We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,080: English reviews
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel, within walking distance of most great Detroit sites. Hotel was clean staff was friendly. Breakfast cafe served Starbucks and had limited items but it serves it's purpose. Bar on main floor, great atmosphere. Great city.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank V7881WKmichaell
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you or trusting us with your time in the city. It was our pleasure to be of service. I am also glad to see you enjoyed Detroit. We will look forward to your return. More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for the Tour De Troit bike ride. The location was perfect, we could walk/ride to Rosevelt Park where the ride started and ended. Extremely clean, safe beautiful hotel and city. I was very pleasantly surprised with how nice this hotel was, the lobby and the room. The cleanliness was great. It really made the weekend for... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I hope you had a great time on the tour. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Please know that it was our pleasure to be of service. More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel to stay in when in Detroit, MI. You get everything you pay for. The staff and service are excellent and you get a great cookie when you check-in. The hotel is downtown and close to many activities, depending on what you are looking for. You are close to Canada by tunnel or bridge. Belle Isle... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. Please know that it was our pleasure to be of service. We look forward to welcoming your return with a warm cookie. More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I take no pleasure in this review because a) I don’t like to complain and b) I rather promote the excellence in people and places not the bad. Note:this bad review is about the experience, not that they could not check me in early. It all started when I arrived 3 hours early for check in and waited patiently in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jupiterman3000
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am very sorry for the delay in your check in progress. The delay was caused due to the type of suite you had reserved. That is why some other guests were checked in before you. I am sorry, that you decided to cut your stay... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rooms are huge. I was in room 301 with 2 beds and I couldn't complain. Only thing was that there was a parking garage siren that went off starting at 9:00am but that didn't bother me. Also, the air-conditioning unit went into "GoGreen" mode which made the room a little musty. Overall amazing stay!

Helpful?
Thank Austin L
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us. I am sorry, for the noise from the building next door. I will also check the suite you stayed in as the Go Green should not cause any smell. Thank you for sharing your feedback with me. We look forward to your return. More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good service and ask for Larry at front. Great location and in middle of downtown. You're able to get around via uber or rail and in the middle of great restaurants including corktown and city center. Clean and friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank WeddingKA
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to be of service. We look forward to your return. More 

Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went for jazz festival which occurs every year around Labor Day weekend. My stay at the hotel excellent. The staff was very courteous and helpful with what to do and places to see. The hotel was only .6 miles from the event which you could walk to or ride the hotel cookie van shuttle. The hotel was very clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ola L
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We were pleased to be of service and look forward to your return. More 

Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel was awesome! My brother and I took an Uber from the airport and stopped briefly at the hotel to check in before getting back in our Uber to go to the last tour of the day at the Motown Museum. We were in a hurry so after checking us in and giving us a warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time in our care and the city of Detroit. Know that it was our pleasure to be of service. We look forward to welcoming your return. We will have a warm cookie waiting. More 

Nasvhille, TN, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, the area where this hotel is located is not worth the price. There are abandoned buildings and a poor view of downtown Detroit. There is no available parking nearby, so you are forced to pay for valet parking. The hotel says you can park in the available lot next door, but at night, there was not a... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Orville P
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. I am very sorry, that there was an issue with your package. We take extreme care with any package and I am sorry, for the delay in getting it to you. As for our parking, at this time we do only... More 

up of mi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hair in sink, footprint on sheet, phone was in need of cleaning. I should probably have said something but I didn't want to be a problem as it was my first business trip alone and I was not comfortable with saying something. Normally I would

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank tearfilled
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that you found issues with your suite. This is not the experience we wish for any guest. I hope that our hotel can be of service the next time you are in Detroit. So that you may see the level of service and the produce we wish to deliver to our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $134 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay