We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ray\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Ray's Retreat has plenty of room for your truck and trailer, and another area for parking your sleds. The trail is right across the street, with a gas station about one mile away. We had a nice stay, the owner let us use the breakfast area in the evening to play cards, which was very nice so our group could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pmt1234
Flint, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

We had a great stay here at this hidden gem. Hot breakfast was excellent and it felt like family with everyone and owners socializing. Plus you'll enjoy the bonfire pit with patio. No other hotel has this.

Helpful?
Thank Shawnbutz1
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

You get exactly what you pay for. Read all the reviews below, from 5 star to 1 star and they all have merit. We rented the "80's" decor, downstairs room. It wasn't 80's decor as expalined, it was carpet from the 80's that hadn't been vacumed in 8 weeks. But we had a good idea what we were getting into,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob W
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry your expectations were not met when you stayed two nights with us. We are always very careful to explain to new customers that the downstairs rooms are 'retro' ... the older rooms. I can guarantee the room had been swept and is swept between each stay. The carpet is in need of replacement. We hope to... More 

Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel from the outside looks like a hotel to avoid but upon entering it has some surprises. First let me say this is a hotel that charges $50.00 for a room over the July 4th weekend. So if you are expecting immaculate then go somewhere else. In reality you actually get more then you pay for. I will start... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lar3313
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When I called we were told it was one of the old rooms. This we didn't mind, but told them that it had to be clean-was assured it was. When we arrived, we confirmed we were ok with old, but had to be clean and again was assured it was. The carpet was so dirty the entire room smelled, there... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank YellowTriker
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We were shocked with this review. We do not do our own housekeeping. If our guests do not let us know the condition of their room we are unable to make any changes. Although after this review we are making a point of checking the rooms after they have been cleaned. Anytime someone has a problem with cleanliness we want... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Mackinac Island, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was old, but clean and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast that comes with the price of the room. We stayed 2 nights in one of the upstairs rooms. Its not bad for the price and I am fairly picky.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mscherie1
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location. the room was so dirty you had to sleep with 1 eye open..the shower was crumbling down and full of mold. there was feces splattered on the walls around the toilet and the bathroom sink did not drain. of course the refrigerator is not plugged in and it is full of mold and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank TheDeluxes
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

It is a fact of life that we cannot please everyone. It saddens us that someone this unhappy would not have said anything to us. We would have been offered to remedy her complaints. I don't understand why anyone would stay THREE nights in such conditions, and turn in the key without saying one word to either my husband or... More 

Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upon first glance, Rays Retreat appears to be like any other roadside inn. But once you look at everything, its a homey, pleasant place with extremely friendly owners that will do anything and everything to make sure your stay with them is comfortable. Every morning they serve a hot breakfast (homemade) between 7:30-9:30 included with every room which gives it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jrp0629
Cass City
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed one night to attend family reunion in Gaylord. Liked being on the back side, away from road noise. Back side has a friendly gathering area around a campfire plit with adequate seating. Bird feeders. Really good place to have a group gathering. Quiet.

Helpful?
Thank George H
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very friendly staff, you'll be in good company for breakfast. No maid service, a little on the rough side of things. The newer addition is more modern and accomodating. The owner is currently updating the original building. Dog friendly, group campfires in summer.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
Management response:

We apreciate each and every person who comes to stay with us. We have been working to update the downstairs rooms. We always advise customers who choose to stay in a downstairs rooms that these are the 'retro' rooms. Due to being older rooms they are smaller and 'dated'. We always strive for clean rooms. We would ask any customer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
9.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 10 in Grayling
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Address: 9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Country Inn Gaylord
Gaylord Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing