We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront

Show Prices
#10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 604: English reviews
Narrows, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

No bellman at front door to handle luggage. Had to drive around the back to the valet entrance. 3 people in arrival lane; only 1 valet. Again, no bellman to handle leggage. I'm 78, wife is 73, we really like to have bellmen. Went to elevator; waited 3 minutes for arrival. Walk from elevator to check in was about 250... More 

Helpful?
Thank Metokos
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My firm reserved 7 rooms at this hotel September 23 and 24. We did so based on the trip advisor reviews. One of the rooms had BED BUGS. These were not small bed bugs. As you can see from the photos, they were large, very mature bugs. My staff member has been through a nightmare trying to deal with this... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovetotraavel
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in Sept 2016 as we were running a 5K race at Joe Louis Arena the next day. Got in around 11pm, and used valet parking (a great deal!). Lots of staff on hand to make check in a seamless experience that late. Room was on the 32nd floor, and had great view of Cobo Hall, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lissa777
AFDManager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear, lissa777 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ruthanne B. Front Office Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Upon checking in Willie, the Bellman was warm, welcoming and set the tone for a pleasant stay. Later that evening, a family member we were traveling with had a stomach ache, so I went downstairs to the lobby store to buy soda to settle their stomach. Needless to say, the store was closed and my only option was to leave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jakeschicago
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear Jakeschicago, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great service is something our staff takes excellent pride in, and we will be sure to pass the kind words you shared along to Willie. We look forward to serving you next time you are in... More 

Morley, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Crowne Plaza was a great choice for our brief stay in Detroit. The location(across from Cobo Hall) was perfect for us. We were impressed with the staff , starting with Marshall who greeted us at the door to the bartender who served our night cap at the Ponch, all were friendly and willing to help. We will certainly stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank judygarnett
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear judygarnett, We appreciate the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Chelsea P Front Office Supervisor More 

Onaway, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Small room - definitely an older building, but it has had nice renovations done to it. Tiny bathroom though! Great downtown location - we could see Cobo and the river from our window. They are currently doing construction on the street that leads to the parking, so you have to navigate orange barrels to get there (not the hotel's fault,... More 

Helpful?
Thank kymberliapril
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear kymberliapril, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come visit us again the next time you're downtown Detroit! Chelsea P Front Office Supervisor More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff was very friendly, very accommodating and incredibly helpful. The hotel itself was ok. It seemed a bit outdated and there were large scratches on the headboard, my sliding shower door wouldn't stay closed, and there was a stain on a lamp shade in my room. Unfortunately, the walls were very thin as well and I could clearly hear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Casey S
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear Casey S, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positive: The hotel staff were a delight from check in to check out. Our room had a great view over the Riverfront and was comfortable. The hotel is in a great location Downtown for getting around on foot. Negative: The bathroom was very small, and not as clean as I would like. Also the lifts were exceptionally slow, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madam_Zo_Zo
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear Madam_Zo_Zo, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come visit us again the next time you're downtown Detroit! Chelsea P Front Office Supervisor More 

Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is actually my third time staying at Crown Plaza Riverfront this time we were on the 23rd floor room 2320 With a wonderful view of a lot of interesting sights. It seems like each time I stay, I have the opportunity of receiving better service each time. I would like to thank Mr. Corey Stallings for his outstanding service... More 

Helpful?
Thank willielyte
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear willielyte, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great service is something our staff takes excellent pride in, and we will be sure to pass the kind words you shared along to Corey. We look forward to serving you next time you are in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was in Detroit for business this week and stayed at the Crowne Plaza. The location is great. The hotel is well-appointed. The room was nice. But the people made all of the difference. Everyone at the Crowne was so nice, especially Marshall. He went so far above and beyond to help me out. These days travel is so corporate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
AFDManager, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline M, We appreciate the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Chelsea P Front Office Supervisor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (186)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.8 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront

Address: 2 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-4421 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Detroit Convention Center)
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $147 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay