We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain's House

Save
Share
Traveler (58)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (7)
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Breakfast included
Pool
Additional information
Offers from Captain's House
Special Offer: Call Direct and Save!!
Offers from Captain's House
Special Offer: Call Direct and Save!!
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
92
14
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
92
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves crashingbed and breakfastdowntown rockportshort drivesoundoceanporchcoastrockssunrisecomfortinnscharm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 111 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2018

My wife wanted to be near water, and Captain's House boasts the most picturesque spot in Rockport. Visualize the traditional Maine coast (rocks, pounding surf) and you've pictured the inn's backyard. Very short drive to downtown Rockport. Gretchen's a gracious host.

Thank kruisyk
Response from Tim P, Owner at Captain's HouseResponded January 7, 2018

Thank you for your review; we're glad you enjoyed it.

Innkeeper's Favorite Review
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Lovely oceanfront B and B set on the rocky seashore. Quiet, very clean, comfortable and the perfect venue to relax. Gretchen (owner) and Trish are helpful and accommodating without being intrusive. This is a home for travelers and you will not be disappointed. Room 1...More

1  Thank Kathleen D
Response from Tim P, Owner at Captain's HouseResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you Kathleen. We glad you enjoyed it. Gretchen and Tim.

Reviewed June 5, 2017

It was everything you would expect in a bed and breakfast. From charm to opulence this place had it all.I would recommend it very highly. The rooms were spacious and quite inviting yet not "over the top" just VERY NICE.

1  Thank johnm01453
Response from Tim P, Owner at Captain's HouseResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you for your comment. We're happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewed May 29, 2017

Only an hour from Boston, yet we felt like we were in another world. Sitting outside the Captain's House took you away and made relaxing mandatory. The waves crashing, the sun on your face and peaceful surroundings with a short drive away from the center...More

1  Thank Joanna O
Response from Tim P, Owner at Captain's HouseResponded May 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a good time!

Reviewed May 20, 2017

Staying here felt like an AirBnB experience - in the best possible way. Having lodged at a good number of B&Bs and inns, The Captain's House is markedly different because it genuinely feels like staying at a friend's house. Family photos and mementos of the...More

3  Thank Khamel A
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Price range
$135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (58)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorrie M
March 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tim P | Property representative |
Sorry for delay in reply. No. We have an onshore breeze practically every day. Also ceiling fans.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"You can't go wrong with any room although some require you to go across the hall to get to your bathroom."
Read review
"All rooms are good. A couple requiring going out into the hall to get to the bathroom, but I've never..."
Read review
"If I was going to spend a lot of time at the Inn, I would choose room #1. The sunroom and views from it are..."
Read review
"Look on their web site for the 5 bedroom accommodations . Not all have in room bathrooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing