We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gaylord KOA

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gaylord KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Imlay City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice campground. We'll kept up. They bring you right to your site. Friendly activities for kids. They have ice cream social, hayrides. Nice pool. Clean bath house and laundry room. They hade a fenced in place for dogs.

Helpful?
Thank janetgsavage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We attend a family reunion in the area every year and this is the second year we have stayed here durring out trip. They are very frendly (ice cream socials, activities) the cabin we stayed at was clean, great kitchen, my son loved playing out front the cabin and swimming. He is already asking to go back. I have highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward Y
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They are seriously over priced. We had 4 of us, which is included in the $47 a night lot, however, because our teens stay in a small tent, we had to pay $10 per night for the tent, and our 2nd vehicle cost us an additional $5 per night, and we had to park a long ways from the camping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misty M
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Gaylord area. Prior to your arrival, you did receive a confirmation email that contained all the information regarding your rates. Our campsites, while spacious, unfortunately cannot accommodate a second vehicle and a boat at the same time. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the worst examples and experiences with customer service I've ever seen...the attitude and demeanor of the staff was horrible, they seemed irritated and annoyed our entire stay. We pulled in to unload at the camp site and were immediately barked at by the gentleman showing us our site... I hope I never have to experience this train wreck... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorry P
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Lorry, and for staying with us along with your group of friends who have already left multiple reviews. We understand it can be frustrating to feel like you had a bad experience somewhere, but rarely is it necessary to have every single person in the group leave their own separate... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean campgrounds, rude staff. Definately need to take a workshop on customer relations. Juding by the other poor reviews, across facebook, trip advisor and yelp, this KOA's staff clearly has a problem. Staff was not clear regarding specific policies with part of our party then proceeded to yell and threaten to kick them out. Also refused to return a converter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Chris, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Gaylord area. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to locate the item you left behind, we did go out and look for it as soon as you called and let us know. While we do... More 

Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We stayed one night on our way home from the UP. Price for our one night full hookup was $72.00 for a pull thru, dirt sight. We paid $32.00 on the lake near the bridge the night before. I feel ripped off!! Never Again! Bruce Hammond Muskegon Michigan

Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Gaylord area. The price of your campsite, after your VKR discount was $42.13 for the night. You opted to purchase our VKR card during your stay, which is what increased the cost of that night. It is an... More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We travelled looking for the right balance of amenities , cleanliness, location and nature and found it at Gaylord KOA .It has modern , clean facilities nestled in an idyllic forest. Close to Mackinaw Island, Traverse City, Charlevoix , the UP and Sleeping Bear dunes among other Northern Michigan destinations.. Nearby Gaylord has our favorite restaurants including the Gobblers. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank JovialJim
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your awesome review, Jim! We're honored that you chose us, and enjoy all of our amenities, facilities, and nearby attractions and events. We are glad to have you, and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

WNY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

My friend and I go camping to different KOA's each year (No wives allowed!) so we get around. We really liked this campground and found it to be clean, well cared for and quiet. The TV actually had clear reception and they were nice enough to include a built in electric heater for the cabin as outside it got pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank JakeWny
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, Jake! We're so glad to hear you and your friend had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your cabin, the grounds, and the cable. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Very nice time..great fun! Next year will be our third annual trip. Easy place to get away..recommend mussels at Bennethums ..just down the street:). Owners are very nice & take good care of the KOA..super easy to work with:)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda I
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

We're so happy you had a wonderful getaway with your girlfriends here, Brenda! It was our pleasure to have you. Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again this year! More 

Flint
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

This KOA was a perfect place for us to set up a base camp for our disc golfing in the surrounding area. The lot was large & with new electrical outlets. The staff was very friendly & helpful. They delivered wood right to your campsite which was very convenient. The bathhouses were clean but needed a bit more ventilation due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Gaylord KOA, responded to this review

We're happy you had a wonderful stay with us, Deborah! We're so glad you enjoyed the surrounding area with your disc golfing, too! We do apologize for the slow wifi - it does sometimes get bogged down. Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to have you back someday! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gaylord KOA is located in beautiful Northern Michigan and provides easy access to both the east and west coast as well as the Upper Peninsula and Canada. We have a large swimming pool open during the summer, miniature golf, biking, hiking and natural surroundings that are second to none. Spend the night in one of our cozy cabins or enjoy the campground from the comfort of your own RV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gaylord KOA

Address: 5101 Campfires Parkway, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Price Range: $27 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 118
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing