We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Save
Share
1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Westin.com
$299
$269
View Deal
Tripadvisor$269
Agoda.com$269
Booking.com$269
FindHotel$269
Expedia.com$269
Prestigia.com$299
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (512)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (551)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 38 hotels in Detroit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit, Michigan hotels. The historic luxury hotel in downtown Detroit has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as the city's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924.
Read more
Room & Suite (551)551
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1,588Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 770
  • 543
  • 156
  • 62
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joel V wrote a review Sep 18
1 contribution
If you want your anniversary, birthday, conference, or just a night in Detroit completely ruined, look no further than this property! From staff that can't be bothered to answer the phone at ANY TIME during our stay, inaccurate and contradictory parking information on the website, a lying front desk clerk who claims to be the manager of the entire hotel, nobody to answer the phone to help when we ran out of toilet paper, no shampoo in the shower, non-existent water pressure in the shower, non-working power outlets near the bed (inability to hook up my CPAP machine!), a leaky ice bucket, and a staff that couldn't give a rat's behind, this hotel has it all! First, I am all about COVID Safety and have no issue with valet parking being suspended if the hotel feels that it is in the guests' best safety interest. HOWEVER, it is noted on the hotel's website homepage and the third-party site I booked through that it IS available. (To be fair, there was another note buried in a linked page and under a dropdown heading that listed valet parking as discontinued, but that contradicts the information on the homepage and I didn't find it before my arrival.) My issue? After waiting at the valet stand, which had no sign posted about valet not being offered, I called the hotel to inquire if a valet was coming or see what my other parking options were. I called the front desk FOUR TIMES! (My wife also tried calling while I circled the block!) Each time, the phone rang, and rang, and rang some more, and nobody answered! Unacceptable! We did finally find parking in a garage adjacent to the hotel, but c'mon, a 4-star hotel and the front desk can't be bothered to answer the phone for 10-15 minutes while I sat like a fool at the valet stand and circled the block four times in an unfamiliar city. Hilariously enough, later that evening, my wife and I spent ten minutes outside the valet stand while waiting for a Lyft ride, and while doing so, we spent our time informing other guests that valet was discontinued, as several guests also were unsuccessfully waiting on valet and trying to reach the inattentive front desk staff by phone. (We talked to at least 6-7 drivers, some of whom already had unloaded luggage to the curb!) Our bathroom, while spacious, was less functional than the ones at the Motel 6 I crash at in suburban Ohio each December as part of a work reunion tradition. The shower had almost no water pressure. The water poured full force out of the tub faucet and hardly any came out of the shower head. (Yes, I know how to operate a shower, it was not a user error!) There was no shampoo in the shower for me. (My wife brought her own). The sink "hot" water was basically boiling and the cold tap wasn't working. We had to brush our teeth, shave, and wash our face without cold water. (Spoiler alert: Nobody answered the phone to address our concern!) Speaking of our bathroom and staff not answering the phone, nobody answered to assist us when my wife ran out of toilet paper and she had to use tissues. I went down to the front desk to speak with the alleged "manager." He was rude, arrogant, and condescending. He offered no apology for not answering the phone, tried to make me feel like I am an idiot for not digging deep into their website to find info about valet, and became argumentative with me about my other issues. He made no note of nor addressed any of my valid concerns. (After dismissing each of my concerns one-by-one, he just shrugged and said "Yeah, what else?") After he was of ZERO assistance to correcting our bathroom issues, no apology for not answering the phone, and being incredibly condescending, I asked if there was ANYONE else I could talk to. He said there was not. I asked who was above him. "Nobody, I'm the manager!" He is NOT the manager. (Possibly a shift manager? But I called Marriott to complain about my stay and the clerk's rudeness and they confirmed he is not the head/general manager of the hotel. There IS somebody above him, he just lied and refused to elevate my concerns to a more senior staff member or provide me with access to contact her.) In the spirit of fairness and full disclosure, he did offer me 5,000 rewards points IF I signed up for a loyalty program while giving out all of my personal information to him at the front desk in front of other guests. (I later found an email from Marriott -- Westin parent company -- offering me 2,500 points just for signing up! What a joke!) I asked what exactly "5,000 points" meant. He told me 20,000 would get me a free stay at that property and failed to explain how one acquired more points. (Also a lie! 35,000 points is needed, according to the hotel's website.) I typically travel only for work for hotel stays or Air BNB for personal trips, so loyalty points at a hotel don't do a whole lot for me, especially when I would have been only 1/7 of the way to a free night and have to spend an additional $3,000 at Marriott properties to earn a free night there! We would have switched rooms had someone answered the phone and provided assistance, but by the time this NON-MANAGER was done making me feel like an idiot and an undervalued guest, we had already showered (in minimal shower pressure), got ready, and had to leave to make our dinner reservation on time and we didn't want to pack up our things and move at 11:00 PM upon return. The alleged "manager" said he couldn't even consider adjusting the room rate because I booked through a third party. I called the third party (who has the only customer service agent sympathetic to my concerns). The representative told me that there is ABSOLUTELY something the hotel CAN do about a rate for rooms booked through them by giving an exception to said third party that allows them to issue me a partial refund/full refund/credit. The third party called the hotel to discuss this possibility and advocate on my behalf. But....You'll never believe this! Nobody answered the phone! They opened a case for me (as did Marriott customer service when I called them), but it's been a full week now and neither the hotel, Marriott, nor third party has reached out to me.) While perhaps out of the hotel's control and not actually part of my complaints, we were on the 18th floor and put in the last room at the absolute end of the long hallway and had a lame view of the hotel wall and an alley way. (I had read reviews about the hotel with guests raving about the great city views.) We were near a staff door that we could hear opening and closing and hear staff chatting in the evening. (Again, not the end of the world, but compiled with everything else, it was irritating.) Minor things do go wrong, but coupled with everything else, it was also irritating that at least one power outlet didn't work (closest to the bed and most convenient for my wife's hairdryer; and where I would hook up my CPAP, which I now couldn't do, and got a terrible night's sleep as a result, despite an incredibly comfortable bed). Oh, our ice bucket had a leak in it, too. This was our wedding anniversary weekend, and because my wife had been dying to try a restaurant near the hotel, off to Detroit we went! We drove from Canton, OH (3.5 hours) My wife wanted to stay at a 2.5 star hotel in a less-desirable location for a lesser price, but I insisted that we stay in this alleged 4-star hotel. Man, did I look like an idiot! I was so worked up by the rude manager that I could barely enjoy our (very expensive) anniversary dinner. I didn't want to spend a combined two hours of our mini-getaway circling the hotel while trying to reach the front desk about parking issues, riding the elevator down 18 floors to speak with a discourteous employee, and being on the phone with Marriott customer service (and the company I booked through) in a failed effort to resolve my issues. To be fair, the hotel was very clean, COVID guidelines were well followed, the beds were comfortable, our room was quite spacious, there was a large and efficient elevator bank, a Starbucks on the first floor, and we LUCKILY GUESSED the right place to park (no thanks to staff!) and the hotel validated parking for all guests in that garage. Unfortunately, those are the only good things I can say. I don't think that cold running water, toilet paper, shampoo, sufficient water pressure shower, and having a staff member answer the phone at some point during our stay are unreasonable things to ask of a Motel 6, let alone a 4-star hotel. The absolute shame of it is that if the staff had been friendly, helpful, attentive, or at least answered the gosh darn phone, many of our bigger issues could have been easily resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Craig M wrote a review Sep 1
NJ110 contributions65 helpful votes
Was heading to Western Michigan and needed a hotel on the way for us. With covid I like as little interaction as possible and this worked for us. Was able to park for free in the garage in the valet space. Check in was quick and easy and the room was spacious and clean. Check out was easy too. Lobby was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
herrickjde wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
I had to cancel my trip for a legitimate medical reason and these people are heartless and do not care about their customers. They charged me a penalty and the property was full. Management would not return my calls and I never get a straight answer from anyone. I would not recommend this property to anyone. Customer Service is terrible, and I hope our company does not use them again. I am a Marriott member and will never stay at Westin property again. I would not have had this issue with Hilton.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 28, 2020
Dear herrickjde, Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the issues you encountered with your reservation. Our hotel has a standard cancellation policy that applies in most situations such as yours. If you made a reservation through a separate booking site, you must make financial inquiries through them. We recommend that you contact them directly for the resolution regarding your billing concerns. We appreciate your patience, and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
Joel wrote a review Mar 2020
Batavia, Illinois32 contributions7 helpful votes
My family of 4 stayed here at Christmas for 4 nights. The location was close to Campus Martius where there are all sorts of stuff to do. At Christmas time, there's a kindlemardt in the plaza with shops and tents (reminiscent of German Christkindlemardts!) as well as an ice rink for skating. The hotel is luxurious and has several restaurants (all of which were great). The lobby bar service is wonderful too. Great place and have already been back since Christmas.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: get on the concierge level if you can
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear jwfitze, Thank you for the five-star review and for returning to stay with us. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit during Christmas, especially with our ideal location close to Campus Martius. We are also happy to hear your positive comments about our beautiful hotel and our restaurants. It was our pleasure serving you at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, and we hope to see you many more times. Best Regards, Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
ccwiegand wrote a review Mar 2020
Armada, Michigan17 contributions2 helpful votes
My family and I stayed the night for a local wedding, 2-29-2020. Checkin was great, room was ready and I was told they would bring up a roll around bed for my 8year old son. Room was clean and spacious, however bed for my son was never brought up as promised. We asked 4times throughout the stay. By the time the wedding was over and we were ready for bed and the night shift was on duty, we were upset and tired that the bed was not brought up. We expressed that to the night manager and he said we were not getting one. No apology, no service, no explanation. The lack of communication and problem solving skills of the night manager was appalling. All management should be sent to leadership classes to be able to communicate effectively. Also, there is no assistance with your luggage. No one to even hold the door open for you. We even asked for a luggage cart and was told there is not one we can use. The restaurant on site not staffed appropriately. We watched people sit down and leave without service around 1:30pm, that sat during lunch hour. 90 dollar lunch for 2 adults and 1 child should come with exceptional service. Choose a different hotel if you want your needs met. ( The valet staff and company was awesome: but they are not employed by the hotel.) We will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear ccwiegand, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are deeply sorry to read that we inconvenienced you during your stay by not providing the services you're accustomed to receiving. Please accept our apologies for this and be assured that we have met with our leadership team to discuss your review. They are looking into each of their departments to come up with steps for improvement. Thank you again for your candid remarks, as we cannot correct and become a better facility without feedback such as yours. We do hope you give us another chance to prove that we have changed and take your comments seriously. Best Regards, Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$283 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin book cadillac detroit hotel detroit, westin detroit
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
455
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Nearby attractions include Detroit Rolling Pub (0.3 miles), Trapped in a Room with a Zombie (0.2 miles), and The Guardian Building (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dime Store, Wright & Company, and Lafayette Coney Island.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.