We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hanover House

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hanover House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We had a fabulous visit to this B&B that has all of the attributes of a classy B&B as well as many of the conveniences of a hotel. Steve and Lisa were perfect hosts. Very clean, elegant and great location-- walking distance to Vineyard Haven and the Ferry. Breakfast was delicious-- if you go, have the blueberry French toast.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

I have been staying at Hanover House and its affiliate Clark House for several years now. The place is quaint, quiet and well maintained. Nice breakfast and dining area inside and out. Easy walk to main st Vineyard haven. Owner Steve, manager Lisa are very friendly and helpful as is rest of staff. Look forward to being back next year.

Helpful?
Thank Darris W
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

My sister and I visited for two nights and stayed at the Hanover House. It was a little pricy but worth every penny. The rooms were clean, Lisa was very helpful when teaching us about the island and local transportation and the breakfast was phenomenal! It was also close to main street/the ferry/the local bus. We stayed in room #8... More 

Helpful?
Thank JCM212
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

We stayed at Hanover House earlier this week with our friends. It was our first trip to MV and our stay at Hanover House made it even more memorable. Steve and Lisa were helpful to us in every way down to suggesting bus routes so that we could see as much of the island as possible during our short stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra M
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

We stayed with our one daughter and another couple with one son over Memorial Weekend. I believe we got units #14 and the upstairs unit. I have never stayed at a B&B before so wasn't sure what to expect. Wow it was a great room. It was a one bedroom apartment, with kitchen and nice size living room. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay S
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Spotlessly clean, great location & the breakfast was the best B&B breakfast that we've ever had. Prior to arrival, Lisa called us just to confirm our ETA & inform us that our room was available early....nice touch. It was a little pricey, but it was Memorial Day w/e.

Helpful?
Thank TildenLD
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Bed and Breakfast was nice and location was centrally located for our needs. Good points: staff were friendly, interactive, and were quite helpful with all of our needs. Bed was the most comfortable one we have slept in on the road. Breakfast was good, location was perfect, and free cookies were delicious! Need to work on: Room 16 very musty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dmnck1998
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We recently stayed at The Hanover House room #15. Firstly on check-in the lady at the front desk was so rushed in giving us the rundown that it bordered on rude. She showed us to our room which was a big disappointment for the price. It was so musty smelling that we could still smell it on our luggage and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeandLauretta
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

GeorgeandLauretta, you should always look forward to a relaxing and enjoyable time when you visit us, so it's very concerning to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It's never our intention to come across as rude, but I sincerely apologize that a member of my team made you feel so rushed at the front desk. We always want... More 

New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

The rooms here are beautiful, the breakfast provided is delicious, and the location is a perfect staging point for seeing different parts of the island. This is one of the few Inns on the island with two night minimums during peak seasons (greatly appreciated by many of our family and friends who were visiting for our wedding weekend). Steve Perlman,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joshua D
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Joshua, I can't thank you enough for all of your wonderful compliments. I'm so glad I was able to be of assistance for your special wedding weekend. Happy to hear you and the rest of your guests thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing stay. Hope you visit us again. Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Steve was very gracious and helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Very welcoming This was our second time at Hanover House. Breakfast was delicious. Pleasant memories of Marthas Vineyard! We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank BonnieRickZaccaro
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments, I can't tell you how much I appreciate them. So happy to hear you had such a relaxing and comfortable stay. Looking forward to your next trip to the Vineyard. Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.0 mi away
The Clark House
The Clark House
#6 of 13 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hanover House, a recognized Martha's Vineyard Three Diamond AAA Inn, provides a great value for guests with the charm of a country home and the convenience of a village inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hanover House

Address: 28 Edgartown Rd, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5607
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $203 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanover House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay