We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6 Conwell St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1597
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$370
View deal
Hotels.com$370
Travelocity$370
FindHotel$370
Orbitz.com$370
Etrip$370
Tripadvisor$370
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (153)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (30)

About

#17 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Redefining bed and breakfast in Provincetown, Salt House Inn offers a chic modern retreat in the center of Provincetown. Fully renovated the inn features 15 guestrooms, all with private bathrooms, beautiful gardens and our lavish Sun Terrace perfect for soaking in the warm Cape Cod sun. Each morning guests are treated to our signature house made rustic breakfast delivered right to your room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
335Reviews1Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 281
  • 39
  • 7
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kendall wrote a review Jul 2022
Burlington, North Carolina4 contributions1 helpful vote
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Salt House Inn for two nights in early June! It was absolutely fantastic. The accommodations were perfect - clean and updated but still felt cozy and welcoming. The staff was excellent as well! Jordan was so helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations. He even made reservations for us one night! The location of the Salt House Inn is also perfect. Very central to the main the street and less than a 10 minute walk from the Ferry Port. Only good things to say about this Bed & Breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Markman, Guest Services / Front Office at Salt House Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, Kendall! Jordan is such an amazing addition to our team and we are beyond lucky to have him. I look forward to sharing this review with him and making certain that we continue to live up to his excellence. Hope we can see you back at Salt House Inn, both soon and often.
Read more
John H wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I made a last minute decision to book the Salt House Inn for two nights and get a change of scenery from home for a few days. I booked the smaller of rooms, with en suite bathroom. It was perfect for one, and I think two could get by even though it is small. It was clean and well appointed, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Each morning's breakfast included a frittata, fresh fruit, coffee, and juice, and was self-serve from the small dining room area. I appreciated the free off-street parking, and the proximity to town (a short walk down to the heart of Commercial Street). All in all, a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you for staying with us at Salt House Inn. We appreciate this amazing feedback and cannot wait to share it with our staff family. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities both in the room and on the property. We are always looking to make sure every guest has the best experience, so this information helps a lot. If you loved it here, we know you would enjoy several of our other properties. If you are ever traveling and need a place to stay, please feel free to reach out and we will make sure you are well taken care of. Jordan and Salt Hotels Team
Read more
MVBLH wrote a review Jun 2022
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts54 contributions27 helpful votes
I've bounced around different P'town places for over a decade and on the rec of a friend tried Salt House. The search is over! Welcoming, accommodating (to my request to stay an extra night), with a lovely room (free upgrade!) The breakfast is beyond what I've experienced in any other B&B anywhere! Put this on your must-try list.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Hello, Thank you for staying at Salt House Inn. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait to have you back. Having you for an extra night was out absolute pleasure and we appreciate the kind feedback. Whenever you are back in Provincetown, please reach out and we will make sure you are well taken care of. Jordan and the Salt Hotels Team
Read more
ckollross wrote a review Jun 2022
Hobart, Indiana3 contributions3 helpful votes
Salt House Inn is a cozy, friendly, and wonderful Bed & Breakfast (& Happy Hour) Inn. My family stayed in two King-size rooms on the second floor. The rooms were very well appointed with all the amenities you will need. The rooms have been modernized but have maintained their old-style feel. The breakfast was very good with a nice selection of items including souffles', cereals, homemade breads, yogurt, fantastic fresh fruit, as well as great coffee and juice all served in a quaint dining room with great music. They also offer a Happy Hour with free drinks of the day (Bloody Marys & Sangrias) & sandwiches (gourmet grilled cheese the day we were there). The service offered by their staff is excellent. They are very attentive to your needs and offer an easy check-in and checkout as well as help navigating P-Town with their "concierge service". I can't say enough how the Salt House Inn and their staff made our trip even more special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Good Afternoon, It was such a pleasure meeting you and your family last week. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us at Salt House Inn. Tim and I had a great time chatting and getting to know you all. Good luck on your daughter's school year in Boston and we hope to have you all back with us again very soon! Jordan and the Salt Hotels Team
Read more
Elizabeth C wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions4 helpful votes
The most charming hotel! They went out of their way to make our stay absolutely fantastic, despite being short staffed. And fantastic location and breakfast! Perfect Provincetown stay - highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Good Evening Elizabeth, Thank you for staying with us at Salt House Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and hope to have you back again soon! Please reach out if you are looking for a similar experience in other areas or states. We are expanding and would love for you to experience some of our sister properties. We do have Nantucket and LA on the way as well as Kingston, NY and Miami Beach that are already doing amazing. Thank you again, until next time! Jordan and the Salt Hotels Team
Read more
Tomedin wrote a review Jan 2022
San Francisco, California66 contributions57 helpful votes
Beautiful, well located retreat in Provincetown. The room was contemporary, clean and well suited for a base to tour Provincetown. The room delivered breakfast was eloquent and delicious and set each day off perfectly. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Location and Breakfast!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Hello Thomas, Thank you for staying with us at Salt House Inn. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our quaint Provincetown home. We are expanding vastly, so if you are a traveler please reach out so we can connect you with some of our amazing sister properties. Thank you and again and please come see us again soon! Jordan and the Salt Hotels Team
Read more
Kotchko wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York6 contributions
We stayed in the Loft @ the Salt House Inn and it was an absolutely amazing experience in every regard - from service/hospitality to the aesthetic. The Loft is a beautiful and spacious room that features a claw foot tub in the center of the room (in addition to a large private bathroom and shower), and multiple seating areas alongside a King sized bed. Breakfast each day was a nice touch, as was the stone’s throw proximity to Far Land Provisions deli/general store for anything one might need. Beach towels, branded bag/fanny pack for guest use, and Mallin and Goetz products in bathroom were terrific, too. Though we didn’t really use them.- my wife and I loved the garden seating area and the patio/“roof deck” lounging area on the 2nd floor where one could easily enjoy breakfast, take in some sun, or have a cocktail. Jeffrey’s hospitality was outstanding, check-in and check-out were a breeze, and any food/drink/amenity requests sent via text were responded to, quite literally, within minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you are wondering whether the Loft is worth it - the answer is YES.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed our Loft and all our property has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write this as we pride ourselves on providing the best experience and always want our guests to feel at home and comfortable. Jeffrey and all our staff love to hear this kind of feedback and we are thrilled we met your needs. We hope to see you again when you make your way back to Provincetown.
Read more
tlcksnyder wrote a review Aug 2021
Medford, New Jersey136 contributions52 helpful votes
I'm not sure I get why people are complaining about small rooms in a beach house cottage inn. That is pretty much what I expect from a beach cottage. While a little small, the rooms are rather quaint, clean, and we found them very comfortable. Jeffrey and the staff were all super nice from the initial welcome email to accommodating special requests. We also liked the central P-Town location of the Salt House Inn. It is close enough to commercial st where all the galleries and restaurants are, but not in the middle of the noise. The inn also has off street parking and bike racks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Thank you for this amazing review, we pride ourselves on making sure that your experience is top notch and we are so thrilled we were able to make that happen for you. Our location puts you steps away from the heart of commercial st as well as all the local shops and restaurants and we are so happy you loved this as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you back and enjoying another wonderful stay with us very soon!
Read more
Gaf wrote a review Aug 2021
Buckingham, Pennsylvania116 contributions92 helpful votes
Not the experience we remember. Third time staying at The Salt House Inn in almost a decade. And sadly this 5 night stay will certainly be our last. We realize Covid has had a devastating impact on the hospitality industry, though we received an automated marketing email on our second day from the owners, initially wanting to know how our stay was going but then quickly pivoted promoting their latest hotel opening. Overall we felt our stay lacked any of the special touches we remembered and that helped justify the high price for a tiny, spartan room barely 150 sq feet. Especially since surrounding Inn’s at this price point we’re offing 24/7 coffee and espresso, wine and cheese hour, pool, outdoor entertainment etc, just to name a few. All done safely adhering to CDC guidelines and during this recent Delta wave. The room itself, with a slightly upgraded motel like feel, was also showing wear. The walls are paper thin. Our door kept banging each time someone entered the common hallway. The trash in the common area, right outside our room window, was left for days, the pile getting higher. Fixtures and wood panel chipped or aged. Barely any storage and not enough room for two nightstands to be placed on either side of the bed. So our room quickly cluttered. Location is fine. The breakfast, now served in the room starting at 8am, seems pre-cooked and generic. You have to select all the options to ensure you have a decent meal. Even the one serving of coffee they provide is small. The guy at the front desk was friendly., but mostly disinterested. We felt like we were staying in a tiny room, extremely expensive AirBnB. Overall we had another amazing time in magical Ptown. However next time we’ll be definitely be staying elsewhere. There are so many other better options in our opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms are tiny. So if you can splurge then you have to pick one of the King rooms. But we...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, but we were dissapointed to hear it didnt meet your expectations. Our newly renovated property has been designed to meet the needs of our guests with true cape cod experience as well as the provincetown experience. We always want to ensure from the moment you book your reservation to the time you check out that we are providing the best customer service. We work very hard to ensure our guests are provided a clean and comfortable room to stay in. We always want to ensure that our guests wake up from a comfortable nights sleep and enjoy our daily changing, freshly prepared breakfast. We were dissapointed to hear that you didnt enjoy this as we take alot of pride in our delicious breakfast choices. Our hotel, like many in Provincetown began as something entirely different and most, including ours were transformed into the beautiful Inn that you see today. We understand that like so many can present flaws and quirks and we know being an older building can present some ambient noise. We do hope that in the future we are able to welcome you back and if you contact me directly, we will be able to ensure you have a much more pleasnt stay with us.
Read more
Ann P wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked our room for a one night stay, based on the lovely photographs shown on the website, which turned out to be quite misleading, more style than substance. The room was very small, with no closet or drawer space. The bathroom was down the corridor. We had read great reviews about the home cooked breakfast, but were very disappointed to find two cups of black coffee, with no milk or sugar, and a frittata, wrapped in what looked like fast food aluminum foil outside our door in the morning. Overall, we felt we did not receive good value for money- the cost for a one night stay was pretty hefty- and were we to stay in Provincetown again, we would certainly book another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Salt House Inn, General Manager at Salt House Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us, although we are dissapointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our breakfast used to be served in our lobby with an aray of choices and self service stations but Covid has changed alot for our Inn and we are no longer allowed to do that type of service, so with our new delivery to your door system and our daily changing breakfast which we pride ourselves on a homemade breakfast each day we were also dissapointed to hear you didn't enjoy our delicious selections. Much like other hotels we have competitive rates, spacious rooms and plenty of on site parking so you can walk steps down the road to commercial st. We hope in the future you'll be able to give us another stay and hopefully we will see you again. Thank you again for your feedback
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$235 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dexter`s hotel provincetown
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsCape CodProvincetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Salt House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Salt House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum (0.3 miles), Commercial Street (0.08 miles), and Provincetown Town Hall (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Salt House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Salt House Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Salt House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Salt House Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Salt House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Far Land Provisions, The Mews Restaurant & Cafe, and Provincetown Portuguese Bakery.
Is Salt House Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Provincetown.
Are there any historical sites close to Salt House Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pilgrim's First Landing Park (0.5 miles).