We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Publick House Historic Inn

On the Common, 277 Main Street - Route 131 Post Office Box 187, Sturbridge, MA 01566-0187
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (183)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 14 hotels in Sturbridge
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
4.0
Value
3.6
If you’re looking for a family-friendly hotel in Sturbridge, look no further than Publick House Historic Inn. While staying at Publick House Historic Hotel, visitors can check out Hyland Orchard & Rapscallion Brewery (2.4 mi), which is a popular Sturbridge attraction. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel. Publick House Historic Inn features a 24 hour front desk, a gift shop, and a coffee shop, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Publick House Historic Inn, free parking is available. While in Sturbridge, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Publick House Historic Inn, including Sturbridge Seafood (0.8 mi), Oxhead Tavern (0.9 mi), and B.T.'s Smokehouse (1 mi). Should time allow, Old Sturbridge Village is a popular attraction that is 1.5 miles away. The staff at Publick House Historic Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
624Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 245
  • 146
  • 111
  • 65
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MelissaMS61 wrote a review Dec 2023
Hopedale, Massachusetts596 contributions45 helpful votes
Our family has dined at the Publick House no fewer than 200 times over the past 30 years and have always enjoyed ourselves whether it was an intimate dinner for two or a family gathering of 15. This trip, however, was a disaster. The waitress was "newish" but not new (according to the 2nd manager we spoke to), so I don't feel that our concerns are unreasonable. She had to come back to ask my brother 3 times what his drink was (Jack Daniels on the rocks), and then brought the drink without ice. We had to ask 3 more times for ice. We asked about rolls/bread basket and was told they were baking and would be right out. After we watched other waitresses bring rolls to numerous other tables around us, we asked again....4 more times, and each time we were met with, "Oh, yeah, oh, yeah." It took 45 minutes to get bread (we timed it.). Other tables arrived after us, ordered, ate, and left before we got our meals. At no time did the waitress apologize or appear concerned about our situation. All she said was that she had "a big party in another room." Those kinds of things should never be conveyed to a diner. My sister spoke with the hostess, and I spoke with another waitress. Finally, a male manager came by and when we told him, he was VERY dismissive, which only made things worse. He said, "Well, we can't change the past, so I'm concerned about moving forward." Again, no acknowledgement of what was happening, no apology, nothing. At the end of the meal, a female manager came by and really took time to listen to our concerns, expressed dismay, and assured us it would be addressed so as not to happen again. Our desserts were comped (which we were not looking for), and we did appreciate that gesture. This experience will not stop us from dining at the Publick House in the future, but I hope management has taken note to correct it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If service is poor, don't wait. Ask for the manager quickly because it will only get worse.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Dec 17, 2023
Dear Melissa, We appreciate your many years of dining with us, and we're sorry to hear about the service issues you experienced during your most recent visit. Rest assured that we will be addressing this situation with our team. We'd be grateful for the chance to provide you with the excellent dining experience you're used to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronald P wrote a review Nov 2023
7 contributions
My wife and I stayed in the main building, the King Suite (room 14), and had a very enjoyable stay, overall. We also joined friends for a late lunch in a reserved room, and found the service and food to be very good, considering the group as a whole. Our waitress was especially pleasant and attentive. My strip steak was done nicely, and my wife enjoyed the salmon. One of our friends found the pot roast "good" but a little dry. Regarding the King Suite: it is spacious and nicely appointed, with a cheery wall paper, a nice sitting area, and two bathrooms. There was also a small refrigerator but no coffee maker (we knew this in advance, and brought our own, as we often do). Yes, there are signs of wear and tear if one inspects closely, and the shower was very finicky, with variable pressure and temperature. So, not a perfect room, but still a good value for the price, and a cozy, comfortable ambiance. A special call out to Carol at the front desk, who went out of her way to accommodate our requests. And, yes--we would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Nov 14, 2023
Dear Ronald, Having you as our guest was a delight, and we are pleased that you would return on future visits to Sturbridge. Thank you for highlighting our hospitality, and we will be sure to share your recognition with our team. Your comfort and satisfaction with our accommodations are important. That said, we are pleased you found yours to meet your needs. Please join us again for another stay again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Safari13908607832 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
So let's start with the good stuff. The food was excellent, really wonderful. The staff was lovely. The decor leaves a lot to be desired. For the high prices I'd expect more class. Sure it's an old inn but does it have to be dreary? Add some color by painting the walls, (I suggest red or green, historic colors) some more interesting old paintings at least! Put a tablecloth in those dreary old worn out tables which would make a huge difference ! I won't return to pay a lot for good food when it's such a hodge podge place. Mis management of values and not giving the customer an ambiance treat which is what you want when you dine out. Just interested in making a buck using the "history" as a selling point I won't recommend either.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Oct 30, 2023
Thank you for offering feedback about your recent dining experience at our inn. We're glad you enjoyed our delicious dining and exceptional service. Your comments are important to us, and we'll use them as we continuously work to improve our facility and atmosphere. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris P wrote a review Sep 2023
Cwmbran9 contributions4 helpful votes
Whilst I can appreciate the Publick House Inn, Sturbridge is a historic building there is no excuse for poor standards in this modern age and guests expect the accommodation to at least be clean and drought free as the minimum. The windows in our room were filthy the frames, the glass and the curtains and as they didn’t fit and had gaps the room was very cold when we arrived. Although there were wall lights and one bedside lamp only two of the potential five lights were fitted with a bulb. We were asked for a credit card to hold against incidentals but we found they had actually debited our account $50. When queried they said this is their policy but if we didn’t use any extras then it would be credited back in 5-7 days after we checked out!! The debit happened immediately but the refund would take several days. Not good enough!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Sep 29, 2023
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Please accept our apologies that your room wasn't immaculately clean and well-maintained, and your thoughts will help us improve. It's unfortunate you were distressed with the incidental hold, but as you mentioned, this should be refunded within 3-5 business days of departure. We're confident we can meet your expectations and hope you'll give us another chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joan D wrote a review Sep 2023
Delaware8 contributions1 helpful vote
First of all, the landscaping is gorgeous, the main building is lovely, and the Bake Shoppe is full of delicious treats. Unfortunately, our room in the Motor Lodge building was just sad. It smelled of ancient cigarette smoke, musty and stale. The carpet and the sofa needed a thorough cleaning. We had to pay an extra $15 to rent a mini-fridge, which is absurd when we were paying about $200 a night (yes, Brimfield was going on). The lousy ventilation in the bathroom meant our towels never fully dried. The cable tv guide/directory was THE most confusing document I've read in quite some time. There were just FOUR hangers available for the two of us, and they were the old locked-on-the-closet pole type. There was no luggage rack. Here's I would suggest if you're determined to stay in the Motor Lodge: - Bring air fresheners. Room spray, Febreze, plug-ins, potpourri. - Bring your own pillows. My adult husband's forehead has broken out since sleeping there. - Bring hangers. - Bring cleaning supplies and an extra box of tissues. - Bring slippers/shower shoes to walk around the room. - Bring a coffeemaker if you need coffee/tea in your room. - Since there is no daily housekeeping service, request fresh towels every day that you're there. I hope this helps!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2023
Dear Joan, We appreciate you sharing your valuable comments regarding your and your husband's recent stay. We're happy you enjoyed our beautiful landscaping and main building, as well as the opportunity to enjoy the delicious baked goods available. However, it saddens us to hear you were disappointed with your room and we apologize for any odor you encountered; we will certainly address your feedback internally to review where improvements could be made. Your feedback is important to us as we continually strive to provide our guests with a positive experience. Thank you for your review and, given the opportunity, we would like to deliver the stay you were hoping for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sara H wrote a review Sep 2023
Newark, Ohio6 contributions
The travel lodge room was comfortable and clean. We were able to walk the grounds and enjoy the beautiful landscaping around the main building. Would be happy to stay here in the future. Very pleased with the staff checking us in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2023
Dear Sara, We're delighted by your outstanding review of Publick House Historic Inn! It's wonderful that you enjoyed our kind front desk assistance, clean, comfortable accommodations, and beautifully landscaped grounds. Thank you for your thoughtful praise, and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joanne W wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions
Stayed in the lovely "newer" Chamberlain House. Clean, quiet, close to the main inn. Only negative is the change to the Continental breakfast, which used to be in the Tavern, and is now in the café.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Sep 5, 2023
Dear Joanne, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Publick House Historic Inn. We're pleased you found it clean, quiet, and conveniently located. Your comments are appreciated and will help us to continually enhance our guests' experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Playswdogs wrote a review Aug 2023
PA421 contributions175 helpful votes
My room was in the back section in the old motor court. It seriously needs some attention. Down by the main hotel, things are kept up much better. We were there for an event that included meals. Food Service should be embarrassed to serve what they served to us. It really ruined the entire event. Everything was out of a bag and dumped into a dish, but we were charged prices that should have included some hands on.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Aug 29, 2023
It is our goal to ensure that each of our guests enjoys their stay with us. Therefore, please accept our sincerest apologies for not providing you with the comfortable stay you deserved. We assure you that your feedback has been noted and will be discussed internally, as we are always looking to improve our guests' experience. We welcome you back, as we know we are more than capable of providing you with a comfortable stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debra W wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Wonderful experience w/ this well run friendly establishment. I was staying overnight for a business meeting in town & they allowed me to check in early to freshen up and have a fabulous lunch in the pub
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: The town needs a better public transportation system but that's not the establishments fault.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Aug 19, 2023
Dear Debra, Thank you for being our guest at Publick House Historic Inn and for taking the time to share your lovely review. We are happy we were able to accommodate your request for early check-in and thrilled to know you enjoyed a delicious lunch and a wonderful stay. Whether for business or pleasure, we'd be honored to welcome you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathy W wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
I stayed at the Publick House on my way from Phila. to Maine and again on the way home. First night was in the Country Lodge. Very nice room with balcony. Loved the complimentary pastries & coffee. Minor maintenance problem was handled expertly by Isabelle. On the way back I stayed at the Tillyer House. Beautiful room! I travel with a service dog and I felt welcomed and safe. Lily and the rest of the front desk staff were friendly, professional and did a fantastic job. I highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Country Manor rooms do not have refrigerators or coffeemakers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your terrific review of your recent visit! We’re delighted to hear that we went above and beyond in providing you with the best experience possible, and we'll be sure to share your compliments with Isabelle, Lily, and the rest of our team. Receiving recognition for our lovely accommodations and tasty offerings is always appreciated. It is the greatest compliment when our guests enjoy their time with us so much that they take a moment to review our property and recommend it to others. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sturbridge area.
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
publick house historic hotel sturbridge
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsSturbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PUBLICK HOUSE HISTORIC INN - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Sturbridge, MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Publick House Historic Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Publick House Historic Inn?
Nearby attractions include Old Sturbridge Village (1.0 miles), St. Anne's Shrine (2.0 miles), and Optical Heritage Museum (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Publick House Historic Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Publick House Historic Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Publick House Historic Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Publick House Historic Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cedar Street Grille, Sturbridge Seafood, and B.T.'s Smokehouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Publick House Historic Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Publick House Historic Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Sturbridge.
Are pets allowed at Publick House Historic Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Publick House Historic Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Publick House Historic Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Publick House Historic Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.