We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baraga Lakeside Inn

Booking.com$89*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Baraga Lakeside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Baraga Lakeside Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Again, relying on Trip Advisor to help me make a good choice of a hotel, we chose the Baraga Lakeside Inn. We got a third floor room that faced Lake Superior and a nice king size bed. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. There is a restaurant right in the lodge and the food was great, served by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie J
Davisburg, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed here with my husband on a trip to Houghton to celebrate my Brother in Law's graduation from Michigan Tech. We loved the size of the room and the amenities. Everything was clean and not as old or stale looking as most lodging in the UP. We loved the pool and sauna and the view of the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krysten M
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you very satisfied with the room and surroundings. We are sorry that you were distrubed by the early morning noises. I wish this could be a easy fix but I am still going to pass this information on to our owners and maintenance to see if they may have a...

Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were passing through the area and decided to stay here because it was on Lake superior. It was very affordable and we upgrade to get a Lakeview however when we got in our room what we saw was the air-conditioning unit to the restaurant. It really took away from the scenery behind it. Being off-season, you think that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiceWP
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that the view was not as pleasant as you had hoped for. I wish the desk associate would have been aware of the disappointment to help correct this for you to make your stay more enjoyable. When traveling in our area again, we hope that we will be able to have...

Waukesha, United States
Reviewed February 25, 2017

I stayed here for a a work trip. This is a very clean, friendly, staff nice pool & hot tub. It was very nice that they had a restaurant in the hotel with a very beautiful view. I would absolutely come back here for business or pleasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley Z
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to make each and everyones stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Manistique, Michigan
Reviewed February 17, 2017

We had an exceptional stay- quiet cleans rooms and outstanding accommodations. This hotel went above and beyond and we so appreciated that. We were allowed late check out and use of meeting rooms when we had to stay in town for a late game during districts. We felt comfortable allowing our kids to go through the hallways to the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank upvet
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for thinking of us for your home away from home while in the area for hockey. I am happy that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again.

Herradura, Costa Rica
Reviewed February 14, 2017

We stayed here recently during a hockey tournament. This hotel went above and beyond to accommodate us. When I made the reservations, all they had left were rooms with one bed, so I took one and she told me that she would switch it to a room with two queens if one came available. A couple days after my initial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taybos
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

I was at the lakeside inn for a week for work. I didn't have much expectations for 70 bucks a night but I was surprised at how nice it was. Good scenery right on the bay and a decent bar with really good pizza! Definitely would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hoffma24
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the beautiful view that we have to offer each and everyday of the year no matter what the weather is like. We hope that you will come back and see us again.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Local told me to stay here, first time very nice place. Room was large with sofa and desk for business needs, very clean Was impressed by all. They have a cafe and bar as well, but we're leaving early and it opens at 7 for breakfast. Priced right will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Partsman123
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that we met your needs and we hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Holidays,

Michigan
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We had the king with balcony room. There are only two of these rooms. The room is large and clean. The balcony is quite small, but enough space to put one chair out there and just enjoy the view. Another bonus of this room is the sliding door, watch the unbelievable sunrise from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank engaged-in-Mich
Michigan
Reviewed October 11, 2016

We were in the Keweenaw area for a fall color tour. Hotels in the Houghton area were in high demand and at a high cost for this past weekend. The Baraga Lakeside in was just a short distance to travel but reasonably priced, comfortable and CLEAN. We had a room facing the highway on the second floor. Didn't notice the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndgeCroz
Sue B, General Manager at Baraga Lakeside Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy that you decided to stay with us while touring the Upper Peninsula. I am very fortunate to have dedicated employees that work hard at making our property a pleasant experience for all. We hope that you will come back soon and maybe enjoy the next season that is in store for us. Again thank you. It...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraga
23.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
24.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
24.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
3.4 mi away
Carla's Inn
Carla's Inn
#3 of 4 in Baraga
20 reviews
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 68 room property is located on the shore of Lake Superior's Keweenaw Bay. All rooms have either a King or Double Queen beds with all the amenities for you to enjoy. During your stay you will enjoy waking up to the most amazing sunrises over the lake. You will continue to enjoy the view with Breakfast in our dining room or when weather permits sitting on a swing out on our lawn with a cup of coffee. Our property is located on US Hwy 41 so you can travel with ease to the North, South, East or West to visit all the wonderful sites of Northern Upper Peninsula. While you in the area you will be able to visit waterfalls, lighthouses and hiking trails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baraga Lakeside Inn

Address: 900 US 41 South, PO Box 873, Baraga, MI 49908
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Baraga
Price Range: $97 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baraga Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baraga Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baraga
Baraga Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Baraga Lakeside Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Baraga Lakeside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you want a view, ask for a room that overlooks the lake. All the rooms on the front side of the building just look at a highway.”
krystenc2013, 1 week ago | Read review
“They all seemed nice.”
upvet, Feb 17, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the lake”
K8087SXmichelec, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“very quiet rooms did not hear other people next door”
greatwhitehunter2016, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Lakeside view is worth the $10 upcharge”
RogerDetroit, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$89* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$89
Priceline$89
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates