We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Detroit
Post
Inbox
Search

Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection

Save
1331 Trumbull St, Detroit, MI 48216-1376
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
3 people are viewing this hotel
CheapTickets
$118
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$118
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
$119
$107
View Deal
SAVE $12
Travelocity$118
Orbitz.com$118
Trip.com$119
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (192)
Room & Suite (89)
Videos (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 144-room Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit has undergone a major renovation touching all aspects of the hotel including guest rooms, drinks and dining, fitness center and outdoor space. Guests enjoy supremely comfortable designer rooms with custom furniture built by Michigan artisans and an impressive art collection featuring local artists. The hotel features a spacious fitness center with an incredible city view, sundry shop and lobby bar. You won't find anything "run-of-the-mill" here. Our onsite restaurant, Red Dunn Kitchen, serves critic-loving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is a sought-after party venue. Enjoy events in the courtyard during warm months. Secure parking is available for a fee. Trumbull and Porter is ideally located 30 minutes from Detroit Metropolitan Airport and less than a mile from the Michigan Central Depot. Nearby is Ford Field, Comerica Park, Greektown, Cobo Center, the Henry Ford Museum and Windsor, Canada.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Free wifi in the business center
Free wired internet in the business center
Internet
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Deal:Breakfast Included
358Reviews11Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 209
  • 85
  • 31
  • 22
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We purchased a certificate to enjoy 1 evening of "Wine & Dine" at Trumbull & Porter. This turned out to be a huge mistake and we left in the morning feeling very disappointed at the whole experience from reservations to checking out. - Phone reservations were routed to El Salvador and took over 45 minutes. - We were reassured that we could use the gift by 3 people and we were not at check out. Had to explain,plead & argue for 30 minutes -Spoke with the manager about the reservation and she said she was new and didn't know very much yet. She said she would look into it and call me back. Never called back... -Couldn't use the "Dine" portion of the gift because the kitchen was closed at 9:20, when the operating hours show 10:00 pm. Sat at the bar and watched the owner eat food for the next 45 minutes. -Very uncomfortable vibe from all employees who seemed challenged about how the new owner is running the Hotel.Many eye-rolls and no comment remarks. -At breakfast, our bill was calculated way wrong and we were the only 1 of 2 couples seated. -Not worth the price or headache, stay at Shinola or somewhere more professional. We normally don't like to complain but our much needed staycation turned out to be a huge let down.
Read more
Response from LauraMetze, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Hello nustart06, We too are extremely disappointed by your experience with us. We would like you to reach out to our manager Tak Kim at tkim@trumbullandporterhotel.com. Tak looks forward to correcting any unresolved issues in hopes you will return to enjoy the stay-cation you were looking forward to.
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Stayed here with a friend for a quick girls' weekend to Detroit. This hotel was everything! Super new, stylishly decorated (I recently redecorated my house, so I noticed a lot of special touches!) The coolest chairs, rugs, pillows, plants, etc. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Plus, everyone working here was just the nicest. Great food at the hotel, too. Walking distance to cool bars and restaurants on Michigan and a quick Uber or drive to more centrally located attractions. We were joking that every Uber was $8 or less, which - coming from New York City - was a dream. Another nice thing is that the front desk allowed us to tip housekeeping on the bill, which is EXTREMELY helpful these days when I hardly ever travel with cash, but didn't want to stiff the housekeeper. Would 100% stay here if I visited Detroit again and have already recommended to several friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Response from Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Mar 11, 2019
Hello Jessicabesack, We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful girls' weekend here and loved our hotel! Thank you for the amazing review and all your compliments. It's great to hear you thought your room was comfortable and had everything you need, and that our location offered you plenty of things to do nearby. If you come back for another fun time in Detroit, we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Stayed here for an extended period on business. The room is simple, clean, and has everything you need. The staff are friendly and accommodating including late check outs. Very cute area of Detroit with lots of local places to eat within walking distance. It was really nice staying in a hotel with a high quality bar and restaurant. The coffee bar was a little disappointing and rarely open. I liked that it wasn't directly down town- the area has a quieter and artsy feel. Nice view of the bridge in the background from the top floors at the back. The one con was the walls are very thin. The guests in the rooms next door were luckily fairly quiet while I was there; however, I could clearly hear full conversations or what they might be watching on TV
Read more
Response from LauraMetze, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct 17, 2019
Hello I1612, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. We too love our location. We are glad you had the time to enjoy our resturant and bar. We are sorry our coffee bar left a bit to be desired. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Detroit on business.
Read more
The room is comfortable but very small! The lobby and rooms are very hip and nice with the furnishing and the beds are comfortable. My biggest complaint is there the walls are VERY thin!!! My first room was on the third floor and I could hear and feel when someone was on the treadmill through the wall. My second room on the fourth room is the same room as on the third, but I can hear every conversation on either side of me, make sure you are careful of what you say in your room!!!
Read more
Response from LauraMetze, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Hello 24andrewi, We are sorry to hear your stay was not quite as enjoyable as anticipated. We appreciate you taking the time to point out the things you did enjoy about your stayl. We apologize for the noise and hope your next visit with us will be much quieter.
Read more
The room was lovely (king size bed). However, it was Impossible to sleep due to noises coming from the outside area which was located in the courtyard of the hotel right below our room. Big group of people standing and drinking while yelling around the fire pit outside and the room next door to ours, there was a couple that was super noisy which makes me think that the walls are really thin in addition to having two very annoying people next to us who were completely unaware or didn’t care that they were at a hotel. I have addressed these issues when I finally called the front desk at 2am when it became unbearable. The security was supposedly sent to address the issues. However, the noise persisted. It was unbearable and not worth in my opinion the $300 stay for one night no matter how cool looking the hotel was. When I was checking out, the front desk / guest service person did not ask me how the stay was which you usually get asked at a hotel (in my experience). That is the basic of customer service, to make sure your guests had a comfortable stay. I was just given a receipt and “you’re all set!” Not sure if she was aware about the complaint I made during the night or not. Would have been nice to ask, acknowledge and apologize and or offer a credit of some sort, or a bit of a discount even. Therefore I cannot recommend this hotel. Not really. It’s a hotel but felt like a hostel.
Read more
Response from LauraMetze, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct 6, 2019
Hello Zeldatravels, We are very sorry our other guests kept you from enjoying your stay with us. Our manager Gail Major would like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you. Please reach out to her at gmajor@trumbullandporterhotel.com.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
corktown hotel detroit
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Nearby attractions include The Michigan Pedaler (0.3 miles), Nemo's (0.3 miles), and Corktown Smoke Shop (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Detroit Institute of Bagels, Mudgie's, and Ottava Via.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are any cleaning services offered at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Trumbull and Porter - Detroit Downtown Ascend Hotel Collection offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.