We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1000 Brush St Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Agoda.com
$160
View deal
Hotels.com$199
Travelocity$199
Traveluro$207
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (252)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (5)

About

#15 of 39 hotels in Detroit
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.9

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Detroit, The Atheneum is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The Atheneum makes it easy to enjoy the best of Detroit.

Rooms at The Atheneum Hotel provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at The Atheneum guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. You can also enjoy a fitness center and a lounge. Need a place to park? Parking is available at Atheneum Suite Hotel.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Detroit, Atheneum Suite Hotel is located a short distance from Ford Field (0.4 mi) and Little Caesars Arena (0.8 mi).

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Green Dot Stables, Kid Rock's Made in Detroit, and Sweetwater Tavern, which are some pubs that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Detroit Downtown (0.3 mi), Detroit RiverFront (0.3 mi), and Greektown (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Atheneum Suite Hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, The Atheneum is sure to make your visit to Detroit one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
685Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 247
  • 226
  • 114
  • 49
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kkh wrote a review Aug 6
1 contribution
This hotel was recommended to us by friends so my expectations were a bit high. Room decor was fine. Staff was pleasant. Bed was comfortable. But the downtown noise was a factor. Enough to disturb sleep even with our iPhone white noise. Noise was also an issue with our neighbors due to thin walls. We could hear everything and they went until about 4am. I get that it was the weekend, with weddings, etc. But I’ve been in nice hotels and it hasn’t been this much of a problem. Frustrating, considering the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
drgastro7 wrote a review Jul 2022
Tulsa, Oklahoma30 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed in a two room suite. the bedroom had A/C but The suite room did not and was too hot to use. common area outside the room was like a sauna, very hot. There was no maid service to the room, still using covid as a reason (July 2022) for not providing change of sheets or any room cleaning. Rooms only cleaned or entered between customers so if your staying more than a day or two you are stuck with lots of trash in your room and no cleaning service. They will bring clean towels to your door on request.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michal T wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions
Our grandchildren adored this hotel and said thank you thank you for bringing us here! Staff were delightful - thank you especially Jerome, LaShonda and Mark! Rooms were beautiful and staff very accommodating for early check in and assuring that our two teenage grandchildren were in a room close by! The hotel is close walking distance to many facilities. A very elegant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Starsky El Assadi, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear 448michalt, Many sincere thanks for your kind review and recommendation. I am very happy to hear that our services made such a positive impression and that you had a memorable experience. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are very pleased that your expectations were highly met. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards,
Read more
caroline m wrote a review May 2022
southport47 contributions18 helpful votes
I booked a room here for 4 adults , confirmation received showing full booking and continental breakfast included. On arrival at hotel was advised no breakfast included. I complained and receptionist agreed to contact manager however then said , 'we don't do continental breakfast anymore' so you won't get one. I still voiced my complaint so she agreed to take up with her manager . Later I was told , we don't do breakfast just room service and you can have a credit for 15 dollars. How can anyone get breakfast for 4 for 15dollars !!! The items on room service would mean approx 25dollar each cost I believe more should have been offered as way of an apology but it was an attitude of tough , get on with it . I have sent complaint to hotel so will see if any response Room was okay just a little tired looking
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Starsky El Assadi, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Caroline m, I thank you for your feedback and am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused with your stay. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the challenge you have encountered and reassure you this does not reflect our normal standards of service. We would very much like the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore can I kindly ask you, to contact me directly at starsky@atheneumsuites.com as I would be delighted to hear from you, at your convenience.
Read more
Myrtle Beach couples trip wrote a review May 2022
LaGrange, Georgia19 contributions5 helpful votes
I would have given 5 stars but the noise at night from the street was really loud. The beds were comfortable. It was clean and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Vonda Hodges was extra helpful and one of the nicest people. She went out of her way to help us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mws813 wrote a review Apr 2022
West Chester, Ohio766 contributions366 helpful votes
I travel for business weekly. My company always books the room and sends authorization for the room and incidentals. I am here now in 516. They have the authorization form that literally says call with questions about incidentals. Well when I checked in it was 15 minutes approximately of ridiculous banter that the card is only for room and not incidentals and then the manager on duty left and spoke to her boss and said it was okay and sorted out. Now the deposit they needed is for… drum roll… incidentals. But the manager on duty just declined my dinner and said room service wasn’t included…. Is it not an incidental? Seriously, this hotel is the worst I have stayed at this year. Of course the general manager won’t be here till Tuesday so in the meantime I guess I don’t get to eat! I will never stay here again and don’t recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Matt K wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Hotel definitely needs some updating. I am sure in it's prime that it was very nice. Does not appear that any investment has been put into the facility lately. Cocktails at the bar were watered down. You do not add soda water to an Old Fashion! Service was extremely slow. There are plenty of other hotels to consider in downtown Detroit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ethna A wrote a review Mar 2022
Atlanta, Georgia4 contributions
The room was great, the staff was nice, and the shuttle driver was tip top. Prices are a little on the high side, but that is expected for Detroit. Do not eat at the Fishbone's restaurant next door. It is overpriced, the food is mediocre, and the service is horrible. The bar drinks are watered down crap. The wait staff gouges you automatically on your bill for a huge, built-in tip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I cannot advise on this.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jessica G wrote a review Mar 2022
Saginaw, Michigan6 contributions
For a last minute trip, I had an excellent time. I wanted to have a small getaway with my partner. I stayed in the King Suite on the 5th floor. my room had an amazing view of the city. It was very romantic and clean. The bathtub could fit both me and my partner for a nice soak. I also enjoyed the variety of channels available in our room as we had two TV’s. The reasoning behind the 4 star review instead of 5 is due to some things in the room that needed updates. The towel rack instantly broke and fell apart when we went to remove a towel. Also, I was super pleased to see they offered room service. At promptly 6:30am I ordered Cinnamon french toast, breakfast potatoes, and a coffee. The price of this was charged to my card on file and delivered right to my door. While the person that answered the phone was incredibly courteous and knowledgeable about the menu, the food that arrived left more to be desired. My potatoes we not cooked all the way through, and the bottom slice of french toast was completely charred, yet uncooked in the middle. My suggestion is that if you’re considering getting room service, you should probably just pass and get doordash instead. I would absolutely stay here again, just probably won’t order their food.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kristie C wrote a review Dec 2021
Chicago, Illinois59 contributions27 helpful votes
We were attending the MAC college football championship on December 4 (Hooray Huskies!) and chose this hotel for two nights due to its proximity to Ford Field. Perfect location so it was a good choice. The staff is wonderful here - very friendly and helpful. I do a 2 mile walk every morning and the front desk advised the area is safe and walking along the lakefront is a beautiful walk. That was sound advice as my walks were very enjoyable. The cheesecake we ordered in the bar was fantastic. I suggest trying it! Unfortunately, the rooms are a bit outdated and even though all of the lamps worked, the shades on almost all of them were broken or falling off. There was also a thermos under the couch in our room from previous guests. I left it there (room 804) - didn't want to touch it. But it was clearly visible. Two couch pillows were on the floor when we entered. So better attention to detail and upgrades/repairs would be nice. Water pressure in the shower was pretty bad and the water from the tap tasted old. All of this aside, we did enjoy our stay and would stay again if attending an event at Ford Field. Staff friendliness and good location trump outdated rooms/lazy cleaning to us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$189 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the atheneum hotel detroit, atheneum hotel detroit, atheneum detroit, atheneum suite hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Atheneum Suite Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Atheneum
Which popular attractions are close to The Atheneum?
Nearby attractions include Campus Martius Park (0.3 miles), Old St. Mary's Church (0.2 miles), and Greektown (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Atheneum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Atheneum?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Atheneum?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Atheneum?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Atheneum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Astoria Pastry Shop, Hudson Cafe, and Vicente's Cuban Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Atheneum?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Atheneum have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Atheneum offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Atheneum?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Atheneum offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Atheneum?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.7 miles), Motown Museum (3.1 miles), and Willistead Manor (1.9 miles).