We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1400 Woodward Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2002
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$275
Hotels.com$275
Travelocity$275
Priceline$275
FindHotel$285
Trip.com$287
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (133)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (5)

About

#14 of 39 hotels in Detroit
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
The world’s first Shinola Hotel is Detroit’s new living room. Located in the heart of the city’s historic Woodward shopping district, this 129-room boutique hotel offers a completely original hospitality experience. Shinola Hotel’s accommodations are thoughtfully designed with varied layouts—featuring handcrafted mill-work, custom mattresses, and wallpaper inspired by patterns found during the renovation process. The property marries two restored buildings—the old T.B. Rayl & Co. sporting goods and hardware store and a former Singer sewing-machine store—with three brand new buildings modeled after downtown Detroit’s historic architecture. Indulge in a diverse array of culinary experiences at Shinola Hotel, featuring some of the best new restaurants in Detroit. Grab a classic cocktail in the Living Room or Evening Bar, taste the authentic Southern Italian dishes at San Morello, or try the brews and Detroit-style fried chicken at The Brakeman and Penny Red's.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Trendy
150Reviews8Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 23
  • 13
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa E wrote a review Yesterday
Edinburgh, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
My boyfriend had a conference to attend and was put up in the Shinola hotel for one night last week. I tagged along and what an absolutely amazing property this is!!! We stayed in Room 203 and it was SUPERB!!! It's an enormous room with every possible amenity you could ever dream of. I hated to leave. It's a truly spectacular property with incredible service, comfort and amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Room 203 was massive with great views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mark P wrote a review Nov 2021
Swampscott, Massachusetts2083 contributions538 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The Shinola has it all: Beautiful and stylish public spaces, nice rooms with plenty of outlets and a decent wifi signal, and nice bars and a fine restaurant. Service is quite good too. The location in the heart of Downtown Detroit is excellent. We return to Detroit 3 or 4 times per year, and the Shinola is our preferred hotel choice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark O'Brien, General Manager at The Shinola Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2022
MarkP, We appreciate the kind words and review. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! All my best, Mark O'Brien
Read more
cindy m wrote a review Aug 6
16 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is beautiful and the staff very helpful. We enjoyed our room, which was spacious and lovely. The hotel restaurant and bars were fun with great service and food. The Shinola is a wonderful addition to downtown Detroit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Edwin B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Stop looking at other potential hotels because this is the place! The location in downtown Detroit is great, close to everything. Beautiful property all the way around. I had a large and very comfortable room with tall ceilings and huge windows. The windows came in handy as the views of the city were great. Nice retractable blinds over the windows that are controlled from bedside. Everything is very artsy feeling and well-designed in both the rooms and in common areas of the hotel. The lobby is great for sitting and relaxing. This new hotel has done a fine job of creating modern comfort while retaining its historic character. I was in Detroit to enjoy art and architecture and felt like the hotel was part of that whole vibe. Also staff was super nice. I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GETAGRIPNYC wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York78 contributions102 helpful votes
The space can be amazing, the bed can be terrific, and the shower products can be your favorite, but if the service isn't on point -- that's all you really remember...And that is the case with this hotel. The room was spacious and well appointed, although it seemed a little worn and didn't feel fresh. There were conveniently located outlets for my gadgets and the TV allowed for easy Apple shareplay. The bathroom was large and the shower was great. The products are my favorite scent from Le Labo. That was nice. The bathrobes were also cool, they had a DETROIT logo on the back. Again, they were a little worn out. The public spaces are really nice and there are plenty of places to sit and chill. The restaurant on the other hand was closed when I checked in at 3PM and there was no food available on property. Side note, I have been to that restaurant on a prior visit to the hotel and recall the bad service. In fact, I remember that they comp'd our meals b/c the service was so bad. That was in 2019 and it seems it's still the same. In any case, I was hungry when I arrived and I asked the guy at the desk for food options in the area and he directed me to a place that was also closed. I wish he had known a little more about the area. I used one of the hotel bikes which were terrific (vintage Shinola branded cruisers). The bellmen were nice and accommodating when he got me the bike. The valet service was terrible. They couldn't handle the volume and it was a bit of a disaster on the street. They were equally as bad when I was trying to get the car upon departure. Shinola is a nice property all based on the aesthetic of the brand, so it's cool. Howver, that was overshadowed by the service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suecflemo wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions6 helpful votes
A luxurious hotel in the heart of an area with beautiful historic architecture and great places to eat and drink. We will definitely be back ! Interesting artwork in the lounge and a glamorous bar setting for a drink. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious room and bathroom. Luxurious linens and towels. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Per N wrote a review Jun 2022
Gothenburg, Sweden3316 contributions333 helpful votes
+1
The Shinola is so much more than a hotel actually. Fantastic bar, fast food joint, italian restaurant, shop... All beautifully decorated/concepts executed. Rooms are impeccable. Location is perfect in Down Town Detroit. Can't fault it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
VACNUT wrote a review Jun 2022
Greenville, Michigan138 contributions46 helpful votes
The Shinola Hotel was exceptional from booking through the end of our stay. We booked 2 rooms for our daughters wedding, the Alcove and Den King. Both rooms were perfect for our needs. The Alcove was a great room for the girls to hang out and perfect for pictures with the gorgeous windows. The staff was excellent, reservation/sales was able to answer any questions we had, and the front desk was very friendly and helpful when we needed recommendations on a place to order food ahead of time for the pre wedding activities. Once we arrived the welcoming and friendly service continued, the valets, bell, and checkin staff greeted us with smiles and quickly had us in our rooms. An additional thanks goes to the Valets, they made our coming and going several times an stressless experience. Staying at the Shinola added to our wonderful wedding weekend. ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Evenings are crazy with traffic and people coming and going, try checking in soon as allowed. The...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Giles1234 wrote a review Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado41 contributions48 helpful votes
I had a very comfortable stay and I didn’t have any complaints but some of my group complained to me that the front desk staff were rude or unnecessarily abrupt with them so I have got to knock a star off for that. I would think twice before booking again if my group are not being treated equally to the person paying the bill.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark O'Brien, General Manager at The Shinola Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2022
We appreciate you feedback Gile1234. This is not the standard we hold ourselves to and please accept our apologies. We would love the opportunity to have you back.
Read more
IA_Hawks wrote a review May 2022
Iowa2288 contributions316 helpful votes
+1
We were very excited to be staying at the Shinola Hotel and the people and property did not disappoint. Great valet service, check-in was pleasant, fantastic casual lobby, our room was very nice, well outfitted fitness room, staff friendliness and within walking distance of anything downtown. With everything we did like there were two issues to mention. 1. There is no on/off for the bathroom fan so if you don't want to hear that noise all night, you have to close the bathroom door. 2. The much bigger issue, was the amount of noise from motorcyles revving their engines, 4-wheelers and dirtbikes apparently racing up and down Woodward Avenue and cars showing off how loud their stereos could be, was basically non stop from 10 PM - 3:30 AM. Our room looked out onto Grand River Avenue, but the noise from Woodward was very prevalent. Due to the annoying noise, I will only rate this property average.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark O'Brien, General Manager at The Shinola Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Thank you for the feedback IA_Hawks, we appreciate it. Please contact us for your next stay, we will ensure you have a quiet room.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$302 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Shinola Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Shinola Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Trapped in a Room with a Zombie (0.3 miles), Campus Martius Park (0.2 miles), and Comerica Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shinola Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Shinola Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shinola Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shinola Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dime Store, Wright & Company, and Lafayette Coney Island.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Shinola Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Shinola Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Detroit.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Shinola Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Shinola Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Shinola Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Shinola Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Ford Piquette Avenue Plant (2.5 miles), Motown Museum (2.9 miles), and Willistead Manor (2.2 miles).