We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Atheneum

Save
Share
1000 Brush St Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Lowest prices for your stay
$191
$175
View Deal
SAVE $16
Free cancellation until 10/28/20
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$191
$175
View Deal
SAVE $16
Free cancellation until 10/27/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$175
Priceline$175
Agoda.com$191
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (238)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (3)

About

#15 of 38 hotels in Detroit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Detroit, The Atheneum is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The Atheneum makes it easy to enjoy the best of Detroit.

Rooms at The Atheneum Hotel provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at The Atheneum guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. You can also enjoy a fitness center and a lounge. Need a place to park? Parking is available at Atheneum Suite Hotel.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Detroit, Atheneum Suite Hotel is located a short distance from Ford Field (0.4 mi) and Little Caesars Arena (0.8 mi).

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Green Dot Stables, Kid Rock's Made in Detroit, and Sweetwater Tavern, which are some pubs that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Detroit Downtown (0.3 mi), Detroit RiverFront (0.3 mi), and Greektown (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Atheneum Suite Hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, The Atheneum is sure to make your visit to Detroit one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
660Reviews22Q+A99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 242
  • 220
  • 109
  • 45
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hillary M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
I called early in the morning and requested an early check in, and they were nice enough to accommodate my fiancé and I, who were in town checking out wedding venues, at 1pm. They were super busy so checking in took a long time, but that was fine. Place is remodeling and heavily under construction, so it looks nothing like their photos anymore. The experience was fine until my fiancé dropped something and bent down to pick it up, and there was a condom/condom wrapper barely underneath the side of the bed. Probably one of the top five nasty things you can find in a hotel room. But it happens sometimes, I get it. My issue was how the experience was handled. My fiancé called the desk, they asked me to come down. I spoke with a manager, who offered me a downgrade to a double queen since there were no more King rooms available after I asked to be moved. I asked if she’d be willing to move me if one became available later, and she said yes, and was nice enough to comp my valet. No problem there. When I came back, a cleaning assistant had come to see what was wrong and talked to my fiancé, who showed her. She put gloves on but didn’t remove it and just asked her, “What do you want us to do? Do you want us to clean it?” She just politely requested to be moved and then the cleaning assistant left. Then this cool concierge named Curtis comes in to check it out, and he seemed to be the only person who thought it was gross that there was a condom under our bed, and he understood why a room that isn’t clean in the middle of a global pandemic was concerning to us. He moved our stuff back down to the lobby and spoke to his manager for us. He was so nice, Curtis is fantastic. Not long after, we were moved to a new room of the same design. This wouldn’t really be a big deal, except that this is apparently a 4-star hotel. A 4-star hotel usually knows how to quickly and effectively resolve a guest complaint about cleanliness without any hassle, because these are usually upper class hotels. I’ve never been asked what I want them to do about a dirty room at a 4-star hotel, or not been asked if I wanted to move to a new room if there was an issue with mine. The staff just kind of acted like “Why is this a big deal and what do you want me to do about it?” I’ve stayed in nicer places with better service in 2 and 3 stars. Overall, rooms were outdated with old, unattractive furniture, and a very strange and very plain design. Lights all only had one setting, super bright, and all of the technology in the building is old and outdated. They’re remodeling, so hopefully they’ll eventually get to their deluxe kind suites. Bathroom was nice and bed was comfortable. Walls are like paper. You can hear everything going on next to you. Towels and bed didn’t smell clean and had weird odors. I’m generally not super picky or demanding, but I would recommend you stay at another location while you’re in the city despite the convenient location, because I was expecting a 4 Star Hotel and was disappointed. There are just way nicer places you can stay for this price range in Detroit. This whole place reeks like weed, everything is old and dinged up. Rooms are hot because the ventilation is bad. This was kind of a rude awakening after staying in the Shinola Hotel the night before, a reasonably clean and very modern 4-star hotel with amazing service. I wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Debora Mancini, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jul 23, 2020
Dear 290hillarym, We’d like to thank you for your review and for being one of our first returning guests. You are correct to expect the finest service and accommodations and we apologize for falling short. Please trust that the issues you’ve mentioned have been addressed with our team so we can ensure a similar incident is not repeated. I know we can do a better job of serving you in the future and I hope we have the chance to improve on this experience for you. Thank you again, and we wish you the best in planning your future wedding. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
underwoodb29 wrote a review Mar 2020
Detroit, Michigan71 contributions17 helpful votes
I've recently stayed in The Atheneum this past February, as well as November 2019. I wanted something other than the casino hotels, but was still in the downtown Detroit area and was the worth the price I would be paying to stay downtown. Atheneum is in a great location (off Monroe, connected to Fishbones) and the suites are very spacious. This hotel has valet parking which is about $30/night with unlimited in and out privileges. They charge this price to your room and essentially they deduct the valet parking fee from your room deposit so you won't have to pay for valet when you arrive. Check in was smooth and the valet as well as front desk employees were respectful and helpful. This place looks very nice and upscale. The rooms are super spacious. I like that there is a livingroom area with a television, though it seems there aren't any vents or ventilation in the livingroom. Our room was clean, there's a nice big bathroom and the water pressure is amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from detroitsales, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear underwoodb29, Thank you for all of your wonderful 5-star feedback! It sounds like you had a lovely time relaxing in your spacious suite and enjoyed our close proximity to downtown. We look forward to hosting you again very soon. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Majistii M. wrote a review Feb 2020
Eastpointe, Michigan12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I was so excited about my stay at The Atheneum hotel for Valentine’s Day. I booked the Premium suite with the whirlpool. Upon arrival, guest services did a wonderful job getting me checked into my room. I was placed in a suite on the 6th floor. When I got to my room it was very spacious and clean. When looking around I noticed minor wear and tear in the bathroom but it was nothing that I couldn’t look past. As the night went on and I settled into my room, I was setting up my Xbox to the tv then I realized that even though the hotel tv had a HDMI port to hook up the Xbox, the remote itself gave me no options to even switch the input/output to operate my Xbox. By then my guest had arrived and I just wanted to have a source of entertainment. I called down to guest services to inquire and they told me that unfortunately using my Xbox wasn’t a option and that I wasn’t going to be able to use it. Slightly upset about the situation however I just opted to listen to the hotels music channels then I realized they don’t even give you the option to listen to rap as a station on the tv. They had every other genre of music offered but rap so that rubbed me the wrong way because I felt that was a judgmental and stereotypical thing for the hotel to do. By the time I was ready to relax and wind down and get in the whirlpool tub I couldn’t even do that because it was unsanitary and disgusting. I was disappointed given how much it cost to book the suite in the first place. I mean it was terrible, black nasty build up on every one of the jets. I called and complained and they moved me to a different suite. Got to the other room and the suite was smaller than the one I was initially in! And the whirlpool in that room was disgusting as well. I had to literally clean them off the best I could with my own disinfectant wipes. The next day upon check out I spoke with front desk about my experience and the least I can say is that they were empathetic for my experience. They compensated me for my troubles. The hotel is nice but in my opinion is overrated and overpriced. I wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from detroitsales, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear Majistii, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. While we are happy to hear that you had a seamless arrival, we are sorry that you couldn’t experience the entertainment you wanted in your room. We have shared all of your comments with our team to make improvements in all the areas you mentioned and would love a chance to impress you in the future. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Gail G wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Impeccable customer service, great location - within walking distance to so much in downtown. Free shuttle service was a huge plus. Lovely building and ambience, although it is starting to show some wear and tear. The rooms are large, which is great for traveling with a family. We will absolutely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from detroitsales, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Dear galigD6241EG, Thank you for all of your most wonderful feedback! It is an absolute pleasure to know that you found our location extremely accessible and that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. Whatever the occasion, we hope to welcome you all back very soon. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
travelingcouple03 wrote a review Jan 2020
barrie67 contributions56 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights to attend a sporting event. As is to be expected, the rates are higher for events. We chose this place for walking to the stadium and the amount of restaurants etc. located near by. Parking - the parking garage across the street charges from $20-$30 a night. They will valet park your car for you, and i chose a rate with the valet parking included. The valet staff was good to deal with, however when it was time to leave at the end of our stay, it took 30 minutes for them to retrieve our vehicle. There were not that many of us waiting, however they only have one attendant on in the morning, unlike the 3 0r 4 in the afternoon for arrivals. The man who finally got our car was good, and of course we tipped at both drop off and retrieval, as the runners were worth it. However the valet coordinator was rather rude and did not seem at all concerns guests were waiting long times. I thought it may have been good for her to go get a car or two from the garage and let one of the 3 door men working oversee her desk for a few minutes, but that did not happen. Check in - went fine. We were "upgraded" from a king suite to larger corner king suite with a Jacuzzi tub. I will never use a tub in any hotel for hygiene reasons, but the jester was nice. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Room - It was large, and reasonably clean. Bedding was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room, as with the hotel overall, had a "worn out" feel to it. the wallpaper in our room was ripped and dirty from luggage and chairs being moved etc. The bathroom was dated, with need of a good cleaning along the baseboards, walls and behind the toilet and door- all things you notice when you sit down and have a minute to actually see the dirt and grime build up. The shower has the 1980's metal door with the plastic floor, which need extensive cleaning in the rails and corners. The room had a stale smell to it from the time we walked in. I turned on the external fan to pump in fresh air, but the stale smell never really went away. Overall, it was OK, and i did feel safe staying here. The downtown can get pretty rowdy on weekend nights, with lots of police presence, and I did feel fine staying here. The staff overall was friendly and helpful. I realize Detroit has suffered major economic setbacks in the last few decades, and they are really making a effort to revitalize the downtown which is noticeable. Hopefully they can put some money into updating and renovating this hotel, because the location is great and the staff seem good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The end of the halls are quieter.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from detroitsales, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear travelingcouple3, Thank you for taking the time to detail your time with us! While we are delighted to have provided you with warm and welcoming service, we are sorry that our accommodations did not measure up to what you should rightfully expect. We have shared all of your comments with our team to ensure that your next stay is a top-to-bottom outstanding experience. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the atheneum hotel detroit, atheneum hotel detroit, atheneum detroit, atheneum suite hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Atheneum
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Atheneum
Which popular attractions are close to The Atheneum?
Nearby attractions include The HandleBar (0.09 miles), Escape the Room Detroit (0.05 miles), and Campus Martius Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Atheneum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Atheneum?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Atheneum?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Atheneum?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Atheneum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Astoria Pastry Shop, Pizza Papalis, and Hudson Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Atheneum?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Atheneum?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Atheneum offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Atheneum?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.7 miles), Motown Museum (3.1 miles), and Willistead Manor (1.9 miles).
Is The Atheneum accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.