We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Auberge Gladstone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Auberge Gladstone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We booked the Auberge as part of a fall foliage weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The innkeepers were a huge part of helping to make things go smoothly. They were friendly without being intrusive, and made sure to check in with us to see how things were going. They were also able to dig out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichG02481
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2015

We were looking for somewhere to stay to explore Plymouth and Cape Cod and weren't at all disappointed with the Auberge Gladstone. We stayed in the Loft which has it's own private entrance. It's a sort of studio apartment really - large bedroom with a comfy bed, big TV and sofa, huge bathroom with a free standing bath and big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebeccaelizabeth1988
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Arrived in June, having booked the Gladstone suite 11 months before, to be put upstairs in The Loft with no explanation by someone who didn't speak English. His son, the Manager, arrived later but in the meantime we were unable even to make a cup of tea as only one cup was available and no spoons. The room was scruffy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda T
Lauren S, Owner at Auberge Gladstone, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt that your experience didn't fit expectations. You were offered a free upgrade to a larger room with a private entrance, the Loft, which most people find to be a pleasant surprise. Our manager had his parents visiting, and since they are from outside of the country, we are very sorry that you were not...

Ashville, New York
Reviewed November 13, 2014

We spent three nights in September in the Gladstone Suite on second floor. Upon arrival, the manager answered the door, gave us the key, and told us he was on the telephone-would speak with us later when he brought up the towels which were in the dryer. He delivered the towels to the door, left, and that was the last...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NeilandBon
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 25, 2014

My fiance and I stayed in the loft last night and it was simply gorgeous. I was greeted at the door by the inn's manager, who lives on the bottom floor of the inn. This is a "guest house," and as such, there is no main counter when you walk in and no lobby area. The manager brought me up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Having read some of the other reviews, I would say that they are generally accurate. This is the sort of place which you will either love or hate, depending on personal preference. Our main gripe wasn't really with the accommodation. Like others posting here, we arrived (at 3pm) to an envelope sellotaped to the door saying the owners were out,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R0sy1961
Lauren S, Owner at Auberge Gladstone, responded to this review

As the owner of the Auberge Gladstone, I can tell you that the experience you reported is completely unacceptable. We have terminated the contract of the managers who worked there this summer. Leaving an envelope for a gratuity was something that occurred without discussion or approval. The managers did report that they were at the inn for the 4 pm...

Victoria Australia
Reviewed September 12, 2014

Booked this guesthouse going by reviews and photos from website. Had the loft which was quaint but not the same as in the photos. It looked lovely with a new white bedspread but when we arrived there was a grey cover on the bed, no mattress or pillow protectors and the glass shelf in the bathroom was very dusty. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michelle091
Lauren S, Owner at Auberge Gladstone, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were disappointed. We have a large tree out front which had just started dropping red berries all over our parking area, and I am afraid you may have encountered the stairs before we had a chance to fix the berry stains which come in on our customers' shoes. We have now implemented a multi-level plan...

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location Very nice room Comfortable Extra big bathroom Cool shower Lots of amenities incl. fireplace Not really a BnB unless you bring your own stuff for the fridge Never saw any other people in 24 hours and the key was left outside so not sure how safe this really is 3.5 stars out of 5 Price is Right

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark M
Lauren S, Owner at Auberge Gladstone, responded to this review

We are sorry that this reviewer felt perhaps slighted that he did not see anyone while he was there. In fact, our innkeeper met with his fiancee and made a special exception to accommodate their request for an early check-in to get ready for their wedding! We try to make it clear on our web site and during our reservation...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Pluses , great location and looks lovely from the outside. Also very friendly innkeepers. Minuses, not very well kept , our rooms were a bit dusty and it could do with some renovations ... Personally we found the Airbnb places we stayed at. in USA were better value and to a higher standard of specification and maintenance . But the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda_B145
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Reviewed July 26, 2014

After reading reviews, we were looking forward to our stay....seemed quaint and we love B& B's. To start with, we found out that this is not a bed and breakfast by any stretch....and the innkeeper even dissuaded us from getting anything there at all, that they only offered coffee and yogurt, and that would have been in our room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John I
Lauren S, Owner at Auberge Gladstone, responded to this review

We are sorry that these guests did not feel that their visit matched up with expectations. These travelers booked via a third party travel booking service, who we have had a big problem with, in that they are marketing us as including breakfast with each guest's stay. I had a conversation with the wife a couple of weeks prior to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1620 at Plymouth Harbor
0.4 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Plymouth
703 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#7 of 9 in Plymouth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest house located in historic downtown Plymouth, MA, within walking distance to restaurants, museums, and historic sites. Apartment-like rooms with mini-kitchen amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge Gladstone

Address: 8 Vernon St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3915
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gladstone 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge Gladstone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The top floor loft is nice and private”
 of 5 bubbles RichG02481, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“The Loft - lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Rebeccaelizabeth1988, Aug 12, 2015 | Read review
“While staying at the guest house, the door to loft was left open as the room was not occupied. We went upstairs for a glance. It was lovely, appeared cleaner and homey. Aside from all those additional stairs, I feel this is the better room in which to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilandBon, Nov 13, 2014 | Read review
“The loft is gorgeous although maybe better for people on the shorter side! The ceiling is sloped.”
  • Clawfoot tub
  • Beautiful bedroom/living area
  • Bathroom sink
  • Desk and bench
  • Table and couch facing TV
 of 5 bubbles ChristinaF93, Oct 25, 2014 | Read review
“The Gladstone Suite is beautiful & offers a nice private deck, however the entrance to bathroom may be tough for bigger people/expectant mamas.”
 of 5 bubbles crappymcgee, Aug 26, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question