We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast included
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
171Reviews
25Photos
1Q+A
28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 61
  • 49
  • 21
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
There is nothing bad with this hotel, but nothing outstanding either. It is a bit tired. The breakfast is forgettable. It is clean and comfortable. The sad part is the it could be so much more. The building whee the office and breakfast room is an attractive. The breakfast had a
Read more
Response from Kyle M, General Manager at Autumn Inn
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Thank you for your feedback and business. We hope you we were able to make your visit to Northampton more enjoyable. The property is currently under an extensive renovation. All of our guest rooms and common areas will be re-imagined with all new furniture, floors, and bathrooms. Our breakfast offerings will also be enhanced for the brand new breakfast area. Hopefully we get the chance to show the exciting changes in early 2019. Thank you again. -Hotel Manager
Read more
I spent one night here while visiting a friend. I'm told this was once a nice place, but no longer. The carpet was badly stained, there was a broken slat in the blind, I discovered lots of dust and dust bunnies behind the night stand when I went to plug in an extension cord for
Read more
Response from Kyle M, General Manager at Autumn Inn
Responded Oct 20, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. I want to apologize on behalf of our entire staff that had this kind of experience at our hotel. Not only will your comments be used to improve our service to our guests, but they will be used in our upcoming renovation efforts. We are planning to completely change the overall look and feel of the hotel with upgraded rooms and amenities, as well as enhancing the common areas. Once again, thank you for your time and for your business. If there is anything I can help with or answer for you please let me know. -Kyle M. Hotel Manager
Read more
Thank you to the man on the street who asked us if we were staying at the Autumn Inn and said that he heard it was "tired". This is a perfect description for this motel (not an Inn... don't be fooled by the name folks). We stayed here last weekend and first I want to say that
Read more
Response from Kyle M, General Manager at Autumn Inn
Responded Sep 20, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback regarding your recent at Autumn Inn. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, although it's unfortunate that you left with such a negative impression. On behalf of the staff and property, I want to apologize for the experience you had. If you were not aware earlier, the property is under new ownership and management. With this change comes an extensive renovation which is currently already in progress. Although carpets and amenities have been upgraded through the recent years, we are planning on completely enhancing the overall style and perception of the Autumn Inn. Every guest room and common area will be re-envisioned to provide the best quality product for our guests, while still keeping the charm of the property. Hopefully you get the chance to see our exciting upgrades later this winter. Once again, thank you for your business and your time. -Kyle M. Hotel Manager
Read more
Let me first start off by saying it looks decent from the outside. But wait until you turn the key... an old fashioned key. The room has a delightful musty scent that will leave you with pleasure. The bathrooms .. don’t get me started on the bathrooms. The bath is brown with
Read more
Response from Kyle M, General Manager at Autumn Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2018
First of all I want to apologize on behalf of the property and all of our staff that you had this kind of experience staying with us. We always strive to offer the best stay possible to all of our guests. The feedback you have provided will help to improve what we currently offer. I am not aware if this was mentioned to you during your stay, but the property is currently in the middle of an extensive renovation. Every inch of the interior lobby, and all the guest rooms will be updated with new furnishings and appliances. The building will be completed into a whole new experience by the end of this year. We hope to get the chance to show you these exciting upgrades during your next visit to Northampton. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to share your feedback. -Hotel Manager
Read more
There's much to like about this place. OK, furniture, deco and bathroom appliances are all rather dated but exactly this gives the Inn character and makes you want to come back to it. Service is very friendly. Breakfast is basic but a friendly older lady makes sure your coffee
Read more
Response from Kyle M, General Manager at Autumn Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2018
Thank you so much for the kind words. On behalf of the entire staff, we really appreciate your business and you taking the time to share your feedback with us. The property is about to kick off an extensive renovation, with the anticipation to improve all the outdated furnishings you have mentioned. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our breakfast attendant, Lennie. Thank you again for your business, and we hope to see you again during your next visit to Northampton. -Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Minutes after we got in, the skies opened up. Loved being able to have the door open!
Bathroom
Room with double bed
Room with double bed
Photo provided by managementAutumn Inn
PreviousNext
12
I'd call the inn directly for status. The staff was very helpful
1 vote
"We had a 1st floor room, open to the parking lot so we could park and walk right in. Very quiet, but maybe the a/c helped."
"We were in the interior of hotel, it was quiet. Not sure about motel rooms near driveway/parking."
"I was on the Elm Street side and had no problem sleeping."
"ask for first floor if you don't want to heft suitcases up stairs"
"If they do have upstairs rooms, that might be a better bet for you."
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
autumn hotel northampton
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNorthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing