We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Treetops Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Treetops Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 452: English reviews
Boyne City, Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is the first time I played here and it definitely holds up to its reputation as a challenging course. I came with a group of customers and all of them walked away pleased and looking forward to doing this again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Norton Shores, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I attended this resort for a three day convention. While the views are stunning, the room satisfactory, the fact that many of the rooms are so far from the main lodge was undesirable. The weather was very cool so the option of walking was not a good one. The food and service was pretty good. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank captfrog
TreetopsResort, Administrative Assistant at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about the unfortunate bedding issue you had. I will be sure to pass this information along to housekeeping, as well as our director of rooms to see that this doesn't happen again. I also apologize that nothing else was offered to you in light of the situation. Please, feel free to reach out to me...

White Lake, Michigan
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We visit Tree Tops each summer for a girls golf trip. The golf courses are amazing and the staff is so friendly and accommodating. We have the best time each summer and count down until our next trip. We just returned from a stay this weekend to celebrate a big birthday. The colors were just starting to change and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri_W17
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much appreciated. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect and deserve. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I've stayed her a few times in the fall for business. Always in the lodge which has huge rooms with kitchenettes and living area. These are great rooms with nice views. There are lots of little shops close by and plenty of restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clt7232015
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Treetops Resort will do everything in our power to appear fresh and modern at all times. We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of personalized service. All the best and hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at their older building which I think they called the inn not their main hotel. Room was very old but clean. Think the price is steep for what we got, especially for off season. Golf course looked nice but didn't play so don't really know condition.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and the time you took to share them with us. For your next stay, you might consider to book a room in the Lodge, where the rooms are even more comfortable and relaxing. The golf course selection that we have here at Treetops is absolutely breathtaking! We can offer courses from beginers to advanced golfers....

Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

We have been coming up here for well over thirty years and absolutely nothing has changed. The wall paper is the same nothing has been upgraded or even cleaned or painted. The carpets are sticky and the pool is beyond needing a new finish on the bottom. It is perfect for the guy golf /get drunk weekend; but anyone who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle M
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the resort that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many upgrades to the property...

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

It appears this place really suffered when the economy crashed. We had a room with a jacuzzi. However we weren't told that "The jets aren't working due to a planned renovation." It was disappointing to say the least. The refrigerator wasn't very cold and the knobs were broken. We were in room 510. It was in the basement with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa S
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. On behalf of Treetops Resort, we are sorry you did not enjoy your lodging room. Unfortunately, we were unaware that your refrigerator was not working so we thank you for pointing this out to us and apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you during your stay. I recommend the next time you book...

Byron Center, Michigan
Reviewed October 10, 2016

This past weekend we stayed in the "Inn". We found the room and building generally run down. The room was clean. The "secure" door providing entrance from the outside did not close - so the card access was of no use. The value for dollar spent was on the low side. The restaurant on the grounds offered average meals at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlutke
Warren, Michigan
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went for a weekend for our anniversary. The reservation was easy to make over the phone. Our room and golf tee times were all done at the same time. I had read reviews about staying at the "lodge" versus the "inn" and decided that we should stay at the Lodge. Fantastic accommodations. We got the King...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty09_19
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Happy anniversary to you and your husband!! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us. Hopefully, we can celebrate your anniversary with you next year. We hope you travel to see us again soon, and be sure to let us know when you're coming so we...

Reviewed September 28, 2016

Standard room was outdated and worn. No amenities on the course or hotel for the price you pay to stay. They misled us into thinking breakfast was complimentary by saying breakfast is served from 7-11a.m. in a building across the huge parking lot. The only choice was a buffet and we didn't realize we had to pay until the young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madwriter59
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

235 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
413 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
229 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Treetops Resort staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Treetops Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We absolutely loved the Presidential Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Sherri_W17, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Review other hotels in the area first.”
 of 5 bubbles dlutke, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Go there for the golf NOT the accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles t5825db, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the suites building.”
 of 5 bubbles BHartMich, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were very clean but dated. They definitely need a remodel of the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles andybF9060QG, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay