We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Save
Share
1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$296
$280
View Deal
SAVE $16
Free cancellation until 10/28/20
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$296
$280
View Deal
SAVE $16
Booking.com$280
Westin.com$296
Expedia.com$280
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (512)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (551)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 37 hotels in Detroit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit, Michigan hotels. The historic luxury hotel in downtown Detroit has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as the city's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924.
Read more
Room & Suite (551)551
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1,583Reviews30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 767
  • 542
  • 156
  • 62
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
herrickjde wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
I had to cancel my trip for a legitimate medical reason and these people are heartless and do not care about their customers. They charged me a penalty and the property was full. Management would not return my calls and I never get a straight answer from anyone. I would not recommend this property to anyone. Customer Service is terrible, and I hope our company does not use them again. I am a Marriott member and will never stay at Westin property again. I would not have had this issue with Hilton.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 28, 2020
Dear herrickjde, Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the issues you encountered with your reservation. Our hotel has a standard cancellation policy that applies in most situations such as yours. If you made a reservation through a separate booking site, you must make financial inquiries through them. We recommend that you contact them directly for the resolution regarding your billing concerns. We appreciate your patience, and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
Joel wrote a review Mar 2020
Batavia, Illinois32 contributions6 helpful votes
My family of 4 stayed here at Christmas for 4 nights. The location was close to Campus Martius where there are all sorts of stuff to do. At Christmas time, there's a kindlemardt in the plaza with shops and tents (reminiscent of German Christkindlemardts!) as well as an ice rink for skating. The hotel is luxurious and has several restaurants (all of which were great). The lobby bar service is wonderful too. Great place and have already been back since Christmas.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: get on the concierge level if you can
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear jwfitze, Thank you for the five-star review and for returning to stay with us. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit during Christmas, especially with our ideal location close to Campus Martius. We are also happy to hear your positive comments about our beautiful hotel and our restaurants. It was our pleasure serving you at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, and we hope to see you many more times. Best Regards, Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
ccwiegand wrote a review Mar 2020
Armada, Michigan17 contributions2 helpful votes
My family and I stayed the night for a local wedding, 2-29-2020. Checkin was great, room was ready and I was told they would bring up a roll around bed for my 8year old son. Room was clean and spacious, however bed for my son was never brought up as promised. We asked 4times throughout the stay. By the time the wedding was over and we were ready for bed and the night shift was on duty, we were upset and tired that the bed was not brought up. We expressed that to the night manager and he said we were not getting one. No apology, no service, no explanation. The lack of communication and problem solving skills of the night manager was appalling. All management should be sent to leadership classes to be able to communicate effectively. Also, there is no assistance with your luggage. No one to even hold the door open for you. We even asked for a luggage cart and was told there is not one we can use. The restaurant on site not staffed appropriately. We watched people sit down and leave without service around 1:30pm, that sat during lunch hour. 90 dollar lunch for 2 adults and 1 child should come with exceptional service. Choose a different hotel if you want your needs met. ( The valet staff and company was awesome: but they are not employed by the hotel.) We will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear ccwiegand, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are deeply sorry to read that we inconvenienced you during your stay by not providing the services you're accustomed to receiving. Please accept our apologies for this and be assured that we have met with our leadership team to discuss your review. They are looking into each of their departments to come up with steps for improvement. Thank you again for your candid remarks, as we cannot correct and become a better facility without feedback such as yours. We do hope you give us another chance to prove that we have changed and take your comments seriously. Best Regards, Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
Yusuf T wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Disastrous overnight stay at this downtown Detroit hotel after a long, tiring drive from Toronto. The first room we were given smelled of (pet?) urine. We tried to discretely let the man at the front desk know about the smell, but he pretended that he couldn’t hear us, so we were forced to speak up so the other guests checking in were made to overhear our problem with the room. The same man gives us a different room directly above the room with the urine odor (829 then 929). Both rooms were situated at the far end of a hallway right next to a room labeled “housekeeping”. At this point we are feeling discriminated against, because why put someone directly above a room with a known odor issue? We walk into the replacement room and immediately are greeted with what smelled like tobacco and marijuana smoke that someone tried to cover up. Neither my wife or myself smoke or drink, so the smell was very overwhelming. While calling down to the front desk for a second time, I noticed that the overall condition of the room was quite shabby and not befitting of a 4-star establishment. One thing in particular that caught my attention was the office chair with rips and tears in the fabric. I was in so much disbelief that took a photo of it. After waiting for several minutes on hold, we were told that Guest Services could not get in touch with the front desk. They simply wouldn’t pick up the phone. We were forced to go back downstairs for a second time in hopes of receiving a decent room. While in the elevator to the lobby another disgusting smell was present, this one was akin to bad human hygiene and was completely overwhelming. Glancing around the elevator it was blatantly obvious that surfaces were not being wiped down properly and there was also tons of chewing gum ground into the carpet. Undeterred, we continued onward to the front desk. At this point it’s after 9pm and we’ve just wasted over an hour of our time. We are tired from the road and need to get rest as we had more driving to do the following morning. We were forced to deal with the same front desk attendant that previously had treated us in a rude manner. He mocked our complaints and stated that if we didn’t like it we should leave. He claimed that the smells we are talking about was “white tea” and that it’s a “brand trademark” to have these smells. He stated that we must be allergic to white tea and that all of this was our problem and not his. I was so taken aback and embarrassed by the way we were treated. It was truly humiliating for him to insinuate that we were making this whole thing up in order to “get an upgraded room on a higher floor.” I told him that I could not care less what floor we were on, we just want a room that doesn’t smell like a drunken houseparty. We had just spent 3 days at the Omni hotel in downtown Toronto and had no problems whatsoever. In fact, my wife and I travel frequently all over the world and this was the first time we’ve ever needed to request a room change. For your front desk clerk to accuse us of trying to lie in order to get on a higher floor is prosperous. Detroit doesn’t even have a decent enough skyline to warrant a room with a view! I can safely say that as a result of the way my wife and I were treated we will be avoiding the Omni hotel at all costs. Please train your staff on how to properly deal with dissatisfied customers or I’m afraid you will lose even more business.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear YusufTuranCHI, Thank you for taking the time to leave your remarks. We are sorry to hear you had such a disappointing visit to Detroit. We feel as though you may be reviewing a different hotel as your comments do not describe our property accurately. We do hope that if you return to our area again you will choose to stay with us, it will be our pleasure hosting you. Best Regards, Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
CarolynEliza wrote a review Mar 2020
Detroit, Michigan12 contributions
This is the go-to in Downtown Detroit. Rooms start around $200 and can get up to $400 and beyond, even during the week, depending on conferences in town. The renovation is beautiful; the ballroom spaces are great for events, both restaurants are good, Starbucks, a gym, etc. Everything you need. The rooms are very basic, though.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear CarolynEliza30, It is great to know you had a pleasant stay with us while you were here for a conference. With our flexible, upscale accommodations, and Downtown Detroit location, our goal is to make sure every event we host is outstanding. We are also pleased to read you relished dining with us and that you loved our thoughtful amenities as well as our historic luxury. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit for another rejuvenating experience. Best Regards, Susan L. Executive Assistant
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$283 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin book cadillac detroit hotel detroit, westin detroit
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
455
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Nearby attractions include Detroit Rolling Pub (0.3 miles), Trapped in a Room with a Zombie (0.2 miles), and The Guardian Building (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dime Store, Wright & Company, and Lafayette Coney Island.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.7 miles), Motown Museum (3.0 miles), and Willistead Manor (2.2 miles).