We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Lambertville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great surprise. I arrived at the Candlewood and quickly headed to the MSU University Club for dinner.. The following morning I attended a seminar at the MSU Henry Center. The hotel was perfect. There was a separate bedroom. The living area has a working kitchen , sofa and large TV. There was aTV in the bedroom. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun462013
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

It sounds like you were able to experience all aspects of our complex! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious suite during your stay. We would love to have you back again, whether it is for a conference or to come and relax!

Grand Haven, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here several times over the years while visiting the MSU campus and attending meetings and am always glad I choose Candlewood. The rooms have been updated recently (new carpet!) and I always have a nice quiet night. Having a kitchenette is a great perk of this nice place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronin1980
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoy staying with us during your time in Lansing. We are excited for you to visit us again soon :)

Washington, DC
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

I had a surprisingly pleasant three night stay. The desk staff in particular one college student who checked me in was exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The room was perfect. Large, well laid out. The kitchenette area useful and equipped. The bedding was comfortable. And the bathroom was clean with sufficient space around the sink for toiletries, etc. I give this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FunInMD
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I enjoyed reading that you had a great stay. I am excited to share your comments with our staff! We would love to see you again, the next time you travel to Lansing.

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night while in town for a wedding. The hotel is on the campus of Michigan State a University and is located in close proximity to the University Club. Check in and check out were both done efficiently. Breakfast was available at the University club but we opted for an off-campus restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeogProfOH
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and room while visiting us. Please come back again soon!

SW Michigan
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Stayed with my sister after a wedding at the nearby MSU facility. Room small but nicely appointed. I was a little dismayed at the lack of upkeep in the facility. Hallways not vacuumed, mars on walls from carts or suitcases. very poor cement in the entry area, and, worst of all, inadequate trash can near back entry door so it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sewnut
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for review. After reading your comments I wanted to apologize for the lack of upkeep during your stay. Please know that we have used this as a training opportunity for our staff. We would love for you to visit us again to see how beautiful our property is and experience a very warm welcome.

Taylor
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Large room with large kitchen area. The bathroom was very nice also. My only problem was the queen bed was against the wall which made it very hard for one of us to get of the bed! It's right next to MSU's golf course and the pool and restaurant are connected with MSU. The restaurant was closed during the time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo B
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am so happy you enjoyed the size of the room as well as the amenities. We would love to have you back again soon to enjoy a nice stay and hope that you are able to visit the University Club restaurant as well!

Chicago, IL
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Good extended-stay property very close to the MSU Pavilion. Room was clean with everything I would have needed in the kitchen if I was staying longer. Front desk staff was friendly and let us bring our bicycles up to our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nobo
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I love hearing great comments about our staff and I am excited to share your review with them. We would love to have you back next time you have an event at the Pavilion or in the surrounding area. See you soon!

Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

If you are looking to save money and be on campus and not be close to anything, then you will like it. Average room with uncomfortable pillows. My TV remote did not work but they delivered a new one with instructions which was a little insulting. Very inexpensive. There is a restaurant at the adjoining club but not that easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Djrrossi
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you were able to book an affordable rate! I apologize for the service concerns that you have addressed and have used your comments to coach our staff members. We would love to have you back to enjoy our quiet setting.

West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My wife and I stayed here after moving our daughter into Michigan State University. It's on the outskirts of the campus, near the agriculture area, which we found kind of nice...felt more quiet and rural, which is just what we needed after the hectic college check-in. Our suite was quite spacious with its own kitchen area and "living room." Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patedugan
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Congratulations on having a Spartan in the family! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our quiet setting after a hectic day on campus. We would love to have you back for a visit soon. Go Green!

Arlington, South Dakota
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a meeting that was held in the attached center. It is a clean hotel and my room was large with a bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom all separate. The staff was very helpful. The only issue I had with this hotel was with location. This hotel is far from anything. There is a bar and restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D B
Kelly K, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious and clean room. We would love to have you back again for future conferences or just a visit to the Lansing area.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 10 in East Lansing
395 reviews
2.4 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#3 of 10 in East Lansing
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
#6 of 10 in East Lansing
95 reviews
2.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#17 of 26 in Lansing
284 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome! The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing-a Quality Excellence Award winner for 2 consecutive years-is located on the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility and the prestigious University Club of MSU. The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center for performing Arts and Forest Akers Golf Course. With our excellent location with our friendly and relaxing atmosphere, the Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is the best choice for the business traveler. The hotel, which is now a 100% smoke free environment offers high-speed Internet access, our signature Candlewood Cupboard (convenience store), complimentary laundry facility, a quaint fitness center or access to the University Club Full Service Fitness Facility. Pets are welcome (additional fee applies). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Address: 3545 Forest Rd, East Lansing, MI 48910-3734
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Price Range: $85 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing m.s.u Hotel East Lansing
Candlewood East Lansing
East Lansing Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“As for a 100-level room for easy parking and quieter rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Ronin1980, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for main/level 2 Rabbit warren of hallways to get into University Center”
 of 5 bubbles Sewnut, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the golf course. Also the queen bedroom suites are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles cjb38, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the parking lot, very noisy first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles ackz, Apr 1, 2016 | Read review
“For an extra fee, you can use the Health and Fitness Center on the Michigan State University campus!”
 of 5 bubbles hollyp884, Feb 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay