We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seven Hills Inn

Save
Share
40 Plunkett St, Lenox, MA 01240-2704
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$119
View deal
Expedia.com$119
Priceline$119
Official Hotel$119
Hotels.com$119
FindHotel$119
Travelocity$119
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (133)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Seven Hills Inn
Updated 06/16/20

About

#6 of 18 hotels in Lenox
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Seven Hills, set on 27 acres of lush lawns and stunning gardens, is ideal for year round vacations, romantic getaways, destination weddings, family reunions and corporate events. This Gilded Age Mansion, located in the heart of the Berkshires, invites you to enjoy the luxuries of a time long since passed. With a comprehensive renovation underway, we look forward to introducing the re-imagined Seven Hills in the late winter of 2019. Escape to the country, stroll down wooded lanes, bask in the sun, lounge at our pool, enjoy a delicious breakfast and vistas from our expansive blue-stone patio, watch leaves turn magnificent colors, snuggle up by our fireplace during the cooler months, picnic on Tanglewood’s lawn just across town, tour Edith Wharton’s estate, The Mount, right next door, gaze at star-crossed lovers at Shakespeare & Company, just down the road, wonder at dancers floating in air at Jacob’s Pillow Dance Theatre, just minutes away, or marvel at the master’s works at the Norman
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
521Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 356
  • 83
  • 39
  • 28
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
quiet_wave wrote a review Mar 2021
Wakefield, Massachusetts613 contributions351 helpful votes
I'm actually pretty disappointed and sad I couldn't write a more positive review as I absolutely loved our stay in 2020. Unfortunately, we had a different experience this time and I don't think I will stay at Seven Hills again. We took advantage of their 21% off sale and ended up booking a room in the Carriage House because that was the only room I saw that had a fridge and microwave and on multiple day stays we really like to purchase food and be able to store it and heat it up. Checking in was super complicated. The way to access the room in the Carriage House is just bizarre. Why they don't use a normal key (like they do in the main hotel) or a key card makes no sense to me. I could see people struggling to understand how to gain access to their room and actually heard our loud neighbors swearing up a storm trying to get in (more on them later). The room has a strange lay-out. There's a huge dresser blocking a window. The bed is in front of a nook that has a window that doesn't have black out curtains - just blinds. This would be okay but our second night there they left the outside line on all night so I had light coming in directly to the bed. The fridge and microwave and sink area were fine although located right next to the bed. There was only one night stand. The bed was good. The bathroom was okay but the shower was difficult to use and someone had left the stopper in and it was difficult to remove to allow water to go down. The pressure was also quite bad. The biggest issue was noise. On our first night, there was a horrible sound which sounded like large animals rummaging through the trash all night. We would have reported it but no one is on duty after 5pm and if there's an emergency you have to call the Red Lion Inn. I didn't want to bother someone in the middle of the night who wasn't even on site with that issue. I randomly figured it out while sitting on the couch the next morning - the flap on the fireplace was loose and was making all of the noise. Someone had also left the alarm set to 5am so that was a nice early wake-up on our first night after hearing noise all night long. Our second night there was a Friday and more people showed up to stay at the Carriage House. There is no sound proofing. I don't know if I've ever heard neighbors so loudly in a nice hotel like this. It sounded like they were directly in the room with us. We got a very loud couple who were very ahem busy all night and it was awful. Between that and the light from outside we got very little sleep. We actually were woken up around 6 with them going for round five or six and decided to wash up and take off. It really put a damper on our vacation. As I said, I loved this place just half a year ago. I'm sad to say I can't return now after this poor experience and with so many other interesting places to stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DSLNewYork wrote a review Nov 2020
New York City, New York14 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked a Manor Room to have an upgraded room and it wasn’t quite as spacious or elegant as the photos. First, our room was assigned to other guests who arrived the previous day. We were given the key to the room and walked in on them. The lovely woman at the front desk did her best to rectify the situation quickly, but the room we ended up in wasn’t quite as nice. The room was very clean but pretty basic. The plumbing is loud and you can hear guests using the shower and bathroom. Also, breakfast is cereal cups and a piece of fruit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Hickman, General Manager at Seven Hills Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear DSLNewYork, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am very sorry for the uncomfortable arrival process, we appreciate your patience reagarding the situation. I assue you, we used the experience as a coaching opportunity. That being said, I do apologize that you felt your accomodation wasn't as nice. All the Manor House rooms have the similar amenities, but the rooms and bathrooms vary in size due to the age of the building. If we have the opportunity to host you again, I would be happy to ensure all your accomodation expectations are met. Best, Kylie Hickman General Manager
Read more
Jackieny621 wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York8 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed here a few weeks ago in October to see the foliage and hike. The Inn took Covid very seriously. Most things were touchless and masks were always worn. I also noticed when the room next to ours checked out, a few days were left in between cleaning and a new guest arriving. Our room when we arrived had all of the windows open and was very clean. We upgraded to a suite which was a very good decision, as the price was not very high for the time. We stayed in the Manor house which was decorated very nicely and enjoyed the outdoor space. Walked to the Mount nextdoor which was also beautiful. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in the manor house
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Hickman, General Manager at Seven Hills Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Bandje50, Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are so happy you felt safe and enjoyed your visit! Best, Kylie Hickman General Manager
Read more
GMM0 wrote a review Oct 2020
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey149 contributions97 helpful votes
Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Seven Hills Inn in Lenox. Stayed in the Terrace Building which has kitchenettes, which is so beneficial right now. The inn does a good job with health & safety - with PPE at the front desk, grab & go breakfast and no housekeeping during your stay. I would have liked to see hand sanitizer in the room, but luckily we brought with us. The grounds are beautiful and the public rooms in the Manor House provide a lovely spot for sitting to have coffee in the morning, relaxing in the afternoon or a perfect pre-dinner place for a cocktail. The front desk manager, Kiley, is great - very attentive and helpful. So many outdoor activities in the Berkshires, foliage is gorgeous, wonderful restaurants hearby - highlly recommend for a fall getaway, especially during COVID.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid Terrace Room 307 - no closet
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Hickman, General Manager at Seven Hills Inn
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear GMMO, We are so thankful that we had the opportunity to host you on your recent visit to the area. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found Seven Hills and The Berkshires to be a great fall getaway! Hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Kylie Hickman General Manager
Read more
William H D wrote a review Oct 2020
Branford, Connecticut7 contributions1 helpful vote
I certainly agree with the previous posting by Ms. Drag, dated 10/13/20. Built in 1885, this inn was one of the "grand Berkshire cottages". The gardens are beautifully sited and terraced. The inside common areas to include the ballrooms, entertainment areas, molding, and historic fireplaces are all lovely. But once we stepped into "our" guest room (number 7 in the main building), we were not prepared for such a disappointment. The furniture, to include the single chair, cheap floor lamp, and end tables looked like remnants from a low-end garage sale as depicted in the attached photos. There was virtually no artwork on the walls except for a small cheap print and a very unattractive mirror. The bathroom was a joke! It had to be a converted closet. If the shower stall was more than two feet square, I would be surprised. The light switch for the bath was on the outside wall behind the door making it difficult to find. The containers of shower gel, shampoo, etc. were affixed to the inside of the shower, but because of the positioning of the bracket, they were very difficult to use (pump handle). And then there was the heat, or lack thereof. We spent the better part of a half hour trying to warm the room, but despite adjusting the temperature, the hand held remote was ineffective. We travel quite a bit and try to stay in good quality inns or B&Bs, so we have realistic expectations. Unfortunately those expections were not met at the Seven Hills Inn. We normally utilize Select Registry properties, but none were available in the Lenox area for the dates of our stay. For the price point of this room at over $200 per night, I would find it difficult to recommend this inn. A chain hotel or a Select Registry property would be a much better pick!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Would not recommend this inn.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Hickman, General Manager at Seven Hills Inn
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear Williamhd2014, I am very sorry to hear that you did not find your accomodation satisfactory during your recent visit. While many of our guests, enjoy the charm of the inn with all of it's quirks, we realize it may not be for everyone! Due to the historic nature of the Manor House (originally built in 1911), you may be very correct in assuming the bathroom may have been a closet at one time. This also means, each room is a little bit different then the next! We are always happy to do our best to accomodate requests for certain room attributes, like a larger bathroom, when we receive them. I do wish we had the opportunity to find a better fit for you during your stay. Warm Regards, Kylie Hickman
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
seven hills hotel lenox, 7 hills inn, seven hills lenox
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBerkshiresLenox
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Seven Hills Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Seven Hills Inn?
Nearby attractions include Norman Rockwell Museum (4.4 miles), Tanglewood (1.8 miles), and The Mount, Edith Wharton's Home (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Seven Hills Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Seven Hills Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Seven Hills Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Seven Hills Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seven Hills Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocolate Springs Cafe, Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar, and Chez Nous.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Seven Hills Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Seven Hills Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Seven Hills Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Seven Hills Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Mount, Edith Wharton's Home (0.2 miles) and The Mission House (4.1 miles).
Is Seven Hills Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.