We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfcomber on the Ocean

Traveler (186)
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (245)
Certificate of Excellence


#4 of 21 hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Ocean View
Residential Neighborhood


Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
288Restaurantswithin 5 miles
98Attractionswithin 5 miles
63Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 130
  • 49
  • 10
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Terrible staff. 31st of May, 11am, very quiet and we kindly request to check out at 12noon to enjoy the sun & beach one more hour. They didn’t allow us. Unacceptable on this type of hotel and situation. We were deeply disappointed. They didn’t even offer a late check out fee or cortesy room to have a shower.
Read more
Response from TheSurfcomber, Front Office Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Noelia, Please do not disparage our staff as they are simply following the policies that we have created in hopes to create a positive guest experience for all. As I replied to your booking.com review, we are a small hotel and property, with limited parking. It is our policy that we ask guests who are checking in that day to arrive after 12pm, so the guests who are still in house have the opportunity to have a peaceful and relaxing morning. Kind regards, Lisa.
Read more
We were very happy with our stay at the Surfcomber. The staff was very nice and our room was nice and clean and quiet. Would stay again. They had a nice pool and a very nice small private beach with plenty of seating by the water..
Read more
This place was not worth the drive from NYC/ Westchester, not even a little bit. Small pool, tiny beach, out dated everything. Giant tents were allowed on the small amount of beach space available, with people "saving space." The woman who ran the front desk was incredibly rude, I do not recommend this place at all. Honestly, you'd have a nicer experience at a motel 8 on the Jersey Shore!
Read more
Nice clean rooms, you can't beat the view. My favorite place to stay on the Cape! They book up fast. The staff is extremely nice. I need to remember to book early, they fill up fast. You can't go wrong with this motel.
Read more
We discovered this gem 5 years ago and our family has been coming back every summer since. Such a great, reliable stay each time. Place is always clean, located right on the water with its own beach, the rooms are always well kept and staff has always been friendly and helpful. It's also one of the best deals on the Cape. We make sure to reserve our room well in advance especially for mid-summer stays. The location on mid-Cape also makes it one of the most convenient locations.
Read more
$146 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
surfcomber on the ocean hotel south yarmouth
United StatesMassachusettsCape CodYarmouthSouth Yarmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing