We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit

Hotel website
1331 Trumbull St., Detroit, MI 48216
Offers & Announcements
Renovation Specials!
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was great. We could walk to several nearby restaurants, and we walked downtown and to the riverfront in about twenty minutes. The room (and the bed) was clean and comfortable; the hotel has a fresh "industrial chic" decor and it is done very thoughtfully. The staff is noticeably friendly and helpful, and they seem to know the Corktown... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen354
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a nice refurbished hotel in the Corktown District. Plenty within walking distance to eat, drink, and listen to. Just head up to Michigan Ave. Room was pretty quiet with some "building noises," indeterminate HVAC or other mechanical sounds. This is something I noticed in another refurbished property--the Verb in Boston, though this place was much quieter. Bed -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived for a 2 night stay to find a power outage in the area. Staff were helpful and we checked in. Through no fault of the hotel, the outage lasted 16 hours! Following an uncomfortable night with no power, we went out for the day. On our return the power was back! The management waived the charge for one night... More 

Helpful?
Thank geemax
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived in Detroit for a two-day trip and chose the Trumbull hotel. The hotel is located in a quiet section of Detroit and has free parking. If you don't think free parking is a perk, just wait until you head downtown Detroit to sight see. Most parking is between $10-20 The hotel's exterior and interior were clean and tastefully... More 

Helpful?
Thank SolidadIndy
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello SolidadIndy, You have really given us five big reasons to smile! We appreciate you taking the time to leave such detailed feedback about our hotel and the service you received. However, the highest compliment that we can have is a repeat guest and we're so happy that you're planning to return. We also love the authentic Detroit look of... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We can't rave enough about how much we loved our experience here! As our first trip to Detroit, it was a great introduction to the spirit of the city. The renovations to the hotel were absolutely lovely, both the room and the lobby were decorated with such care and thought. The bed was comfy and the room was stocked full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello Steven, There is truly nothing better than reading a rave review like yours! We are so honored that you chose to stay with us for your inaugural visit to Detroit. It's wonderful to hear that you had a great time and we literally can't wait to have the chance to welcome you again! More 

Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beds were excellent. Decor is stylish - European inspired. Service was great. Coffee WAY better than expected. Renovation is still underway but this is a great place to stay. Don't be fooled by the exterior. Close to EXCELLENT restaurants. We liked it a lot.

Helpful?
Thank Slud
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello Slud, Your review has us smiling from ear to ear! We're so glad that you loved your stay with us; thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We hope that you'll be back to see us again soon – we'll be looking forward to welcoming you! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So I checked in around 9pm. The power has been gone since 3pm apparently. I keep getting good the power is coming after an hour every hour. And I can see everywhere around us has power. There's no hot water in the room though there is in the restrooms on the ground floor. After 36 hours of traveling I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rehan S
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello Rehan, We agree that hot water and power are simply necessities of life, especially after a long time on the road. We're so sorry that your stay with didn't us didn't provide the much-needed rest that you were looking for! As much as we are committed to providing an amazing experience for every guest, there are some things that... More 

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really liked this place. It's not a typical generic looking hotel room .... it has its own unique character with a great modern-urban look. The bed was super comfortable (the robe was a nice bonus too!) and the room was bright and welcoming. Good location too -- it's just outside of downtown but it's close enough to walk, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 7MileRiver
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello 7MileRiver, Your review really has us smiling; thanks so much for the kind words! We're so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time with us and we truly can't wait to welcome you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was very small with bare concrete floors. There was debris and garbage left in the room from the previous occupants, the air conditioner did not work, and when we tried to use the in room phone to call the front desk it didn't work We had to use our cell phone to call the main number to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindyray00
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello Cindyray00, We're so happy that you chose to stay with us for your concert getaway! The best thing you can hope for in your home away from home is a comfy bed to rest your head and it's so great to hear that you found exactly that during your stay. We're sorry that you didn't find the rest of... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there for work recently. I always like to try and find smaller, more interesting hotels when traveling and this renovation-in-progress didn't disappoint. Note that the planned restaurant is not open yet and only 2 of 4 floors are renovated but the look is simple, industrial-style design. In addition to a row of restaurants, bars and shops open on nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandJonny
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

NewEngland Jonny, Hello! We appreciate that you sought out a unique and local experience for your recent business trip, and we’re so happy that we fit the bill. We love our neighborhood and are very proud of all the great restaurants, bars, and shops that are just a few steps from our door. The fact that you like our décor... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#1 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 144-room Trumbull and Porter hotel Detroit has undergone a major renovation touching all aspects of the hotel including guest rooms, drinks and dining, fitness center and outdoor space. Guests enjoy supremely comfortable designer rooms with custom furniture built by Michigan artisans. The hotel features a spacious fitness center with an incredible city view, sundry shop and lobby bar. You won't find anything "run-of-the-mill" here. Trumbull and Porter is ideally located 30 minutes from Detroit Metropolitan Airport and less than a mile from the Michigan Central Depot. Nearby is Ford Field, Comerica Park, Greektown, Cobo Center, the Henry Ford Museum and Windsor, Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit

Address: 1331 Trumbull St., Detroit, MI 48216
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $97 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corktown Hotel Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay