We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
See the most recent reviews
Showing 309: English reviews
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewed January 21, 2016

The first room we were given had a very strong smoke odor when we opened the door. They had a no smoking policy. apparently not enforced. The second room we tried had hair on the bed and on the floor between the beds. The TV reception was lousy and the remote would not change the channels. When we told them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim G
RobRivHotel, General Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very concerned to hear of your experience while at the hotel though we appreciate your comment regarding our very pleasant staff. Our refunds are actually processed and approved through our corporate offices however the OM may have delivered the rationale on behalf of the corporation. I would like to speak with you...

Reviewed January 13, 2016

Checking in was good. The hotel was under rents a bit but no one told me how to get to my room, seems simple but it was not.... in order to access the 2nd floor you had to go downtime hall on the 1st to the end and take a ramp then go in a door and up stairs or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel and your stay while visiting our property in Detroit. Since your stay, we have made sure to highlight the importance to our agents of providing more detailed instruction to room assignments located in the farthest wing of the building - a location that many guests prefer. Also, the...

Tennessee
Reviewed January 6, 2016

First off the hotel is in a nice location near the river, however, that's the only good thing about it. The hotel needs updating, the room wasn't horrible, but the bathroom was outdated, old wallpaper, an old phone on the wall the didn't work and very low water pressure. I had to flush three times!!! So we decided to check...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deva121162
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Let me start by saying the hotel was grossly misrepresented in the advertising. The road leading to the hotel is decaying with potholes similarly to the neglected building. The experience was horrid: - The room had cockroaches - The thermostat control did not work and the room was 90+ degrees - The whole penthouse floor smelled like marijuana - The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jay S
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. We are so very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would like to speak with you directly regarding the "cockroach" issue you mentioned. We take extermination and pest control very seriously at the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel as we maintain weekly in...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed December 10, 2015

5 Star Lobby and Location / Potential but deteriorating at a accelerating rate. I would forewarn any investors in this property to "beware" as it is Rapidly declining. My first visit...entered my room and grabbed the closet door handle to hang my clothes....the door handle had NO screws in it... I looked around for the Candid Camera as I stood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel and for taking the time to share both experiences at the hotel regarding your stay. I would like to extend myself personally to speak with you directly regarding your first and second stay experiences as well as learn how long ago you first stayed with us. Within the past year...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed November 30, 2015

I checked in late that Thursday (11/26/15) night and off the bat I was nervous driving towards the parking lot because I saw the sign that said "park at your own risk". I have NEVER been to an establishment that had such an off putting sign ESPECIALLY since you OFFER no other options for parking. Where else was I supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elehia
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you very kindly for taking the time to provide this review. Car vandalism is certainly invasive, intrusive and scary for anyone to encounter. Though we have a beautiful property as many of our guests and repeat customers will attest to, Detroit is still a city that is going through transition. We invested in this city because we believe in...

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

This hotel looks nothing like the pictures inside or out. The building on the outside looks like its falling apart, we pulled up and thought it was a jail. Staff was very rude and lied to us, said they didn't have wifi, then the next morning during check out another worker told us they do. The rooms had a very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jjeezy
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed November 29, 2015

With thanksgiving being the most traveled holiday of the year, this review comes with some restrain. My wife and I arrived just before midnight thanksgiving eve to be told that our room had been given away and nothing else was available. This came from an unconcerned young lady with visible tattoos. We eventually received a room and all was well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Airborne R
Peru
Reviewed November 21, 2015

We stayed one night at this incredible hotel and the front desk assistants were wonderful! The thermostat in the room was stuck on heat, but the room was clean, fresh and the staff was amazing! The location was beautiful and the view is right on the river. It was quiet and offered a restaurant right in the hotel. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

We are so very pleased that you took time to make such a glowing review about our hotel! Thank you for highlighting our outstanding and friendly staff, convenient and beautiful location and comfortable accommodations. Please contact me when you return as we love to take care of our repeat customers! Warm regards, Guest Services Mgr. Roberts Riverwalk Hotel

San Francisco, California
Reviewed November 17, 2015

This place was pleasant. The rooms were cleaned when we arrived but given that entire hotel was sold out we noticed that the room wasn't cleaned every day. It also took maintenance over a day to fix our bathroom. Hotel had free wi-fi and a restaurant. Front desk was helpful. Not bad for the price on an extremely busy weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
2.6 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
0.6 mi away
Detroit Regency Hotel
Detroit Regency Hotel
#18 of 33 in Detroit
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
#19 of 33 in Detroit
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Address: 1000 River Place Dr, Detroit, MI 48207-4243
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $108 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel And Residence Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“what looks good online isnt always as it appears”
doughboy6684, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The odd number rooms has the view of the river. You'll love the view!!”
FrugaliciousDiva, Feb 24, 2017 | Read review
“stay somewhere else where they actually keep a reservation!”
raz1691, Nov 11, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there!”
961kavitar, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Dont book this hotel”
82nancyo, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question