We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6386 N. 11th St. Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$69
Hotels.com$69
Tripadvisor$69
Travelocity
Priceline$69
Agoda.com$69
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (85)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 10 in Escanaba
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.7
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 18 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free High Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
979Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 568
  • 300
  • 71
  • 27
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MLeBrun wrote a review Jun 25
Appleton, Wisconsin34 contributions8 helpful votes
Modest from the outside but surprisingly nice! Rooms were updated, great showers, nice laminate flooring. Beds comfy enough. Air conditioning decent, keeps the sound of the highway unnoticeable. You don't really get to see sunsets here, but you do get a 10% off coupon for the diner next door, which is pretty good. The price beat all the chains in the area, so excellent value!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: They "close" at 9 p.m. but the manager will arrange to keep the doors unlocked with the keys...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Shiverdecker, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your lovely review and hope to see you again!
Read more
Davie wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Staying in a drive up motel is so much easier than a big hotel when you have mobility issues, and we brought the dog so also much easier. The owners have done well with this little gem & we will definitely stay here again. I used to manage a high end resort so I am a little picky & the real life Sunset Lodge met what I was able to view online. I expected road noise but it was very quiet & towels/pillows were soft. I highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Shiverdecker, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded 1 week ago
We're so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to do everything we can to make our guest's visits the best they can be. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Be sure to stop by the office in the morning for coffee and to say hello!!
Read more
Jon H wrote a review May 2022
Fort Myers, Florida541 contributions114 helpful votes
This is an older 'roadside' motel that has been maintained very nicely. Our room was typical of the era, small but very clean and with an updated bath. A mini fridge and microwave is also provided. There is some highway noise, but not overbearing. The value provided by this lodge is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Shiverdecker, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of our motel. We are continuing to update both inside and out. We are glad that you choose to stay with us and hope you'll return in the future.
Read more
Lonnie M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Sunset Lodge in Escanaba, MI is a wonderful Motel in a great location. Escanaba is a perfect push off point for adventure and within driving distance of whatever fills your heart with joy in the UP. The rooms are spacious, clean, and wonderfully decorated. The staff is welcoming, friendly, and professional. Kiera is courteous and helpful and the best desk/consierge I've had the pleasure to meet. We will be staying here again and recommending this wonderful home away from home to all our friends and family. The hotel was very clean, beautifully renovated, wonderful decorations in the rooms, and the updated shower and bed were so relaxing and co
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Shiverdecker, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Mar 13, 2022
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The continued support is appreciated. Be sure to visit with us in the office on your next visit! Welcome to the U.P..
Read more
Jeffrey W B wrote a review Feb 2022
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico159 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
I have previously positively reviewed this lodging and while this is still a positive review and we will continue to stay here when passing thru town, it is meant as "eyes wide open" for guests and feedback for the owners. This is a bare bones old style budget motel. We stayed in room #3. The "lobby" is tiny, meant for nothing more than checking in. It is not handicap accessible. There is a 5 inch step up to a small concrete landing outside the door with no ramp or even a way to get by without going into the parking lot if you are on a knee roller as I was a few years back. It was snowing when we arrived. The mat inside the room for knocking snow/salt off our shoes was tiny, meaning we unavoidably ended up tracking snow and salt into the room, which then made walking barefoot or in socks unpleasant. The room was warm and it was not clear how to cool it down. Because we could not figure out how to turn on air ventilation, it was also noisier than we would have liked. The TV was pretty good, mounted near the ceiling and cable guide provided. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They even called the day before to confirm our reservation, probably because they were booked solid! The bed is a queen with 4 pillows. If you are a couple and want to sit propped up in bed, considering bringing your own extra pillow. Still the old style manual keys. While the rooms have been nicely updated and modernized, the owners will need to take a hard look at the concrete and asphalt in front this summer, including adding some ramps near the check-in lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Bring a noisemaker to drown out common ambient sounds. Walls are thin, and cars, people, and...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Shiverdecker, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Feb 21, 2022
Thank you for your review. We are an older style motel and glad that guests know that before arriving as modern handicap accessibility is not installed here. Our motel has recently been bought by new owners and is now under new management. We are updating and improving as we can to make everyone's stay more pleasant. We welcome any and all feedback. Your thoughts and suggestions are important to us. With that being said we would like to thank you for being a loyal customer.
Read more
ItchyFeetBTS wrote a review Dec 2021
Chicago, IL215 contributions162 helpful votes
This is a cute little roadside motor lodge from the 1950s that has been redone. It’s on a busy highway about a 10-minute drive from downtown. It was clean and fairly comfortable with a little table and 2 chairs, a mini-fridge and a microwave, which were nice to have. It is missing some details. A bigger TV would be nice, and the loose wires hanging down from the ceiling were disconcerting. The heater along the baseboards in the bathroom was rusted and icky. There was a rusted mount for a hook on the bathroom door, but no hook. There was no place to hang towels – a perennial complaint for us. The shower was beautiful – we want one just like it at home! But, the shower head wouldn’t adjust. The bathroom needs more shelf space; the pedestal sink was pretty, but meant there was no counter space for toiletries. The wall mounted shelves looked nice, but were so high that they were unusable for anyone under 6 feet tall. The rubber mattress pad was hot, noisy and icky. The exterior is peeling and uninviting and our door handle was loose and needed replacement. The website and our confirmation both said that a Grab & Go Breakfast was available, but it wasn’t. There was coffee, but no decaf. Overall the stay was fine for a couple of nights – not sure if we’d return or not.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Shiverdecker, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. Sunset Lodge has recently changed owners and management. We will be updating many aspects of the building/business. Our focus throughout this winter is maintenance on each individual room. Your feedback helps us to better understand what our guests would like to see happen. Future goals will include updating the exterior of the building and grounds. I apologize for the misunderstanding of a grab-n-go breakfast. Our decision to discontinue that was based upon the recent pandemic, updates were made to our website to reflect that. We hope that you give us another chance and visit again.
Read more
kgsolomon wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We were very disappointed with the quality of the room we reserved (Room 8) for September 29, 2021. The interior did not compare with the online description. Although there had been updates made to this motel's room interiors, following are the negatives which out-weighed the updates: 1) No fan in the bathroom, which therefore likely contributed to the black mold on the ceiling above the bathtub. 2) Upon opening the bathroom window to release steam in the bathroom from taking the shower, the amount of dirt/mold buildup on the inside of this window was disgusting. 3) Due to the room itself being very warm and stuffy, we proceeded to run the air conditioning unit, only to discover this also contained black mold within the inside of the front vent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay at this location.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunset Lodge Reservations, Other at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Dec 2, 2021
Thanks for your feedback. The Sunset Lodge recently transferred ownership and we have plans to focus on the rooms over the winter. Our plan is to go through each room annually and make all the necessary repairs, deep cleaning, and updates. We are making improvements to our cleaning policies. Once the rooms are completed we will focus on the exterior. Thanks for staying at the Sunset Lodge. Hope to see you again and check out our improvements over the next several years.
Read more
lindafrog wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
Great place. Our room was clean, spacious and well appointed. The walk in shower in the bathroom is wonderful after a long day travelling. The beds are new and comfy. There is a nice big yard in back for exercising the dog. Highly recommend this place and the Family restaurant next door. Thanks for everything.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunset Lodge Reservations, Other at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Dec 2, 2021
Thanks for your feedback. Hope to see you again the next time you are in the Escanaba area.
Read more
dld53 wrote a review Oct 2021
Hamilton, Montana80 contributions48 helpful votes
After reading positive reviews, I decided to give the Sunset Lodge a try. Outside appearance is old and unkept. The room was mostly remodeled but still looked old, with scuff marks on the wall. When I tried to leave and go eat, the door would not open. Thankfully the maintenance man arrived in a short time. After crawling through the window, he was able to open the door. The motel is right next to the highway and can be noisy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The internet was very slow and unreliable. The best part of my stay was a comfortable bed. Even with a very affordable price, I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunset Lodge Reservations, Other at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Dec 2, 2021
Thanks for your feedback. The Sunset Lodge recently transferred ownership and we have plans to focus on the rooms over the winter. Scuff marks are wear and tear that come with the territory. They will all get fixed annually during the winter. New vinyl windows, a paint job, and the posts out front were repaired over the last several years. Once the rooms are completed we will focus on the rest of the exterior. Our internet has been fixed to better service our guests. Thanks for staying at the Sunset Lodge. Hope to see you again and check out our improvements over the next several years.
Read more
DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi wrote a review Sep 2021
Nekoosa, Wi171 contributions90 helpful votes
Driving by one would probably never consider stopping at this motel judging it by it's outward appearance. Booked it based on the reviews and wasn't disappointed. The room was very clean and met our needs for 1 night's lodging. The bathroom was small but also very clean. There are no amenities such as fitness room, pool or breakfast but for one night's lodging and the price you can't beat it. Would definitely stay again if ever in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunset Lodge Reservations, Other at Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Responded Dec 2, 2021
Thanks for your feedback. Hope to see you again the next time you are in the Escanaba area.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sunset Motel
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaEscanaba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Lodge Escanaba?
Nearby attractions include Ludington Park (2.5 miles), Sand Point Lighthouse (3.1 miles), and Delta County Historical Museum (3.1 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Lodge Escanaba?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sunset Lodge Escanaba?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Lodge Escanaba?
Conveniently located restaurants include Freshwater Tavern, The Stonehouse & Carport Lounge, and Swedish Pantry.
Are pets allowed at Sunset Lodge Escanaba?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunset Lodge Escanaba?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Peninsula Point Lighthouse (8.8 miles).