We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 640: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfectly located outside of Boston, but adjacent to the train station which services the T (subway) directly to downtown for less than $3, the commuter rail into the city or out of it, and Amtrak! The hotel was clean, spacious, and had a very friendly staff, as well as free parking in the parking garage. If you don't need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Hillary S: Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Newton and for sharing your stay experience with your fellow Trip Advisor travelers. The team will be excited to read your comments about the clean our hotel was for you and the friendliness of the staff. Our location is a major benefit to those who want access to Downtown Boston... More 

Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel. This was the second time we have stayed here. Hotel is right up the hill from the Riverside train station which is were we caught the shuttle for the Jimmy Fund Boston half-marathon today. It was clean, beds are comfortable. Rooms are quiet. Staff are very nice, friendly. Bathroom was nice, clean, nice shower. If I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryLinn39
Management response:

Dear MaryLinn39, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and found the convenience to the Riverside Station helpful. We take pride in not only with the service our staff provides but also in the cleanliness, look and feel of our rooms. We look forward to your next stay for the Jimmy Fund... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were given a room right off the lobby. At 1:30 am the music from the bar right outside our door was blaring. There was absolutely no consideration given to the people who happen to have rooms adjacent to this bar. What are they thinking, that everyone who stays wants to party all night? Ruined our weekend

Helpful?
Thank Barak G
Management response:

Dear Barak G, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. I will look into this personally, Our BOKX 109 music hours are until 11:30pm in consideration with our hotel guests and should not go past those hours. I will be... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this property twice while in the area for work and catch up with some friends this past summer. Pool is very nice, indoor bar is a popular place for visitors and locals. The rooms are cool and bed is super comfy. I will come back and stay at this property for sure.

Helpful?
Thank travelagentL
Management response:

Dear travekagentL, Thank you for your experience at Hotel Indigo Newton. Our pool is definitely one of our most popular attractions. We take pride in providing an upscale pool and pool deck with flare. Our Bokx 109 bar is a great place to sit and enjoy great drinks and live music. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went for my birthday. Rooms were clean although wasnt ready at my arrival around 430pm. Parking plentiful. I loved the pool and pool staff...they played awesome music at the pool, towels right there, they served food at the pool and drinks at the tiki bar. Chairs had umbrellas , they have a kiddie pool and hot tub and u... More 

Helpful?
Thank astin2164
Management response:

Dear astin2164, We welcome your opinion. Thank you for planning your Birthday Weekend at our Hotel Indigo Newton. We are honored to have been chosen as your home away from home. The team will be thrilled to read that you had a nice stay. If any Trip Advisor readers are looking for an awesome pool deck experience you have given... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My hotel stay was nice. The staff was extremely nice. The room was clean and presentable. The only thing is when I booked the room I did not notice that the room did not come with a refrigerator and microwave. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and the restaurant down stairs.

Helpful?
Thank LaWonda B
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear LaWaonda B: Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Newton for the first time. We appreciate your patronage and the feedback provided on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments regarding the interest in a refrigerator and microwave in your guestroom. Hotel Indigo Brand Standards does not allow for this amenity to be a permanent fixture in their guestrooms.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I checked out this morning with a bad jet lag. Forgot two items of clothing. I've called over 15 times left multiple messages and I'm yet to hear back. Pretty upset. On top of that: the pool was emptied. The decor tired. Very expensive for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Hannisbannis
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Hannisbannis: Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay experience. We value your comments and suggestions. I am very sorry to hear that the hotel staff has been less than responsive regarding some items left behind after your stay. I will personally follow up with housekeeping regarding this issue. The hotel... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice recently renovated rooms, and an overall good hotel vibe. Cons: poorly designed bathrooms that constantly flood from the shower, super slow elevators, sub par room service. And although technically not too far from the river, its not walkable unless you decide to cross the Boston pike by foot.

Helpful?
Thank Yaniv S
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Yaniv S: Thank you for choosing the hotel Indigo Newton and for taking the time to share your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments regarding the facility and the cons you described. It sounds like the door gasket on the shower needs to be replaced because water should not be flooding the bathroom floor. I... More 

Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed one night when dropping off our son at college. The bar and outside pool and patio area was so cool. Couches and firepits with a very nice pool. Everything was nice, but the room and bathroom could have been just a little cleaner. It seemed like the bathroom floor tile was not wiped down properly.

Helpful?
Thank Nicki 707
Management response:

Dear Nicki 707, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our pool and patio, our concept is to give our guests a cool and vibrant experience. I am disappointed to read that your room was not cleaned properly. I will share your comments with my housekeeping... More 

Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first night stay was satisfactory but all went down hill when my car was stolen the second night from their parking lot. The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside MBTA - so I would think their security system would be more advanced. Worse than that, the GM was less than accommodating and barely reacted to the situation. I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tbr1967
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear tbr1967: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay experience. Having your car taken from the parking lot is not something anyone wants to experience. I accept your criticism that you feel we should have compensated you beyond the assistance provided. It is understandable when something like this happens that we look for it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (396)
Viewed
Amenities (71)
Viewed
Corner Sofa Guest Room (45)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (43)
Viewed
King Guest Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Queen Guest Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#6 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove St, Newton, MA 02462-1202
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Price Range: $155 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay