We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel St. Regis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The St Regis Hotel is a classic hotel with an amazing staff. All staff were helpful and friendly, from check in to door man and restaurant. Eric at the front desk was especially helpful. I was here for three days for a ministerial conference and the staff was consistently customer oriented. The restaurant has an excellent, reasonably priced menu. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73grace1204
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments regarding your stay here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We certainly do appreciate them and your patronage. We are always looking at ways to perfect the WiFi service and will continue to work on it. We look forward to your return in May.

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had heard of the wonderful St. Regis for years, and finally had an opportunity to stay there this past weekend. Upon entry into the room the blinds were closed (which is rarely a good sign), and we quickly understood why. Room #208 faces out onto the heating/cooling units, but then the windows were so filthy it didn't even matter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars M
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We appreciate the time you took to offer your comments and feedback regarding what you encountered. They will be discussed in making changes for the future that will help to perfect our service and product to our guests.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived it was dark, and we had a terribly difficult time figuring out which building was the St. Regis, as there were no easy to see markings for the hotel, and it was very poorly lit. We called the front desk attendant and she kindly helped us get where we needed to be. When we pulled up we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank efellows7
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding our building and Valet was not available to assist and welcome you when you arrive. Room Service is offered on the weekend. Your feedback is important to us and your comments will be discussed with the appropriate...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room, # 201 was average at best. A loose door handle, loose wallpaper, the ceiling in the bathroom was in need repair, the windows were dirty, there was no spare blanket, the heater was a bit noisy, and no matter how high we turned the temperature up it wouldn't go above 67 degrees. It was also, unfortunately, noisy in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. The problems you encountered with the product and the noise will be discussed with the pertinent departments to rectify. Please know that we do appreciate your patronage and hope you will come back in the future.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I am attending a training at the St. Regis hotel. And since the beginning of the training I have visited the front desk everyday in need of a multitude of things. Each time I visited the desk Chelsea was the one that took care of my every request. I asked for copies one day, fax the other day, something to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crere
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the service provided to you by Chelsea, one of our Front Desk Agents. I agree that it is nice to be greeted by a smile and someone who can't wait to accommodate our guests. Your comments will be shared with her!

Reviewed October 23, 2016

So I stayed here recently and I felt things have changed since the last time I was here a few years back. We had some issues with our room and the manager Jeremy was super accommodating and helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We are glad to hear that our changes are being recognized. Thank you for taking the time to convey this point to us. We look forward to having you back and your patronage.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The hotel St. Regis has a good location near the mid-town Detroit area. Parking is a valet only. There is no self-park option. When I arrived the Valet was no where to be found and they immediately comp'd my valet cost due to my long wait. Great service!!! The only bad thing was my shower was cold and the air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJRC
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the Hotel St. Regis and taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding it. I apologize that Valet wasn't there when you arrived and didn't service you in a timely fashion. Valet is one of the first impressions of the hotel. This weather has been rather irregular and it has been difficult to...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The restaurant in the lobby serves delicious Gumbo (spicey too). You can walk to the Motown Museum, which has an excellent tour. In between is the amazing Fisher Building, with an ornate Art Deco atrium soaring overhead. Hotel Staff are friendly and helpful. Booking directly better pricing for us than Expedia. Do avoid adjoining rooms, however.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlesPinkney
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We appreciate your patronage and the feedback you have provided. The La Musique Restaurant staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed our "spicey" gumbo. The Motown Museum does have an excellent tour which will be made even more so with their planned renovations. We would like to...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We were very happy with our treatment and accommodations during our stay. We were quite impressed our room and the housekeeping staff. The room was comfortable and the housekeeping staff seemed genuine in their constant concern for our comfort. Thank you so much for a stay that was both comforting and secure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJH1249
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am so pleased to hear that your enjoyed our property and the service provided to you by our staff. Your comfort and security is important to us. We hope to see you here again.

Queens, New York
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We tried to do one of those super deals on websites where you get a high end hotel in a specific area at a great price and we got this. We requested a 4 star hotel in downtown Detroit. This hotel is very nice, but it is not in downtown despite what it says. This hotel will require a taxi/uber...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pshan6
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the historic Hotel St. Regis. You are correct. We are in Midtown, which is approximately 15-20 minutes away from the center of downtown. We hope our good value will have you coming back to stay with us again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

262 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
King (27)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Queen (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
3.0 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
2.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
3.8 mi away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Hotel St. Regis, the most inviting landmark hotel near downtown Detroit. Among Detroit Hotels, the Hotel St Regis stands alone with its original stately elegance yet with a modern, more casual style. Delivering an extraordinary level of comfort and convenience is what we promise each of our guests. Few Detroit hotels can rightfully boast of a history as rich as ours. The Hotel St. Regis has played host to such diverse and notable travelers as Martin Luther King and Mick Jagger.Located in Detroit's New Center area, the hotel is next door to Wayne State University, the world class health facility - Henry Ford Hospital, Fisher Theatre and Cadillac Place, home of the state of Michigan Government offices. And our unique location is minutes from Detroit's major venues.Guests of the Hotel St. Regis will enjoy relaxing in comfort in one of the 124 stylish guestrooms and suites located on five floors. Each room has been newly redesigned featuring an inviting color scheme, guest bedroom & bath with marble vanities & superior bedding.Enjoy live Jazz every Thursday night from 6-9PM in our attached restaurant/lounge La Musique. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Regis

Address: 3071 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, MI 48202-3004
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $92 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Regis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel St. Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel Detroit
St Regis Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Regis staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Alanson, Michigan
9 months ago
Grass Valley
over a year ago
Waukesha, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Regis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quieter rooms face away from W. Grand Blvd”
 of 5 bubbles 73grace1204, 2 days ago | Read review
“I would recommend that they stay in rooms on the higher floors away from the din of the traffic and the noise from the heating/a.c. unit.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid adjoining rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesPinkney, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“No tip just hope all is working when you visit.”
 of 5 bubbles ripnpat, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not facing grand Blvd.”
 of 5 bubbles Luckylouie2, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay