We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 12/20/2020.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Priceline
MGM Grand Detroit
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (368)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 11/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 38 hotels in Detroit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Casino & Hotel Now Open! While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse Spa, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Due to current uncertainty as a result of COVID-19, Immerse Spa is temporarily closed; in addition, all reservations are subject to cancellation by MGM Resorts.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking garage
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,840Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,100
  • 364
  • 161
  • 106
  • 109
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
robert fiske wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions12 helpful votes
I've enjoyed having the option of a safe environment to enjoy during these depressive times. Thank you gradually making the casino more accessible for your customers with mobility issues. Your reopening will be greatly anticipated. Please continue with the improvements in accessibility, It means a lot to many of us.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy JanFrancisco, Other at MGM Grand Detroit
Responded 1 week ago
Dear robertfF8810MZ, Thank you for being our guest and for your 5-star review! Your health and safety are our top priority and we are truly happy to learn that you enjoyed the safe environment at MGM Grand Detroit. Please rest assured that we are listening and will definitely continue working to make improvements so that our facility is more accessible to all of our valued guests. Thank you again for your trust and for taking the time to share your feedback. We can't wait to welcome you back to an even better experience in the near future. Best Regards!
Read more
Friendlytravel2015 wrote a review Nov 2020
Wapakoneta, Ohio71 contributions8 helpful votes
To start off, Don't waste your money on a Stay Well room. On the surface, it looked clean. But when you really looked, it wasn't. I wish that I would have taken pictures of the light fixtures in the bathroom. I could easily pick out the dust that has collected in the bottom of each fixture. There was no aromatherapy in the room. The Vitamin C Shower Infuser looked nothing more than an empty glass container hanging from the shower head. The room didn't have a clean crisp feel to the room. The bed was very firm. Beyond the room, trying to find something eat just past lunch was not easy. I stopped by the Tap room to get something to eat. I was told because of the limited staff, the wait would be about 1.5 hours. Myself and another couple I talked to in line went off site to eat. Most of the employees were very friendly except for the manager at the Tap room (Sunday afternoon) and one security guard that was at the entrance by the parking garage that said I couldn't bring in ANY outside food or drink even though I was staying at the hotel for the night. Just a note, drop off any food or drink with the front desk at the main hotel entrance first before parking in the garage. All in all, I would recommend to NOT stay or visit here until after this Covid crap is over and to never waste your money on a Stay Well room.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandria A, Guest Services / Front Office at MGM Grand Detroit
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Friendlytravel2015; We are frustrated and disappointed by your feedback, as we hold ourselves to the highest level of standards and sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your visit. Please rest assured, your concerns have been escalated to the appropriate leadership teams for further review and investigation. Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your experience with us. We want you to know we truly value your patronage and hope you consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience in the future.
Read more
emcdan1064 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
No issues, good property, Did not get a chance to gamble. I would stay there again. No Valet parking in the winter is a problem. But due to COVID it is understandable. Rooms are clean and in good condistion
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandria A, Guest Services / Front Office at MGM Grand Detroit
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear emcdan 1064; Thank you for staying at MGM Grand Detroit and sharing your positive review with us on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide a safe and enjoyable atmosphere for all and want to thank you for your trust and patience during these challenging times. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional gaming and hospitality experience soon!
Read more
deborahmcneill136 wrote a review Nov 2020
Warren, Michigan1 contribution
The stay was nice room was clean, however didnt eat very well not many choices due too Covid 19 for over 300 hundred dollars i was a little disappointed .The room was clean the couch was old and outdated ,the robes were itchy and only one pair of slippers .i give it a 5 out of 10 ,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandria A, Guest Services / Front Office at MGM Grand Detroit
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear deborahmcneill136; Thank you for choosing to celebrate your very special 25th anniversary with us! While we are happy to hear you had a positive stay; please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you endured due to limited food options. We appreciate all your feedback as it allows us to look into your concerns and ultimately make enhancements that will create a better experience for you in the future. If you have not heard yet - I am happy to report our new steakhouse, D.PRIME, is now open - offering a globally-inspired twist on steaks, seafood, and signature cocktails for an upscale experience designed with a downtown vibe! Please check out our website for updates on hours and availability. It is our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to having the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience soon.
Read more
Jessica W wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
First of all when we checked in the room smelled. The bellhop said it must be from the carpet not drying. The bellhop said it might be from the carpet not drying and it smells like mold!!!? The next morning when we were double checking our room we discovered a huge spider in our bed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MGM Resorts International
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandria A, Guest Services / Front Office at MGM Grand Detroit
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jessica W; Thank you for staying at MGM Grand Detroit and for letting us know about your experience. While we are appreciative of the high score you gave us for our outstanding service, please accept our apologies for the smell you described experiencing in your guestroom. Certainly, this is not indicative of the exceptional experience we strive to provide; as you can see from our numerous positive reviews, we hold ourselves to the highest of standards and take great pride keeping our beautiful facility exceptionally clean. In the future, please let hotel management know if you are unsatisfied with your assigned guestroom and our team would be happy to assist in resolving any issues. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our hotel management team for further review. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope for another opportunity to provide you an exceptional experience in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mgm grand detroit hotel detroit, mgm grand hotel detroit, detroit mgm grand hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
400
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MGM Grand Detroit
Which popular attractions are close to MGM Grand Detroit?
Nearby attractions include Detroit Rolling Pub (0.3 miles), The Michigan Pedaler (0.4 miles), and Trapped in a Room with a Zombie (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at MGM Grand Detroit?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at MGM Grand Detroit?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at MGM Grand Detroit?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MGM Grand Detroit?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MGM Grand Detroit?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dime Store, Wright & Company, and Mudgie's.
Is MGM Grand Detroit located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are any cleaning services offered at MGM Grand Detroit?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does MGM Grand Detroit offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MGM Grand Detroit?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to MGM Grand Detroit?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.5 miles), Motown Museum (2.6 miles), and Willistead Manor (2.6 miles).