We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Inn on the Green

Traveler (101)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (12)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Meeting rooms
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
270Reviews
5Q+A
79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 167
  • 56
  • 21
  • 18
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
You can't beat this place for some historical color! I take all my out of town guests here. Locally sourced and yummy food. Nice wine list too. Pretty location, full of charm... would not miss going here with good friends.
Read more
Response from OldInn, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. It will come as no surprise that we agree! There don't seem to be many restaurants/properties as old (the inn dates back to 1760) and as authentic as ours still around. While we understand that we're not a good fit for everyone, we have a deeply held respect for the historic nature of the place and feel more like the current stewards rather than owners. Peter has been cooking and sourcing locally in the Berkshires for almost 35 years. We are fortunate enough to have amazingly talented people in the kitchen and bakery that allows us to make/produce almost everything we serve, from the bread at the beginning to the chocolates at the end of the meal. It's very gratifying when folks notice! Thank you again, Peter Platt and Meredith Kennard
Read more
+1
Keep bringing friends up here to experience the Inn. Meredith and Peter are always super accommodating. Incredible eggs for breakfast. The dinner, as always, as good as any restaurant I have tried. We did the mid week 2 night package, that you can’t beat. Diner is valued at $46, so either the pre fix or order whatever and use the value towards it. Could resist the Foie Gras, or butter poached lobster and scallop app. The amuse was an incredible tasted Beet bite. Duck cooked to perfection, and rack of lamb. We were lucky enough to dine in a private room, just us, and candle light. Brought a special bottle of wine $35 corkage, but worth it. Great wine list, but $$$$. Box lunch from there nearby bakery Always incredible, make sure you get utensils. Have a picnic at York Lake, just a few minutes away. Live music at The Barn, in nearby town, was a nice way to spend he night.
Read more
The Old Inn is located in a quiet, tiny town in western MA near the Connecticut border. It feels far from active communities, but it's not so far that there's nothing to do within a reasonable distance. The antique Inn has two buildings. We were in the main building and we recommend that you select it. You'll feel like you are back in time. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The smaller building has a nice gathering room, so it is a good choice for those traveling with a group. One thing that was confusing was the 10% service charge (which is mentioned on their web site but it does not state that it is added when you include dinner with your stay). The web site listed a charge of $260 for the room we selected. While making the reservation, they asked if we would have dinner there and we agreed. When our dinner bill arrived we were told that we received a $91 discount as a promotion. That wasn't correct as the final bill for our stay showed a charge of $360 for our room, not $260. When we saw the final bill, we did not understand why the waitress called the $91 a promotion--we paid an extra $100 for our room for the "promotion." We had left a tip of 20% for the waitress before discovering that we were charged an additional 10% for the meal; this means we paid for a 30% gratuity. I must mention that the meal was delicious and the wine list was unusually deep. Wine lovers will love it. Ask for directions to their store a mile or so away. Runners: there are a few options. You can run along the old state road on which the Inn is located as there isn't much traffic. There is a dirt road on the left side of the Inn that offers a quiet run. The third option is the road across the street from the Inn. There are hills on all three options. Wheelchair users: we did not see an accessible entry.
Read more
The restaurant is the best. Amazing food and incredible wines. The Sommeliere James have great Recomendacion with the best relations price and quality. The ambient is great. The service is wonderful. The hotel is a house from 1760. Incredible
Read more
Response from OldInn, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green
Responded May 3, 2019
We're so happy to hear about your great experience! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, James is a very talented sommelier. It's wonderful that his love of wine and depth of knowledge shone through for you. Kind regards, Peter Platt and Meredith Kennard, Owners
Read more
We returned late last October for a wonderful stay and dinner. When you stay here, just remember to "let go" and not expect all the modern amenities you may get in a city hotel. We heard people complaining because the rooms were "old". HELLO! You are staying at an Inn from the 1700's that is charming. You get peace and quiet, charming ambience, a beautiful setting and wide plank oak floors - that are creaky. We have now stayed three times - first time here in the autumn, so enjoyed a different menu and experience in the dining room. Great staff and service. The dinner was superb. Fabulously fresh farm-to-table ingredients made our salad starters memorable. Loved the cheese course with dessert wine to top off our meal! We look forward to returning in July!
Read more
Response from OldInn, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green
Responded May 3, 2019
Wow, you were here last October and you're still thinking about your positive experience?!! That says it all, and is what we hope for. Thank you for your lovely review! See you in July. Warmly, Peter and Meredith
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$330 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the old inn on the green hotel new marlborough
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBerkshiresNew Marlborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing