The Atheneum

The Atheneum

1000 Brush St Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Suite photos
Traveler (276)
New AtheneumHotel Suites jpg Bathroom
Room & Suite (21)
Our bill
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 39 hotels in Detroit
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.8

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Detroit, The Atheneum is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The Atheneum makes it easy to enjoy the best of Detroit.

Rooms at The Atheneum Hotel provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at The Atheneum guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. You can also enjoy a fitness center and a lounge. Need a place to park? Parking is available at Atheneum Suite Hotel.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Detroit, Atheneum Suite Hotel is located a short distance from Ford Field (0.4 mi) and Little Caesars Arena (0.8 mi).

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Green Dot Stables, Kid Rock's Made in Detroit, and Sweetwater Tavern, which are some pubs that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Detroit Downtown (0.3 mi), Detroit RiverFront (0.3 mi), and Greektown (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Atheneum Suite Hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, The Atheneum is sure to make your visit to Detroit one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1000 Brush St Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Windsor Airport
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport
17.9 mi
See all flights
708Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 255
  • 232
  • 117
  • 53
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
underwoodb29 wrote a review Mar 2020
Detroit, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've recently stayed in The Atheneum this past February, as well as November 2019. I wanted something other than the casino hotels, but was still in the downtown Detroit area and was the worth the price I would be paying to stay downtown. Atheneum is in a great location (off Monroe, connected to Fishbones) and the suites are very spacious. This hotel has valet parking which is about $30/night with unlimited in and out privileges. They charge this price to your room and essentially they deduct the valet parking fee from your room deposit so you won't have to pay for valet when you arrive.

Check in was smooth and the valet as well as front desk employees were respectful and helpful. This place looks very nice and upscale.

The rooms are super spacious. I like that there is a livingroom area with a television, though it seems there aren't any vents or ventilation in the livingroom. Our room was clean, there's a nice big bathroom and the water pressure is amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from detroitsales, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear underwoodb29, Thank you for all of your wonderful 5-star feedback! It sounds like you had a lovely time relaxing in your spacious suite and enjoyed our close proximity to downtown. We look forward to hosting you again very soon. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ArielM1992 wrote a review Apr 2021
Detroit, Michigan
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my boyfriend checked in Friday for a 2 night stay. We are locals and was having a staycation. Unfortunately I did not take pictures to back up my review but my bf as my witness this is how everything occurred. When we checked into the hotel we noticed valet parking was an option but for $28 a day. As we walked into the building the decor and staff was very welcoming however I couldn’t help but notice the customers that were staying in the hotel as well smh. Friday night we went to our room on the 7th floor and went inside this beautiful deluxe king suite. The first thing we did notice was the walls were pretty thin seeming there had to be a group next door to us. We literally could hear the conversations and music but it wasn’t a big deal to us. I was about to run some bath water to soak but noticed they didn’t have any bubble bath soap and the shampoo bottle was empty. Unfortunately as we went to go use the sink in the bathroom water came gushing out of the pipe onto the bathroom floor. We called down to front desk immediately and they sent 2 gentleman up to check it out. When the gentleman went into the bathroom and turned the sink on and realized we weren’t lying they immediately informed us to gather our things and placed us in a room on the 2nd floor. Now this room was just as nice but it definitely wasn’t a deluxe room. As we checked the room out I checked everything and noticed a long black strand of hair underneath one of the pillows. It was a big deal seeming neither one of us has long black hair however since COVID I try to give hotels the benefit of the doubt. The ice bucket, cups and coffee maker was all in the bathroom sitting on the sink. We thought that was odd but most importantly unsanitary. Overall the decor and the staff is very nice and professional but seeming the amenities weren’t included and we had a few mishaps I probably would make this hotel a last resort.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debora Mancini, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Dear Ariel, Thank you for taking the time to share such comprehensive feedback with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our modern Greek décor and warm service. However, we are disappointed to see that you experienced some uncharacteristic housekeeping service. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we assure you that we will take your valuable feedback to improve for current and future guests. We hope to get a chance to host you again for a seamless staycation at our Greektown home. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Majistii M. wrote a review Feb 2020
Eastpointe, Michigan
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so excited about my stay at The Atheneum hotel for Valentine’s Day. I booked the Premium suite with the whirlpool. Upon arrival, guest services did a wonderful job getting me checked into my room. I was placed in a suite on the 6th floor. When I got to my room it was very spacious and clean. When looking around I noticed minor wear and tear in the bathroom but it was nothing that I couldn’t look past. As the night went on and I settled into my room, I was setting up my Xbox to the tv then I realized that even though the hotel tv had a HDMI port to hook up the Xbox, the remote itself gave me no options to even switch the input/output to operate my Xbox. By then my guest had arrived and I just wanted to have a source of entertainment. I called down to guest services to inquire and they told me that unfortunately using my Xbox wasn’t a option and that I wasn’t going to be able to use it. Slightly upset about the situation however I just opted to listen to the hotels music channels then I realized they don’t even give you the option to listen to rap as a station on the tv. They had every other genre of music offered but rap so that rubbed me the wrong way because I felt that was a judgmental and stereotypical thing for the hotel to do. By the time I was ready to relax and wind down and get in the whirlpool tub I couldn’t even do that because it was unsanitary and disgusting. I was disappointed given how much it cost to book the suite in the first place. I mean it was terrible, black nasty build up on every one of the jets. I called and complained and they moved me to a different suite. Got to the other room and the suite was smaller than the one I was initially in! And the whirlpool in that room was disgusting as well. I had to literally clean them off the best I could with my own disinfectant wipes. The next day upon check out I spoke with front desk about my experience and the least I can say is that they were empathetic for my experience. They compensated me for my troubles. The hotel is nice but in my opinion is overrated and overpriced. I wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from detroitsales, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear Majistii, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. While we are happy to hear that you had a seamless arrival, we are sorry that you couldn’t experience the entertainment you wanted in your room. We have shared all of your comments with our team to make improvements in all the areas you mentioned and would love a chance to impress you in the future. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica G wrote a review Mar 2022
Saginaw, Michigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For a last minute trip, I had an excellent time. I wanted to have a small getaway with my partner. I stayed in the King Suite on the 5th floor. my room had an amazing view of the city. It was very romantic and clean. The bathtub could fit both me and my partner for a nice soak. I also enjoyed the variety of channels available in our room as we had two TV’s. The reasoning behind the 4 star review instead of 5 is due to some things in the room that needed updates. The towel rack instantly broke and fell apart when we went to remove a towel. Also, I was super pleased to see they offered room service. At promptly 6:30am I ordered Cinnamon french toast, breakfast potatoes, and a coffee. The price of this was charged to my card on file and delivered right to my door. While the person that answered the phone was incredibly courteous and knowledgeable about the menu, the food that arrived left more to be desired. My potatoes we not cooked all the way through, and the bottom slice of french toast was completely charred, yet uncooked in the middle. My suggestion is that if you’re considering getting room service, you should probably just pass and get doordash instead. I would absolutely stay here again, just probably won’t order their food.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sierra Hope wrote a review Jun 2021
Chesterfield, Michigan
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a king suite for $200, it was incredible. Huge bathtub, great view (9th floor). Customer service was amazing. We were able to check our bags, there is room service and it’s affordable ($5-10 breakfast, $10-20 lunch, dinner a bit more). Best part was the local shuttle since the people mover and Q line is still shut down from COVID 19.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Starsky El Assadi, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jul 14, 2021
Dear sierrahope32, Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted to have hosted your Detroit getaway. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities of our all-suite hotel. Your kind words about our staff are much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsten M wrote a review Sep 2021
Alto, Michigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Atheneum in Detroit for one night as we were attending a concert at Little Caesars Arena. The staff was super friendly. The hotel itself was quite pretty, although needed a good deep cleaning. One thing I noticed was all of the dust on their fake plants/foliage, There were a lot of these plants throughout the hotel and they were super dusty. Our room was nice. A separate living area with a TV, mini fridge, desk, couch and chair. The bathroom was quite large and clean. The bedroom was spacious, beds clean and comfortable. There were, however, fingerprints on the mirrored closet, and a few pieces of bacon on the carpet. Obviously, the floors had not been vacuumed very well. All in all it was a good stay, I just wished things had been cleaner, especially in these times of Covid. Parking was valet or you could just park in a parking ramp right across the street for $25/day. Location was good. Many good restaurants nearby and walkable to Little Caesars Arena, Ford Field, and Comerica Park. Quite a few panhandlers and such hanging around the general area, but that’s Greektown for ya. We never felt unsafe even walking back after the concert at night. We would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GregoryNS wrote a review Oct 2020
Rockville, Maryland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a Junior Suite and stayed on the 9th floor. Overall, it was a good stay. I was only there overnight and had little time in Detroit. The room was clean and spacious. The reservation people as well as the front desk people were very friendly. I used valet parking which was $28. At first I thought that was high but after seeing the neighborhood at night I'm glad I didn't walk from the garage across the street. I can pick at a few things: the building must still be undergoing construction. I noticed that my window ceil had not been finished and you could see through to the original finishing (I kind of wondered if anything was crawling through); the rooms are not very quiet (I could hear kids next door go on and on); the smell of marijuana filled the 9th floor from the time I got there until the time I left. Overall, it was still a nice hotel. Greektown was a letdown. There is really nothing there but a few restaurants (and a fantastic pastry shop, the Astoria) and it's definitely not in a nice neighborhood. I was extremely uncomfortable there and would not go back. Of course I'd have to say the same for the rest of Detroit as well. We were able to walk to The Riverwalk but through a run-down neighborhood (there is really nothing on the Detroit Riverwalk either) On Saturday morning we went over to the Eastern Market... it was ok but is mostly geared to people living in Detroit as they sell fresh produce, etc. We went during the Pandemic and Detroit was not crowded at all. It was easy to drive into and out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not much to look at from the windows so don't worry about your view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debora Mancini, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Dear GregoryNSmith, Thank you for sharing this valuable feedback. We’re pleased we could accommodate you while you explored Detroit, and that our Junior Suite was to your liking. We appreciate your comments regarding the noise issues and will continue to do our best to address such things. If you have more time to spend in the city in the future, it would be our pleasure to point you in the direction of some of Detroit’s gems to ensure your visit is as memorable as can be. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Starsky El Assadi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caroline m wrote a review May 2022
Southport, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room here for 4 adults , confirmation received showing full booking and continental breakfast included.
On arrival at hotel was advised no breakfast included.
I complained and receptionist agreed to contact manager however then said , 'we don't do continental breakfast anymore' so you won't get one.
I still voiced my complaint so she agreed to take up with her manager .
Later I was told , we don't do breakfast just room service and you can have a credit for 15 dollars. How can anyone get breakfast for 4 for 15dollars !!! The items on room service would mean approx 25dollar each cost
I believe more should have been offered as way of an apology but it was an attitude of tough , get on with it .
I have sent complaint to hotel so will see if any response
Room was okay just a little tired looking
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Starsky El Assadi, General Manager at The Atheneum
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Caroline m, I thank you for your feedback and am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused with your stay. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the challenge you have encountered and reassure you this does not reflect our normal standards of service. We would very much like the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore can I kindly ask you, to contact me directly at starsky@atheneumsuites.com as I would be delighted to hear from you, at your convenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristie C wrote a review Dec 2021
Chicago, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were attending the MAC college football championship on December 4 (Hooray Huskies!) and chose this hotel for two nights due to its proximity to Ford Field. Perfect location so it was a good choice. The staff is wonderful here - very friendly and helpful. I do a 2 mile walk every morning and the front desk advised the area is safe and walking along the lakefront is a beautiful walk. That was sound advice as my walks were very enjoyable. The cheesecake we ordered in the bar was fantastic. I suggest trying it!

Unfortunately, the rooms are a bit outdated and even though all of the lamps worked, the shades on almost all of them were broken or falling off. There was also a thermos under the couch in our room from previous guests. I left it there (room 804) - didn't want to touch it. But it was clearly visible. Two couch pillows were on the floor when we entered. So better attention to detail and upgrades/repairs would be nice. Water pressure in the shower was pretty bad and the water from the tap tasted old.

All of this aside, we did enjoy our stay and would stay again if attending an event at Ford Field. Staff friendliness and good location trump outdated rooms/lazy cleaning to us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mws813 wrote a review Apr 2022
West Chester, Ohio
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I travel for business weekly. My company always books the room and sends authorization for the room and incidentals. I am here now in 516. They have the authorization form that literally says call with questions about incidentals. Well when I checked in it was 15 minutes approximately of ridiculous banter that the card is only for room and not incidentals and then the manager on duty left and spoke to her boss and said it was okay and sorted out. Now the deposit they needed is for… drum roll… incidentals. But the manager on duty just declined my dinner and said room service wasn’t included…. Is it not an incidental? Seriously, this hotel is the worst I have stayed at this year. Of course the general manager won’t be here till Tuesday so in the meantime I guess I don’t get to eat! I will never stay here again and don’t recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohammed asked a question Aug 2020
Detroit, Michigan1 contribution
Can I check in if I’m 18 years of age?
Answer from LoveJBM
North Street, Michigan105 contributions46 helpful votes
Did not physically see a pool, nor was one mentioned under “amenities “.
m_tmartin2924 asked a question Mar 2019
Kimball, Michigan68 contributions12 helpful votes
Does the shuttle go to the Little Caesar’s Arena?
Answer from SpartanFIJI
Peoria, Illinois272 contributions88 helpful votes
Yes, they will take you there.
Answer from travelingcouple03
barrie80 contributions58 helpful votes
They left a menu in the room, i recall the restaurant next door provides it - fishbone (or something like that). I was pricey so we did not use it. They also charge a hefty delivery charge.
Dee T asked a question Jan 2018
Clarkston, Michigan2 contributions1 helpful vote
Does internet work for government employees
Answer from Janice L
East Brunswick, New Jersey79 contributions54 helpful votes
Sorry but I don’t know the answer to that question.
Mark M wrote a tip Jul 1
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park at the garage across the street. Go to Hockeytown Cafe before a game."
Read full review
Beach1001 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Lake Orion, Michigan277 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't drink the water in the refrigerator, no sign saying the cost."
Read full review
C1arksGir1 wrote a tip Nov 2023
West Chester, Ohio179 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room above the 2nd Floor (as there are public restrooms and meeting rooms on this level (increased traffic and noise). "
Read full review
OnAir396338 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a significant police presence that can't be ignored in the neighborhood "
Read full review
Traveldanse wrote a tip Apr 2023
Florida431 contributions175 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Heed my warnings in mine and others reviews, and if they address them, then it would be a great place to stay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Detroit area.
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the atheneum hotel detroit, atheneum hotel detroit, atheneum detroit, atheneum suite hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Atheneum Suite Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ATHENEUM $153 ($̶2̶0̶2̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Atheneum
Which popular attractions are close to The Atheneum?
Nearby attractions include The HandleBar (0.09 miles), Campus Martius Park (0.2 miles), and Greektown (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Atheneum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Atheneum?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Atheneum?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Atheneum?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Atheneum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Astoria Pastry Shop, Hudson Cafe, and Vicente's Cuban Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Atheneum?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Atheneum?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Atheneum offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Atheneum?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.7 miles), Motown Museum (3.1 miles), and Willistead Manor (1.9 miles).
Is The Atheneum accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Detroit HotelsDetroit Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DetroitHotels near The Atheneum
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars