We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trumbull and Porter Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (226)
Room & Suite (59)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 38 hotels in Detroit
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
The 143-room 3-Star Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit has just recently finished a major renovation touching all aspects of the hotel including guest rooms, drinks and dining, fitness center and outdoor space. Guests enjoy supremely comfortable designer rooms with custom furniture built by Michigan artisans and an impressive art collection featuring local artists. The hotel features a spacious fitness center with an incredible city view, sundry shop and lobby bar. You won't find anything "run-of-the-mill" here. . Enjoy events in the courtyard during warm months. Secure parking is available for a fee. Trumbull and Porter is ideally located 30 minutes from Detroit Metropolitan Airport and less than a mile from the Michigan Central Depot. Nearby is Ford Field, Comerica Park, Greektown, Cobo Center, the Henry Ford Museum and Windsor, Canada.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
439Reviews13Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 244
  • 94
  • 34
  • 36
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
CDubb21 wrote a review Jan 2024
Chicago, Illinois337 contributions158 helpful votes
We like to stay at boutique hotels and saw this one online so wanted to check it out. Lobby was nice, they had a “coffee shop” bar and restaurant. Restaurant had been closed since summer, “because the chef had died”…. No replacement? We came in January. This was not listed on website about it being closed. Bare bones staff, person checking us in was also seen in laundry room. Hallways were very cold. Arriving to our very small room, it was absolutely freezing. Check the thermostat and it was 48°!!!! Heat was off! Had to turn it up and leave the room bc it was too cold to sit in. Rooms very small and simple. Minimal space or room in there. None of the parking lot was plowed or sidewalks iced. Very dangerous, coming and going. Bar was open later on and good drink selection. Would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FKhan@ThePost wrote a review May 2023
Toronto, Canada22 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Under the leadership of Brian (the manager) this is a great group of people to spend time with. All my points of contact with the hotel staff was friendly, kind and filled with rapport. I found the room airy, fresh and with a strong A/C. There is a pantry with snacks and drinks. The coffee nook is open in the morning for coffee drinks and then the barista doubles as a bartender when the bar opens for the night. Hotel is about 20 min from the airport and is across from a park. Be aware even if the room and taxes are already paid for, there is a security deposit for US $150 that is required and is released upon checkout which is 11am. Bravo to Brian and the team! Thank you for hosting. C u next time :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trumbull GM, Owner at Trumbull and Porter Hotel
Responded May 9, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave detailed information in regards to your stay, our property, and most importantly your interactions with our staff and the level of service that you were provided! I am pleased to hear that overall you were happy with your entire stay while you were here. I would like you to know that It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the T&P and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you are in the area! Thank you again for your business, feedback, and for telling the rest of the travelers reading reviews that T&P is the place to be! Safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin H wrote a review Jan 2024
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada50 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel rooms are small but clean and well maintained with a retro feel. Lobby and coffee shop has cool vibe with some history of Detroit. Staff was just meh - on their phones, not warm or welcoming but got job done. $20 to park but thought parking was included. Mini fridge and safe but no microwave.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vivsmom wrote a review Sep 2023
Grand Rapids, Michigan137 contributions34 helpful votes
I really liked the concept for the hotel. It was clean and the front desk staff was very friendly. We paid $350 for a room with 1 queen bed it was not a $350 experience. The walls are thin and you can hear everything in the rooms around you (including the bathroom). The decor is simple and clean. There is a glass partition on 1/2 of the shower so the floor gets really wet. The parking is gated and felt safe. The location is a quick ride to the ball parks and arena. The price may have been due to the auto show, I’m not sure but I kind of felt a little ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Good, safe parking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Luis G wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I really don't understand all the bad reviews, I stayed at the hotel when it was the Corktown Inn and believe me the new owners did an amazing job remodeling the hotel! The view of the bridge to Canada is an amazing view. The courtyard is beautiful the rooms decor is simple but modern. Great night life and restaurants minutes away on Michigan Avenue, close to Hockey Town and Stadiums and Mexican Town. I love this place, I don't stay anywhere else, this is my place in Detroit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Taylor W wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
I checked into this property pretty late at night after a long day of traveling and I was not satisfied with the room. I walked in the room and saw the quality and Instantly walked out. The manager Wun was so rude I couldn’t believe it. She didn’t even try to fix the situation at all. I worked at a hotel for years I know how solve problems. I booked through a third party which I am well aware has restrictions but she didn’t even try to help. It’s midnight and I am uncomfortable at this property and all she was worried about was still charging me as if that money was coming out of her paycheck. It was truly disgusting. Then the third party I used called and she was yelling at them and hung up on them. I really hope you guys do something about this “manager” WUN because bad service will not get you far. The property itself isn’t bad but it was just not up to my standards.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: I would avoid checking in at night with WUN
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fadia P wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This hotel is a hidden gem. A refurbished motel decorated by local artist, full of personality and soul! The rooms are simple, clean and the bed was amazing! They kept original details from the old property like the light switches and bathroom tiles. The outdoor space is large, green and perfect for dogs! However, this may not be for everyone. If you are looking for a cookie cutter hotel Marriot-type experience, this is not the place for you. But if you appreciate the imperfection of art and culture, this is the place!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of outdoor parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
patrick h wrote a review Jun 2023
Jackson,MI, United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed the night with my daughter the night of the Taylor Swift concert. We were concerned about not having enough time to get ready after checking in but we arrived early and they had no problem checking us right in and couldn't have been nicer. Small room but we were only sleeping there and it was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. What a cool place with an industrial/vintage Michigan vibe. We definately would stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Massy W wrote a review Jun 2023
7 contributions
Ah I have no idea how they got the reviews on a blog that I read about this hotel (which is why I chose the hotel). They must have paid the blogger. The worst experience on this trip (5 weeks across Canada and US). All I can say is avoid this hotel. Bad location and bad service. The room that we had was a handicap room (not sure why they gave it to us as neither one of us is handicapped). I felt like we walked into a prison cell. No toilet paper. The bed was uncomfortable, the shower was horrible and my husband just skipped it. We could not wait to get out of there (next morning) and the staff could not care less.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Just avoid it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trumbull GM, Owner at Trumbull and Porter Hotel
Responded Jun 13, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback in regards to your stay while you were here along with a rating. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. After reviewing your reservation with your husband at check out it was discovered that you guys had booked the handicap room, I remember the day of your check in and was going to provide you with a complimentary upgrade but noticed that you booked a handicap room from the start so I left the accommodations as booked. I am terribly sorry that the accommodations were not what you were expecting and for the issues that you mentioned in your review. If you decide to come back to the area and want to give us another try please reach out to me in advance and I will make sure that you are well taken care of. If there is anything else that you would like to discuss please feel free to reach out to me directly at the property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CarlErickson wrote a review Jun 2023
31 contributions4 helpful votes
Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Minimal and modern. I appreciated the spare, functional surfaces and furniture. The public spaces, both inside and especially outside, were great for hanging out with friends. Easy walk to central business district.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trumbull GM, Owner at Trumbull and Porter Hotel
Responded Jun 12, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for leaving feedback for others to read! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and if there is anything that we can do for you in the future please feel free to let us know!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Detroit area.
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
corktown hotel detroit
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRUMBULL AND PORTER HOTEL $158 ($̶3̶7̶6̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Detroit, MI

Frequently Asked Questions about Trumbull and Porter Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Michigan Pedaler (0.3 miles), John K. King Books (0.4 miles), and Michigan Central Station (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ottava Via, Green Dot Stables, and Slows Bar BQ.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Trumbull and Porter Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are any cleaning services offered at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Trumbull and Porter Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Trumbull and Porter Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.