We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant

Save
Share
231 Main St, Frankfort, MI 49635-9048
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$100
View Deal
Agoda.com
$100
View Deal
Snaptravel
$100
$89
View Deal
SAVE $11
Priceline$100
Hotels.com$100
Expedia.com$100
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (83)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (7)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Frankfort
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Centered in Frankfort's historic Main Street, just two blocks from one of the most picturesque beaches of Lake Michigan, sits the historic Hotel Frankfort. Our 87 year old boutique hotel boasts 17 guest rooms, all with private baths, individually controlled heating and air-conditioning units and each decorated with a unique theme. Our larger suites feature whirlpool tubs or sauna, two-story rooms, and even a fireplace - perfect for your spectacular Northern Michigan getaway! Feel like dining in? We have a full scale restaurant, dining room and bar along with corporate conference facilities, with gourmet catered meals available for gatherings of up to 200. Come let us serve you in style and experience all Northern Michigan has to offer. From biking, to fishing our famous Salmon runs, snow skiing, sailing, or experiencing a great meal at one of our many unique restaurants, or even just watching a gorgeous sunset - Frankfort is the perfect place to explore! Whatever your pleasure, you'll be charmed by The Hotel Frankfort's blend of old world graciousness, modern-day amenities and peerless personalized service.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Mini golf
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bowling offsite
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
219Reviews3Q+A47Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 63
  • 26
  • 22
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary B wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
We had a lovely one night stay in a 2 queen bed room on a Saturday night in July. What a charming historic hotel with comfortable beds! Our Ansel Adams room made the most of its limited space and we lacked for nothing. The location is perfect, such close proximity to the beach and shops. The socially distanced dining in the hotel restaurant was convenient and delicious, we highly recommend the BLTs. We had no trouble parking on a Saturday night, as we moved our car a few times and were still very close to the hotel. Tami went above and beyond to help us with a few special needs, and made our stay carefree and enjoyable. Delightful all around!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tami Smith, General Manager at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the many compliments. Our mantra is "Come As a Guest and Leave As a Friend." We are so happy that is the case here!
Read more
JGHKLH wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions
We stayed in their Barn Star “luxury” suite. Not impressed. The bathroom was certainly not luxury. The toilet was difficult to flush, the mirror was damaged, the wall was not repaired or painted from something that had been removed, the bathroom door was noisy, and the shower was cheap. The jetted tub was small and the tv too small and was blurry and offered limited channel selection. The chain lock was broken and there was also an outdoor seating area right outside the window. They would not lower our extremely high rate and let us cancel our second night with a 90% refund for that second night. That being said, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would have been fine staying in the room for a much lower rate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tami Smith, General Manager at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello John, We do appreciate the compliments on the staff. As an older historic hotel, we are constantly making improvements on the rooms. We do have plans to upgrade the bathroom, unfortunately with everything that is going on the world, our improvements were put on hold. We are in peak season, which means that our prices are the highest of the year. We would be more than happy to offer a different room at a lower price in the off season should you be willing to give us a try.
Read more
Bill WR wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
What we liked: Location, Food Service, Friendliness of Staff. What we didn't like: Not enough off street parking, inadequate lighting in bathroom. No vanities in bathroom to place items other than on the sink or toilet tank. No window shades or opaque curtains to darken room at night as there are streetlights all around building. No microwave in room or self service ice machine in hallways. No elevator for second floor rooms. Room was supposed to come with breakfast, but it was only packaged danish and fruit bowls, juice coffee and tea. Pipes in wall had constant loud fluid hammer noise. No closet to hang up coats or clothes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tami S, Manager at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant
Responded Jul 3, 2020
Thank you for the compliments! I'm so sorry your stay otherwise was not to your standards. Our old hotel (circa 1932) more resembles the rooms of a bed and breakfast., although we do not advertise breakfast and apologize if there was some confusion. We do offer coffee/tea/juice and a morning snack so you don't feel rushed out to one of the 4 breakfast restaurants within walking distance on Main St. Regarding your room, you chose one of our standard rooms. We have three other categories that provide larger rooms and larger bathrooms (all of which can be seen and described on our website). We apologize for the lack of window coverings. We were doing some paint touch ups and did not get them back up before your stay. That project is complete now. Again, thank you for your feedback and the opportunity for us to explain. Sincerely yours,
Read more
Hoosierhoney40 wrote a review Jun 2020
Hesperia36 contributions13 helpful votes
We recently enjoyed our first visit to this hotel, even during the pandemic. Our room was easily accessible without stairs. Both a walk-in shower and a hot tub. We ate one meal, Friday evening. If you go and it is available, be SURE and have the crab cake sandwich., although everything was good. Social distanced eating inside but outside dining was available, along with pick-up.. While we did not utilize the bar, it appears to be well stocked. A real taste of gracious hosting by the owner and staff. We hope to be able to return. For those that like beach activities, it is within walking distance. Because of the social distancing, some items had been removed from the rooms but we really did not miss them. If you wanted something, you asked.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Mark D wrote a review Jun 2020
Allegan, Michigan19 contributions
The good news...great, hand-pressed burger. Cooked just right. The bad news, the outdoor eating area has a gravel floor and feels dirty. Our server did not wear a mask nor did some of the inside staff. As two people in our 60s this is a big deal and inexcusable in this Covid environment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Tami S, Manager at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant
Responded Jun 24, 2020
We are really happy you enjoyed your burger. We think they are great too! Thanks for visiting! ~John, Food & Beverage Director
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
betsie bay hotel frankfort, betsie bay frankfort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sleeping Bear Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganBenzie CountyFrankfort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include The Frankfort Light (0.3 miles), Ellie Harold Art Studio & Gallery (0.1 miles), and Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crescent Bakery, Stormcloud Brewing Company, and Dinghy's Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Frankfort.
Does Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Does Hotel Frankfort & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.