We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
234 Winder St, Detroit, MI 48201-3109
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Vio.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)

About

#2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Detroit
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
4.1

Finding an ideal romantic bed and breakfast in Detroit does not have to be difficult. Welcome to 234 Winder St Inn, a nice option for travelers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Detroit, 234 Winder St Inn is located a short distance from Ford Field (0.3 mi) and Detroit-Windsor Tunnel (1.0 mi).

Rooms at 234 Winder St Inn provide air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at 234 Winder St Inn guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. You can also enjoy a snack bar. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at 234 Winder St Inn.

Detroit has plenty of Italian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Mario's Restaurant, Andiamo - Riverfront, and Pizza Papalis, which are serving up some great dishes.

Detroit is also home to Tuskegee Airmen National Museum, a popular military museum that is not too far from 234 Winder St Inn.

234 Winder St Inn looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Detroit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Billiards
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Internet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
23Reviews2Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gregg R wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Our room was spacious, and we had our own parking spot right in front of it. The inn's location is great; easy walking distance to downtown. Founders Brewing is close by. We felt safe. The owner, Mona, really aimed to please. Her breakfasts were delicious. Lots to do in Detroit; we're looking forward to returning. When we do, we'll stay at this wonderful inn.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tumbling D wrote a review Nov 2021
Dallas, Texas5 contributions
Mona, the Innkeeper is simply fantastic! She caters to your every need. The property is a beautiful 150 year old house that makes a beautiful B&B. It is secure, clean, and historic. Just fantastic! Walking to Ford Field is a little over 5 minutes away. Highly, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 2nd floor offers better views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mona Ross, Innkeeper at 234 Winder St Inn
Responded Nov 17, 2021
Thank you for the kind Words. Your business is turly appreciated. Guest like your self keep small business alive. We will continue to provide you and your family exceptional customer service. Mona
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jennystacey40 wrote a review Nov 2021
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan5 contributions3 helpful votes
Definitely far from what I expected for that kind of money. Will not recommend it to anyone. I asked for an ice bucket and received a Tupperware container full of ice. I said I refuse to text a photo of my credit cards… so she took a picture of them when I arrived and the texted them to me! So now photos of my credit cards are on her phone… no proof that they will be deleted. Room was poorly renovated. Breakfast was fruit ( given to me the night before because I had to leave at 7) and a muffin . Honestly… if I’d of paid half as much I’d still be unimpressed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mona Ross, Innkeeper at 234 Winder St Inn
Responded Nov 17, 2021
We are so sorry you were not happy with your stay in Detroit. All guest are required to provide ID and a charge card for incendentals,when they book through a third party booking agency upon arrival because we did not take your resveration. It is destroyed once the guest check out and no additional charges paid preview ect... Third party booking agencies charge booking fees that show up on your bill. This is how they make their money.. These are not our fees. We provide Ice in a secured container during these trying times for the safety of our guest. You stated you were checking out very early the next morning so I offered you a pre package whole fruit and Danish to go!. You stated you wanted it so I delivered it to your door and escorted you to your car as you were going to an event that evening to meet your husband. Im not sure what happen for you to write such a negative review?, but I'm so sorry you felt the way way you did. Please except my apologies .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W.T. Hill wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Had the pleasure of staying at 234 Winder St Inn during a business trip. This place is OUTSTANDING and a CLASS ACT for anyone who needs an excellent and finely designed B&B. Many thanks to Ms. Mona and her staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike K wrote a review Feb 2021
Detroit, Michigan, USA131 contributions135 helpful votes
We stayed at the studio apartment off the back of the house over Valentine's Day. Since it's Covid we were unable to see the rest of the house, which looked beautiful from the outside. Mona was very nice and her communication was great. She had the electric fire on as well as a bottle of champagne and a bucket of ice in the kitchen. We love old houses and tried to imagine what this back area was. The suite was laid out a little awkward with a trip to the bathroom from bed meaning a walk through the entire suite (not fun in the middle of the night). And there was no real mirror over the sink (the sink was located in its own large room). Detroit is experiencing a very cold February and unfortunately, the suite was pretty drafty, especially in the kitchen and bedroom with the cold coming from the back door. The bedroom did have its own electric fire and a nice big blanket. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was definitely the highlight. I don't know if the shrimp and grits and quiche were made in-house or not but they were both delicious with good coffee and fruit and pastries. We can have fun in a paper bag so we did have a nice time but I wish I knew about the $41 in "hotel surcharges" before making my reservation. I would have explored other options. We just stayed at the Element in the Metropolitan the week before and it was $244 including all taxes and "visitor fees".
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I'd try to get inside the main house and avoid the studio in back (at least during the winter).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mona Ross, Owner at 234 Winder St Inn
Responded Nov 15, 2021
Hi Mike : Thank you for being my guest. The Inn was built in 1872 so yes it is a little awkward but its unique and different than anything else around. You had the pleasure of staying in the Airbnb with private entrance private kitchen, living room with fireplace, sitting room and bedroom. if I would have designed the Quarters in 1972 it would have been made a bit different. Detroit is a little breezy in February and I'm sorry it was a bit chilly. Please forgive me. if I would have known I would just turn up the heat, As for the breakfast its from scratch. and the champagne was on the house. Please consider us again as you were a beautiful house guest and a pleasure to serve. Mona
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John B wrote a review Oct 2018
Geneva Indiana33 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We went to Detroit for The Eagles concert at Little Caesar's October 14th. Never encountered anyone named Mona. I can say that our hostess... MONICA... could not have been nicer. I was contacted by her TWICE before arriving to make sure we were on the same page. Parking was provided in the lot across the street from 234 at no additional charge. We walked the two blocks to the concert venue without incident. An amazingly comfortable bed and such beautiful decor... The breakfast was terrific. Would definitely consider staying there for any future downtown event. Monica was most knowledgeable about the history of the building. Our stay at 234 netted out at $382. Definitely NOT cheap. BUT, the location was superb and the attention Monica gave us was great. We had traveling companions staying at the B&B at 97 Winder Street who saved considerable money by staying there. Only $208 at 97. However, if we had stayed at 97 the parking fee would NOT have been included. The staff at 97 Winder Street was not as outgoing as Monica and the breakfast nowhere as satisfying. One last thing... After the Eagles show, Monica called me a THIRD time and we arranged to party at the large outdoor patio behind 234 facing Ford Field. She helped us build a fire in the fire pit. She said she would serve us until 2:00 AM if necessary AND she gladly accommodated our friends staying at 97 Winder Street! The hors-d'oeuvres were satisfactory. But, the carafe of her hot apple cider/Jack Daniels toddies were extra special on that chilly Autumn night! WELL DONE MONICA!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Was told the "penthouse" room on the top floor was very cool. A loft/cubby hole for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Juliafales wrote a review Sep 2018
Olivet, Michigan4 contributions2 helpful votes
We went to Detroit for a concert in Ford Field. We walked about three blocks to the concert venue. Felt completely safe. Our car was completely safe. The Inn provided the parking in the booking. The breakfast was delicious. Comfortable beds and beautiful decor. Looking forward to going back. The owner was wonderful to talk to about the history of the building. I hated to leave. Wished I could've stayed another day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jessica H wrote a review Aug 2018
Springfield, Ohio3 contributions4 helpful votes
In preparation of seeing a concert at Little Caesar's arena, I made credit card reservations 7 months in advance with Mona (the owner). 3 weeks before the event I called to confirm and Mona said she would call me back. She did not. I called again and Mona said we were "confirmed" then asked, "Did you reserve a parking space?" I said, "No, I didn't know I was supposed to." Mona replied, "Yes, we use the lot across the street- $20 per car per night". Their TripAdvisor site states that parking is free. The next day she called back and said, "I see your reservation, but I don't see where I charged your card- reservations aren't complete until we charge your card." (Hmmm, isn't that why I gave you the card 7 months ago- when I reserved the room?) She then said that she had another guest with the same name, didn't know if I had a room or not, and to give her yet another day to call me back. True to form, she did not call me back. After several more attempts, I was finally able to get her on the phone. She admitted she never ran my credit card and ended up selling the room to an online booking agency instead because they run the credit cards immediately! She said she double booked it and there was "nothing she could do" adding, "Honey, this is Detroit -THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME." As someone who has worked in customer service I know about "first come, first serve". Someone who takes the time to call and speak with the owner 7 months in advance might be a little more invested than somebody hastily clicking on Expedia, months later. Apparently the "personal touch" is not valued at this establishment. Ultimately, the owner is loyal to the money of the internet booking giants over regular clientele. Mona later offered us a room at a high rise hotel further away from the venue, with hors-d'oeuvres and drinks, and free parking at her hotel. Nice as it was, that was after a WEEK of phone tag and emails, and constantly worrying if we had a room or not. Now we found ourselves wondering, "What if she doesn't run the card again? Which hotel do we pay? Will she even bother to inform the other hotel?" As I considered her offer, her voice echoed in my head, "This happens all the time..." A big hotel was not the experience we had planned, and we budgeted for the B&B- we couldn't justify spending that money for a regular hotel. In the end, we decided that a 4 hour drive home after the concert would actually be easier than trying to work with Mona any longer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
smeetha p wrote a review Jun 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
truly greedy owner. while the woman at the desk was lovely and very caring, the actual owner of the property lacks customer service courtesy. the duvet is of the poorest quality and very scratchy material. the windows in the bedroom do not open and the air is stuffy. i would not recommend booking to stay here. I called 72 hours in Advance to request that I change my reservation to a shorter stay and I was informed on the phone this would not be a problem. when I arrived, Mona, the owner refused to honour the 72 hour policy and would not permit a refund. you will not have happy guests if you intend to deceive them - especially when I called to request a change of dates well within the window of alterations I was not informed that there would be no refund.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kvrancken wrote a review Oct 2017
Burlington, Vermont1 contribution
I was in Detroit to attend a convention and couldn't ask for a better experience. The Inn itself is beautiful and well-appointed. It is in a perfect location, just steps from everywhere you need to be downtown. Although it is downtown, it still feels and is very private and exclusive. It's a very special place and that is due in no small part to Mona and Monica, who are amazing hosts. Not only do they make sure your every need is met, they think of things you are not even anticipating. For instance, there was a delicious sandwich awaiting me in my room after a long day and I really needed that -- did not have the bandwidth nor motivation to go out and order food or go out to eat. If I am ever back in Detroit, this is where I will stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

234 WINDER ST INN - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Detroit, MI)

Frequently Asked Questions about 234 Winder St Inn
Which popular attractions are close to 234 Winder St Inn?
Nearby attractions include Comerica Park (0.3 miles), Fox Theatre (0.3 miles), and Ford Field (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at 234 Winder St Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at 234 Winder St Inn?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at 234 Winder St Inn?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 234 Winder St Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elwood Bar & Grill, Mike's Pizza Bar, and Kid Rock's Made in Detroit.
Is 234 Winder St Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are there any historical sites close to 234 Winder St Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.0 miles), Motown Museum (2.5 miles), and Willistead Manor (2.6 miles).