We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vidasoul Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (305)
Pool & Beach (44)
Dining (40)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 small hotel in Boca de la Vinorama
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
VIDASOUL is a 16-room boutique hotel located in the oasis village of Boca de la Vinorama, B.C.S., Mexico on the East Cape. We are a forward thinking design hotel and an icon for change in the Baja resort community. People looking for inspiration, intimacy, freedom or adventure seem to find their way here. We just have one request. Come as you are. We designed this experience to meet the needs of soulful people who need to recharge or reconnect. Are you one of them? Our property offers a restaurant, bar, hotel, pool area with bar, very quiet secluded beach next to World Class surf break Punta Perfecta. Just 3 miles North of 9 Palms and 30 minutes South of world class diving and snorkelling in Cabo Pulmo and Los Arbolitos..Equipment rentals available, surf boards, SUP's kayaks, boogie boards.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Photo copier / fax In business center
Massage
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

1000 Camino Cabo Este, Boca de la Vinorama 23440 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Vidasoul Hotel
197Reviews13Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 133
  • 27
  • 21
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Francesco R wrote a review Feb 2024
Paris, France32 contributions11 helpful votes
First, the good things. The location is nothing short of phenomenal for anybody in search of peace, quiet, calm, and solitude, offering a magnificient twist on the Cabos holiday experience. From the terrace or the beach, just off the Eastern Cabo dirt road, you generally spot more whales blowing out their air or jumping above the water than you see people around you. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are good, everything is silent in the desert surrounding the hotel apart from the waves breaking on the shore, making for restful nights. It's an hour to San José del Cabo (decide for yourself whether that's good or bad), a bit less to Cabo Pulmo, and all of it is driveable in a standard car, a 4X4 is not required. I wouldn't venture on that road in heavy rain nor in the dark of the night, but that's just about the only drawbacks I can think of, in terms of mobility. Then, the less good things. We got there late-afternoon. There were rusty free weights and a couple of benches littering one side of the entrance to the reception area; there were broken appliances and various semi-abandoned building materials on the othe side. But, interestingly, no receptionist. We went around the whole place, greeted a couple of employees (we guessed) at the bar, didn't get any wiser about getting our room, and so returned and got one of them to come to reception and check us in - or so we think as the guy couldn't find our booking, didn't ask for a credit card nor any ID, said he'd figure it out later, took us to a room and left us to ourselves for the next 3 days. The check-out would be similarly "touchless", except I decided not to disturb anybody and I just hung the room key back on the board, with all the others. So, in terms of service, and attention from staff, well, it was literally absent. The original plan for the resort was grand and beautiful, as can be seen on the images at reception (why they leave those there, no idea, but then again, there's also photos of someone's babies, so hey, why not). The hotel was built modern, swanky, beautiful but probably about a quarter of the size it was meant to be, and that includes the available services and common areas. It is unfortunately testament to the overall project not going according to plans; this is now a decaying hotel, with every rusty metal bit cracking the concrete that makes up most of the architecture of the complex. It's still holding but, short of a major overhaul that was not happening when we were there, there's little hope to save the place. Accessorily, the vast glass panes fronting most sides of the building need a regular clean to retain their splendor, and that doesn't seem to happen neither. The pool area is OK but the pool itself is useless. Its shape and size prevent any kind of swimming or playing, and the swim-up bar that's in the middle having obviously been decommissionned some time ago, it can't be used for drinking neither. The beach is desert and beautiful, but also mostly unswimmable because of waves and currents. I didn't spot any opportunity to borrow/rent some of the water sport equipment they say they offer, nor to discuss the various available excursion options. So best to come prepared and having made your own plans, as you'll find nothing like a concierge desk here. We fell in love with the area, found the calm and quiet we had been hoping for, and we had made our own plans, so all was not lost. It is however disappointing to experience such a disconnect between the marketing material shown on the website and reality, to see a place with such potential not being properly cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Mar 1, 2024
Thanks for your review. we are a small family operated hotel. We are off-grid and all our focus is to keeping the power running with our $300,000 solar system. The time is not right to build out those condos. The pool has a bar in the middle which is in use when we are busier . Although I appreciate all of this incite, it used to be that people would write us and tell us. We have been in a big transition. We took down shade and replaced it but people posted pictures of it in the dissasembled state. We can't do anything over there out of th public view and nothing moves fast over there. We are closer to the beach than most hotels and get a lot more sand blowing around as we aren't surrounded by concrete like big hotels that are way back from the beach. I guess with reviews like this there is no way of saving the place if nobody will come there after reading this, The people that love the place overlook the flaws. It's an enormous amount of work, way more than you can fathom with all of our employees having to live there. We are working very hard on areas that maybe people can't see in between cleaning 50 solar panels every week. I can't say enough I'm sorries.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lswDosma wrote a review Feb 2024
Mount Vernon, Washington93 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
We had a wonderful few days at VidaSoul. It was perfect for us - quiet, comfortable, with amazing views right on the beach. However this hotel may not be for everyone. We’ve stayed in a wide range of places in Latin America, from $10 a night shacks on the beach in Oaxaca to 5 star all inclusive resorts in Cabo. I would say VidaSoul lands in the middle. Nice rooms, beautiful views, mediocre pool, wonderful food, but a little worn around the edges. It takes about 45 minutes on a bumpy dirt road to get here. Make sure you have the directions printed or downloaded on your phone as you’ll lose service about 5 miles outside of Cabo. The drive is really not bad (we had a small SUV, maybe it’s worse in a car) and the views once you get to the ocean are amazing. The hotel sits on its own right on the beach. There is nothing else nearby (no town, stores, etc), just houses. Definitely “getting away from it all”. The oceanfront suite is huge and definitely worth the price with sweeping ocean views and a sweet little balcony. The rooms are simple, modern, with eclectic (fairly sexual) artwork. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hot water in the shower can be finicky and we lost water for a little while, but it was fixed quickly by the attentive staff. Warning - the rainfall shower into the tall tub gets water all over the floor. The food at the restaurant was wonderful! Especially when Dante was cooking. The restaurant serves breakfast (not included, despite what the website says), lunch, and dinner. Breakfast was about $30 for 2 and dinner entrees between $20-30 so with drinks plan to spend $75-100 for dinner for 2. It’s a good idea to bring some snacks as there is nothing nearby this hotel. The restaurant is just a few plastic chairs and tables outside with sweeping views of the ocean. Inside it feels a little tired and could use a good cleaning. The pool is small and the area around it has seen better days - mismatched plastic or wood lounge chairs with worn cushions, astroturf around the pool, a barbed wire fence to keep out the cows, no trees or plants around (you are in the desert after all where water is a commodity). The sails for shade overhead were nice to have. There is no bar or service at the pool, but you are steps from the restaurant to enjoy their delicious 2 for 1 Happy Hour margaritas! The ocean by the hotel was not swimmable when we were there. They no longer rent paddle boards and there might be a kayak but no one was sure if it worked, so some of the amenities listed on the website no longer exist. But we saw dozens of whales every day, which was amazing. We took long walks on the miles of beach around, usually not seeing another person. Just beautiful. Highly recommend heading north for an hour to Cabo Pulmo for snorkeling. Other than that we spent our whole time just relaxing at this quiet, comfortable oceanfront hotel. If that’s what you’re looking for, VidaSoul could be the answer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Oceanfront suites are worth the extra $
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2024
Thanks for your review and your visit. The hotel is in a very corrosive environment and we are replacing things all the time. We are working on the pool area. Installing new shade as we speak. there are few materials that can handle that abuse so we are in a big transition on th lounges. The pool area is a big focus for us right now.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gregory S wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
Great location with a beautiful large window views of the ocean. The food was fantastic, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. My wife and I enjoyed walks in the beach and gorgeous sunsets. I know it can get busy, but when we were there, we had it mostly to ourselves, which was very relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Oct 12, 2023
Nothing makes us happier than a happy guest. I’m glad you enjoyed your walks and the sunsets. Our staff is wonderful and hardworking and dedicated to your experience being enjoyable
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
juliette c wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
+1
My husband and I spent our honeymoon at VidaSoul, and we will be back! The location is remote and beautiful-none of the touristy crowds you would find in Cabo. You will travel on a poorly maintained dirt road for apx 45-60 mins from the airport. However, there are several signs for VidaSoul which is reassuring. The staff is kind and accommodating, and the food is delicious! Know there is little to no water pressure, so be prepared to take bird baths and if staying on the second floor be prepared to walk up an incredibly rusty outdoor staircase which is a bit sketchy. All this said we loved hearing the ocean roar all nite, watching the wild horses and enjoying the peaceful relaxation offered by VidaSoul. It may not be your cup of tea, but it was ours and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: An SUV isn’t necessary but recommended.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alli wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions
We stayed at Vida Soul in Nov 2022 and loved it so much, we booked again for our next stay in the same area in Jan 2023, and it was even better the second time. On our first visit we stayed in the lower suite, and during the second visit, we stayed in the upstairs suite. Both have breathtaking views, wonderful beds, and artistic touches. The entire place is clean and provides so many ways to relax and just enjoy. The owner (Joan) is great. And, the staff are all so friendly and helpful, but we had particularly great experiences chatting with Juan, Aristides (aka Pauli), and Marco. The restaurant had such a great variety of fresh and local options, but also pasta dishes. One evening we even got to experience some local live music while sipping and tasting, all with the waves crashing on the shore that is just steps away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Mar 26, 2023
Thank you for your visit and your wonderful review. Thanks for your return visit. We have a great staff now, best ever.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WorldTraveler02108 wrote a review Feb 2023
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions2 helpful votes
Let's start with the bottom line. I understand surfers often stay here for weeks, and it's probably pretty good for that. But a fine resort, no way, it can't compete with even the worst of the Los Cabos resorts. The good--a great drive in on a long, bumpy unpaved road tells you that you're away from the Cabo crowds and on the East Cape. Ideally, you'll have an SUV or equivalent, and you'll stop at the wonderful Zai Sushi restaurant on the way in, and perhaps stop at one of the beautiful, unspoiled beaches. Once you get to Vidasoul, you'll find a helpful staff, very comfortable beds, and a pretty decent restaurant for a remote location. The hotel is to be commended for its solar panels and other earth-friendly features. You'll also find a spa that is disgustingly dirty, and inadequate fitness center that is equally dirty, and dated decor badly in need of maintenance. The windowshades are tattered, there are stray electrical wires running everywhere, paint that is peeling, and a rickety iron staircase to the second floor with a handrail that feels like it is going to give way. And don't even think of swimming in the pool. And don't expect unspoiled East Cape beauty. Yes, there are great ocean views, but the landscaping is abysmal and the property is hemmed in by rusted wire post fences. I understand they may need the fences to keep farm animals out, but who wants a fence view when you can get the views the East Cape is famous for in, for instance, nearby Cabo Pulmo. I feel sorry for the owners, since I think they're too capital constrained to give this place the update it needs. So fine to stay here if this is what you want, but the simple beauty of a remote hotel that I was expecting is nowhere to be found at Vidasoul.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Mar 26, 2023
I apologize for your discomfort at our resort. This is a very unusual review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cindyscj wrote a review Dec 2022
21 contributions3 helpful votes
The location of VidaSoul is hard to beat. My friends and I went there for dinner and music last weekend. The food was great- the location unbelievable; and the live music was also wonderful. Had a wonderful time and great dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Dec 17, 2022
Thank you for your visit and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed the music.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marc A wrote a review Nov 2022
Pacifica, California1 contribution3 helpful votes
We went to Vidasoul to celebrate my friends birthday and being there and in their care was a gift to everyone including the birthday girl. From the minute we arrived we were in their care. The staff was helpful, friendly and just down right awesome. After we all got settled we dined al fresco as the sun set and day became night. Everyone's meals were awesome, but the Tequila Shrimp were a real highlight. That evening after dinner the ad a bonfire for us next to the ocean. We all watched the stars and enjoyed each others company. The rest of our trip was equally awesome between lounging at the pool, taking long walks on the beach, enjoying their freshly made mezcalitas & palomas and watching the horses run on the beach. It was incredibly relaxing and perfect. All that was left was to sing Happy Birthday to the birthday girl and enjoy the awesome cake they sourced for us. We could not have been more pleased with our time there and we will be back, soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The suites looking out towrds the ocean are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Nov 3, 2022
Reviews like this bring tears to my eyes. We work so hard to provide The best service possible in a location which is far from easy to do so. Thank you for bringing your really great group because you to were awesome. The cool thing about us is we are just big enough for a group that size that its affordable to have all to yourselves.The "come as you are". hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah B wrote a review Sep 2022
Bend, Oregon17 contributions5 helpful votes
We stopped for a couple of drinks while we were traveling through to see the country side. My husband ordered a Margherita and I ordered a beer. We sat drinking them and the waiter brought a bowl of guacamole and salsa on a plate of chips. We decided that we were hungry so asked to see the menu. We were told that they did not have one but waiter suggested tacos. We had one order of shrimp and one of beef. 3 small tortillas each with a small amount of meat. A very tiny amount of beans and rice on the side. I asked for a water and he came out with a glass and poured from a pitcher. I assumed that it was bottled water but I don't think that it was due to the stomach issues that I had that evening. We paid with a credit card and did not know until 4 days later that the bill for a beer, a Margherita and 2 small orders of tacos came to $68.48 American. High prices for what we got. Buyer beware, if they don't have a menu with prices don't order and don't drink the water if it doesn't come from a bottle.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this restaurant if you don't have a good supply of Amodium AD.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2022
I apologize for your bad experience, we actually we closed to the public for the month of September and they probably just made something as they were not set up for customers. The sales tax in Mexico is 16%, which unto itself is steep. We only use purified water at the hotel. It's very expensive to do business on the East Cape as nothing gets delivered, water comes in trucks, everything runs on solar with a generator. Can't explain why it took 4 days to get on your bank account unless it didn't process over the weekend. Again I apologize, that is not even close to the normal experience at Vidasoul.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flavien wrote a review Aug 2022
Paris, France33 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We had room 200. Panoramic view over the water from the bed, amazing sun rise, peaceful, so relaxing. Of course some details need to be fixed but just think you’re in the middle of no where. Very nice staff, cool restaurant with basic but good food. Margharita’s were great and the homemade ice tea is gorgeous. Would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joan Hafenecker, Propietario at Vidasoul Hotel
Responded Dec 17, 2022
That's our best room, glad you enjoyed it
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boca de la Vinorama area.
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurBoca de la Vinorama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIDASOUL HOTEL $162 ($̶3̶6̶0̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Boca de la Vinorama, Mexico

Frequently Asked Questions about Vidasoul Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Vidasoul Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Vidasoul Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Vidasoul Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vidasoul Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vidasoul Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool and a yoga room during their stay.
Is Vidasoul Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Boca de la Vinorama.
Are pets allowed at Vidasoul Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vidasoul Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Vidasoul Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Vidasoul Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.