they offer a great package. Come back and visit with us soon! Sincerely, Tomás Paddack tpaddack@thehomesteadresort.com

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

246 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
24.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
2,904 reviews
20.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
12.8 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
21.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
8.5 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Price Range: $93 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Homestead staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Bottom floor rooms were nice but you could hear neighbors going up and down the steps.”
clark7895, 5 days ago | Read review
“Try to come during the off season”
P8191BPdavidw, 1 week ago | Read review
“Decide what's most important - views, access to the beach, quiet pool, when picking an area”
Julianne_S_B, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The location of each hotel, lodge, condo or house offers different benefits depending on your interests.”
H3316HGjenniferp, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
“Corner Suites 10 and 17 are fabulous, with breathtaking views.”
964ethanb, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question