We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,077 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,052: English reviews
Pembroke, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We traveled from NH and booked three nights in this hotel as part of our Red Sox mother/daughter road trip. The front desk staff were VERY accommodating. The free shuttle is a BIG plus, just beware you may have to wait a bit so if you are traveling to a game take that into consideration. Also shuttle drivers deserve a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clarabellenh
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel last year, had no problems, this year different story. As a Hilton Gold member you expect a different standard, like mention of your name and status, a welcome package, etc. What we received was nothing I listed, I had to ask for the cookie. Went to our room, settled in , opened the sofa bed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I am sorry, for the issues you had. We no longer say our valued guests name out loud for security reasons. There should have been a warm cookie for each member in your party. I assure you, that I will follow up with our housekeeping team, as this is not the experience we wish for any guest. I will also... More 

Boston MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

First time staying here but I'll be back. Flooding had taken down the computer system when I checked in but the staff handled everything beautifully.... Tough to do given how automated hotels are these days. The highlight was the friendly, helpful staff: front desk, housekeeping, breakfast restaurant, bar and even shoeshine. My only complaint was that I don't like the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrK
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the understanding while our systems were down. I am sorry, that there was a delay with the car when needed. We do offer each valued guest the option of calling down for their car or texting. Again, thank you for being our guest and for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming your... More 

Valdosta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only stayed one night, room was very spacious and comfortable. Check in computer system was down due to flooding from weather earlier in the day, but the staff made checking in quick and easy. Excellent location for catching any of the Pro sports team games.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Please know it was our pleasure to be of service. I am sorry, that they systems were down. Thank you for being understanding. We look forward to your return More 

Macomb, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel overall was wonderful. The rooms are huge! Our room was very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning seemed to not go as low as 70 degrees. It wasn't stuffy but wish it could be colder. My only complaint about my stay isn't really the hotel's fault, but their valet company lost my car key and we were forced to... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the issue you experienced with Valet. Please know, that steps have been taken to make sure that does not happen again. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and in the city. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay here every time we come in town for concerts and what not. Every time we stay there the staff goes above and beyond for us. The Round Bar is also a great hang out spot, the bartenders are nice and the drinks are very reasonable!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Autumn R
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I want to thank you for always trusting us with your time away from home. I hope you had a blast at the concert! We will see you the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Roswell, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In town for a family wedding. Lot's of opportunity for staff to impress my family and I. Unfortunately, disinterest or rudeness prevailed on more than one occasion. Front desk did not have a pair of scissors to share and denied my request for a one hour check out extension despite my Gold status with Hilton. During peak reception time, bar... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shawn F M
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am sorry, that you did not find your time with us amazing. We are always happy to offer a late check out based on availability. I am sorry, that all had been exhausted when you requested one. Know that you are valued as a... More 

Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was a great selection by our Family Reunion Committee. This is an historic hotel that has been updated and it is a great choice by our Reunion Committee. The room I stayed in was a two room suite which is ideal for this type of trip and stay.

Helpful?
Thank Jimmie L D
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that you also had a great time with your family and caught up! We are so happy that we could host your event. We look forward to welcoming your return. More 

Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So - a hard review this time because there were some issues with this stay but they were resolved quickly and appropriately by the people who staff the front desk. Overall this is another solid Doubletree Hotel (look at my previous reviews to know I am a fan) but the most important thing is that the staff are empowered to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am sorry, that you had an issue while in our care, but pleased to see that it was addressed right away. We always want each guest to know that they are valued and we truly thank them/you for choosing to trust your time away from home with us.... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was very clean nice big lobby. Check in was easy and quick. Staff was friendly. We stayed 2 nights. We usually do have the room cleaned if we are there only 2 nights. But we did need more coffee for the next day we called down and had more brought up. The room itself was very clean and updated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny M
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#1 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $135 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay