We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Mill Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Mill Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Mill Inn
 Click to rate
Lower Keys, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to have a little getaway to a B&B. We used to do this 30 years ago, but then kids came and so much for romantic spots. Well, they are gone and my husband and I though it would be fun to start traveling this way again. This was a great first choice. George is a fantastic host and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkoi56
Sonoma County, California
INNKEEPER’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The inn was converted from an old mill and still retains many of the charming features. The waterfall and river right outside add to the lovely and relaxing atmosphere. The owner and his staff are gracious and accommodating and the morning breakfast was delicious. We look forward to returning for another enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrogers2015
About Innkeeper's Favorite Review
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Reviews like ours make us smile. We find nothing more relaxing than sitting on the deck by the falls and listening to the sound of the water. . .or as it starts to get chilly, enjoying the view from the dining room with a warm cup of coffee. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with...

Laconia, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night in the Lily Pond room. It had a great bathroom with a neat, double headed, shower. We were right next to the breakfast area and we could step out our outside door and walk on the deck to see the waterfalls. The hosts were very friendly, helping with ideas to experience the area, and cooking a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewed December 30, 2016

Picture perfect location along the river. Helpful staff and owner. Many rooms all decorated appropriately. One word of caution, IF you get a room on the waterfall side, you WILL hear the water fall. Some people are put to sleep by it, others are kept awake. But, there are many other very nice rooms where that is not an issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbfromb_13
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 28, 2016

My husband and I booked a room on Thanksgiving to avoid the chaotic family overnight and we totally enjoyed it. It was a bit strange at first checking in with no one there, but understandable since it was a holiday. Also, the owner left a note with our name that made it easier. First impression was that the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrequentFlyer013
Ma.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

If you are looking for a different experience in the best possible way.This Inn was not like anywhere else we have stayed. It is a converted factory on the mill river with a waterfall . The entry and dining room are warm and welcoming .The bedroom was charming ,beautifully decorated, immuculant with comfortable linens. The bathroom was large and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hawiabound
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed November 9, 2016

We spent a pleasant three-day weekend here in early October. Check-in was a little different in that there is no reception desk. Assuming you have a reservation, you'll find your name on a welcoming note, along with your room key, waiting on a counter near the entrance. A buzzer allows you to call the manager should you have a question....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marty F
Minneapolis
Reviewed October 29, 2016

This is a nice B&B but looks better in the photos than it does in person. The exterior and the setting are charming but the room decoration is more vintage than antique and comes across as kind of shabby without the chic bit. I may have rated it higher if I hadn't expected something better. It was also the most...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jetmail
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to be great, so "fine" certainly is a disappointment to us. We wish we could have better met your expectations. I didn't think our photos were so awesome as to create unrealistic expectations, but I can assure you they are all current and, if anything, might not represent...

Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

It was Parent weekend at Smith College. My daughter and I chose to stay at the Old Mill Inn because of the location and country like setting. Being from Southern California we never get to experience the changing seasons. Therefore, it was important to find a place that truly represented New England in the fall. This Inn was perfect! Tammy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa R
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alexa, Thanks for your kind words about the Old Mill. We always love to hear that people enjoy the Mill, and this beautiful part of the country during this magical New England season, as much as we do. In fact, that's the very reason we moved here from SoCal ourselves! We have so enjoyed hosting Smith College parents and...

Sayville, New York
Reviewed October 8, 2016

We stayed at The Old Mill Inn when we were visiting my son in Amherst. The Inn is off the beaten track but that's part of the charm. We brought our bikes and had a lovely time riding around the little town of Hatfield. Our room was right off the dining room, but was very quiet. The bed was super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jankow5
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed Hatfield and The Old Mill Inn! We love being able to provide a comfortable place to stay for families visiting their college students or local relatives, and strive to be able to provide a personal touch that sets us apart from local hotel chains. Tammy...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
3.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
383 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.4 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
441 reviews
6.9 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Mill is a historic building located in the town of Hatfield. Originally a grist mill, the Inn underwent an extensive conversion to a very unique B&B in 2006. We are situated on the Mill River, and our most in-demand rooms overlook the river and our own private waterfall. Our nine rooms and three extended-stay suites are beautifully appointed with vintage art and antiques, comfortable beds with luxury linens, private baths, hardwood floors, HDTV Cable, free WiFi and personal coffee stations. We have an on-site coffee shop open weekend mornings, and specialty coffee drinks are available at breakfast for our guests, free of charge. We also have one fully ADA-accessible room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Address: 87 School St, Hatfield, MA 01038-9732
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hatfield
Price Range: $176 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill On The Falls Bed And Breakfast
Old Mill On The Falls Hotel Hatfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the rooms on the waterfall side are great unless you have a problem with ambient sound, waterfalls do produce a fair amount of sound”
 of 5 bubbles mkoi56, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a special view”
 of 5 bubbles jimcW8354QV, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“There are few dining establishments close by, so eat well before you arrive, or just snack on the snacks in the dining area.”
 of 5 bubbles bbfromb_13, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room with a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles FrequentFlyer013, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Good luck try and find a room without cobwebs or ants”
 of 5 bubbles karentwidale, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question