We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duneswood Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (20)
Family and Play Areas (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 resort in Empire
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Silver level
Located in the heart of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, is on the Sleeping Bear Heritage Bike/Ski Trail. Bike rentals on site. We are within walking/riding distance of the Dune Climb, Lake Michigan, Glen Haven, Glen Arbor and Empire. Free WiFi, private bathrooms, cable TV, campfires, nature trail and cooking options. All units have private bathrooms and are air conditioned. The North Wing is perfect for group events. It has 5 guest rooms plus a Community Room with full kitchen/living/dining space for guests of the North Wing to share. If you prefer a more private experience the South Wing is for you. Each room has its own refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. There is a one bedroom cabin and two bedroom cabin in the center of the resort and they have it all! Step out your back door and enjoy BBQ, picnic tables, yard games, campfire, an historic barn and nature trail to the dunes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
291Reviews2Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 83
  • 21
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jhartman1 wrote a review Jun 2023
Avondale, Pennsylvania10 contributions10 helpful votes
What a joke!!! Resort? A resort with no ice in summer....room was DARK outdated with a TINY area to prepare snacks etc. Outside the front door was filthy and you are right on the highway for the 6AM motorcycle noise...we left early...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gerald E wrote a review Jun 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
A friend could not stay here so he offered up a free two-night stay to me. I walked in the room and walked out. I think some of the previous reviews summed up my 45 second "stay" here. Sorry, just not my type of place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jackie V wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Room was musty smelling and dirty (look at the ceiling fan and tell me it’s clean). Bed is like a rock, bring your own pillows, quilt smells. The window rattles when people on either side of the room come and go, sounds travel right through the walls. Can’t beat the location on the Heritage Trail. TV is tiny and doesn’t work. This is not a resort it’s a motel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Jun 7, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. I wish you had said something while here. What you describe is not to our standards and I would have liked an opportunity to correct things. Some of the smaller rooms do have small TV's. We are working on upgrading them this season.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda7132907 wrote a review Sep 2022
Anchorage, Alaska195 contributions92 helpful votes
First appearances of the outside of the motel aren’t real positive but my room was very nice and spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was a lovely quilt on the bed instead of one of those heavy comforters. The bathroom was tiny but fine for one person at a time. There was a microwave and a coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The one thing my room lacked and I wish it had was a lamp on the bedside table. The walls are very thin but fortunately I had quiet neighbors and there are rules posted in the room about any noise after 10 PM and absolutely no smoking. I enjoyed my 2-night stay there. Very convenient to everything. There was no ice machine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the end and then you’ll only have neighbors on one side since the walls are thin.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
Yes, more lamps. That was my winter project last winter, but by the end of the season a few have been broken. I will get those replaced this winter. There should be a reading light by every bed and easy chair.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
B_comingfrom_C wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois21 contributions3 helpful votes
i got here and said oh no what have we booked and i left here thinking i would stay here again for sure. First the location is amazing that's what brings you here. The place itself is modest at best but it was clean, the shower was surprisingly good and the proprietor Debbie could not have been nicer to deal with. At the end of the day it was quiet and we could sleep well to get onto the next day's adventure. Only thing i would tell management honestly is you should raise your rates, your place is worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
Thanks for the feedback. Yes I have heard a lot of guest suggest that I raise my rates. I hate to do that, but might. I will do a market survey this winter and see what rates are locally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deric E wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We booked a two day stay at this place. I would recommend anywhere else. The room was tiny, which is fine, but the moldy musty smell triggered my kid’s asthma. The fridge was not functioning, flys came out of the drains when we ran water, the a/c filter was filthy, and my wife and I were getting bitten by bugs in our bed. The bathroom didn’t have an exhaust fan, which I’m sure has developed mold and mildew throughout the wall paneling and ceiling. The TV was the size of an iPad (not that we were there for that), and the “hardwood floors” are just cheap panel floors that are well past their lifespan. We left after the first night and contacted the owner/staff about getting a refund for the second day, but they blew us off. Apparently we weren’t the first people to have this experience, but those reviews were buried under some inflated reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
When I talked to you at 10:30pm you only mentioned that the refrigerator was too cold and agreed that it was ok for the night, and I could replace it in the morning. I wish you had called me about the bugs you saw. I would have been glad to come investigate. We have a professional pest control service and if I find any bugs in a room they will spot treat for free, but I need to know what kind of bug it is. When I arrived in the morning with the new refrigerator you had already left. I did not find any evidence of bugs and found the refrigerator on high, so turned it down for the next guest. Thank you for your feedback, next time please call me even if late at night.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chezpoppy wrote a review Jul 2022
Ontario, Canada46 contributions32 helpful votes
I trust Tripadvisor... but why there is a Tripadvisor flag flying at this dump is a mystery. The rooms are so heavily scented with Wizard Scents that you can stand outside 30 feet away and the stink wafts right out to where you are standing. The worst motel I have ever encountered. They are basic rooms from the year 1956. Nothing has been done to them since then other than saturate the rooms with a putrid room freshener. Think many multiple layers one on top of the other. It stinks in these rooms. Of course, the owner keeps all the deposits despite people leaving due to the condition of the rooms. I'm out $300. Read the reviews for 3,4,5 stars - same story as mine. Must have friends giving this dump a 5 star review. I advise you to seek a room elsewhere, this hovel is unfit for habitation. I fully expect the owner will deny knowledge but we both know. I was so deceived by the Tripadvisor Flag, I suggest Tripadvisor pay a visit to this disgusting motel flying the Tripadvisor flag.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
I am sorry you had a bad experience. We use hospital grade disinfectants in our rooms and have a professional cleaning service this year. I wish you had talked to me while you were here so that I could have figured out what you were smelling. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Becky wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Duneswood Resort is the best place to stay when visiting the Sleeping Bear Dunes area. It offers a comfortable, affordable, warm-hearted place to rest and restore while exploring the lakeshore. I’ve stayed here in summer and winter and it was awesome for both. The owner is very nice and accommodating. The room was very clean and included basic amenities. The space feels safe and welcoming for all. They even offer some pet-friendly rooms. We will definitely come back here when visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
I am glad you visit off season. It is beautiful here and so few know about it, other than the prime summer months.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heather C wrote a review Aug 2021
Milwaukee, Wisconsin17 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband, 2 kids (ages 5 & 9), and I stayed in room #4 in the north wing. There’s a front and back door plus a wall of windows looking out the front, so the rooms have a really open/nature feel to them. The back door looks right out onto the dunes. When you enter the room it smelled of cedar, like a cabin, soooo nice!! Very clean. Our kids thought the pull out bed was comfortable and our bed was comfy too. Bathroom was clean and the shower hot. There is AC in the room but we didn’t even need it, as it was evening when we returned to the room and the air flow from back door to front door was lovely. The north wing also has the community room, so we were able to pop over there and cook dinner after a long day of sight-seeing the dunes and swimming. The location is perfect, right by everything you want to see in the area. We’d definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Duhoski, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2022
Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Worst experience I've ever had. Room smelled of wet dog and was messy. Looked at mattress under sheet and looked like bed bugs were present. We asked for a refund and they would not give us one. They were rude and I filed a dispute with credit card company.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Rettke, Owner at Duneswood Resort
Responded Jul 16, 2021
I have no idea who this is. I have had no such complaints from guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Empire area.
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganLeelanau CountyEmpire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DUNESWOOD RESORT - Prices & Reviews (Empire, MI)

Frequently Asked Questions about Duneswood Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Duneswood Resort?
Nearby attractions include Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (4.4 miles), Sleeping Bear Heritage Trail (2.6 miles), and Cherry Republic of Glen Arbor (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Duneswood Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Duneswood Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Duneswood Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Duneswood Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Duneswood Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cherry Public House, Shipwreck Cafe, and Joe's Friendly Tavern.
Are pets allowed at Duneswood Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Duneswood Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.