We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
24 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (142)
Room & Suite (31)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
360Reviews2Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 308
  • 31
  • 11
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dreamer wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Me and some friends turned up after we were told “this is the most liberal place in America”…….we tried staying their and they told us we are the wrong colour and had us placed in the custody of the American Military. This a beautiful island……but the people are extremely racist
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Doug W wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
Property's Favorite Review
We loved our recent stay at The Christopher during the Beach Road Festival! The room was spacious and very appealing. The complementary breakfasts were delicious and beautifully prepared. We were very happy to pay for reserved parking and the location cannot be beat. The stairways are narrow and steep, so be prepared, but that is just part of the charm of staying in a beautifully restored, historic house in Edgartown.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from J M, Innkeeper at The Christopher
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi 07warren, We're always happy to host guests during special area events! It's great that you loved our fresh breakfast, amazing location, and everything else. Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope you keep us at the top of your mind for your next Edgartown visit. Wishing you the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gmcmeekin22 wrote a review Sep 2022
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution
Fantastic location and beautifully decorated! The breakfast was delicious and they have beach chairs and towels at the ready. The staff is super accommodating. The rooms are a little old but very comfortable
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from J M, Innkeeper at The Christopher
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi gmcmeekin22, Knowing that you're already planning your return is a huge compliment! We're humbled that you enjoyed everything about your stay, from our thoughtful designs to our fresh breakfasts. It was a joy being a part of it all, and we can't wait to see you back. See you then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine K wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here as a couple's getaway for 2 nights. The Good: Edgartown is the place to be. Upscale, clean, quiet. This hotel is right in the middle of all the action and you are steps away from everything you need. But the streets are never crowded and it's not noisy. We didn't see many of the other guests through the day. It was nice and private. The Christopher is an old converted house into a boutique hotel. It has old bones and definitely a little funky smell when you walk in. It is clean but not immaculate- it's as clean as hardwood floors and an old home can be. We stayed in the Christopher Suite, room 10, and the views from both balconies were incredible. Especially in the morning- the morning sunrise took my breath away both days. The Average We were greeted upon arrival and then we didn't see anyone to help us until we checked out. Not even someone at the front desk to give directions. If you have any food allergies or are a picky eater, the "small plates" breakfast isn't for you. It's yogurt in containers, hardboiled eggs, and granola with flies buzzing around it. This was a major disappointment for the money spent. The beach chairs are INCREDIBLY heavy and cumbersome. You can't walk to the beach with them. The beach towels are thin and useless. We paid for parking, but we didn't need to. There were extra spots in the lot always. The bed was uncomfortable and crunched when you turned on it. Overall- I think that this hotel had a lot of potential to be truly upscale, but missed the mark. It's lack of personal service and hospitality really just made it an OK room to stay in while on MV. And while I think it was a fine stay in a nice room, I was just expecting more for the price point.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J M, Innkeeper at The Christopher
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Hello V213MRchristinek, Welcoming you to Edgartown was a pleasure, and we thank you for your thorough review! It's a joy to read that you loved the incredible views from your balcony and our peaceful atmosphere. Your added feedback is just as appreciated. We're always open to further learning how to elevate our guests' experiences. We look forward to shining even brighter during your next stay. Take care until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ipim3624 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
The service was warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable. The atmosphere and decor of each room is unique and is like being in a Decor magazine without being stuffy. This is my second time here and will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from J M, Innkeeper at The Christopher
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Hi ipim3624, Thank you for being a loyal guest! It's humbling to know that our genuine hospitality and thoughtful designs keep you coming back. Expect more excellence and fun-filled vibes during your next stay. Until your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joshua C wrote a review Jun 2022
Dubai2 contributions
This was my wife and I's first trip to MV, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Fantastic location, delicious breakfast, lovely decor, and helpful staff. We would highly recommend The Christopher!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from J M, Innkeeper at The Christopher
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Hey 187joshuac, Your recommendation means the world to us! Thank you for your glowing accolades and we're thrilled to have shared in your first trip to Martha's Vineyard. You always have a home with us anytime you wish to return. See you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
list wrote a review Oct 2021
Chappaqua, New York17 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here in July and it took me this long to write a review. I have never stayed in a hotel room that was as awful as room 16! (And I’ve traveled A LOT). This room is literally in the lobby, When you check in, to your immediate right is the room ( as in put your arm out and you’re touching the door) They serve breakfast in the lobby in the morning and it’s as if they are serving in your room. Absolutely no privacy! I can not believe this is even a room! Spoke to the manager and they did nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from K P, Guest Services / Front Office at The Christopher
Responded Nov 1, 2021
Hi list, We appreciate you paying us a visit at The Christopher, and we’re sorry that your accommodations weren’t what you’d had in mind. Thanks for sharing your point of view. We hope you’ll consider a return visit to The Edgartown Collection to try one of our other rooms or properties, and we’re confident we can fully win you over. Our doors are always open for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nancy W wrote a review Oct 2021
Corona, California9 contributions
+1
My husband and just checked out of room 7. We had an absolute wonderful time here!! The Inn is in a perfect location steps to everything. We had a room with a balcony and I enjoyed sitting out there with a glass of wine reading my Kindle. They offer a small, delicious continental breakfast every morning that we took advantage of. I wish they would stock the room with a blanket for evenings on the balcony. It can get chilly out there. There isn’t very much room to store your clothes, no dressers, but we made it work. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 16. It’s right next to the lobby.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from K P, Guest Services / Front Office at The Christopher
Responded Dec 20, 2021
Hi Nancy, Happy Anniversary! We were honored to host your romantic escape and we can’t thank you enough for your glowing review of your time at The Christopher and your wonderful suggestions. We’ve shared your comments with our team, and we were all thrilled to see that you two enjoyed a relaxing getaway here in Edgartown. We hope you’ll make us a part of your anniversary tradition every year! Our doors are always open for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tmgan2018 wrote a review Oct 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions5 helpful votes
We had an amazing stay here. The hosts are wonderful and extremely thoughtful. The house is historic but recently renovated and was just gorgeous. The town was perfect. Bike rentals right next door! I highly recommend the Christopher and can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from K P, Guest Services / Front Office at The Christopher
Responded Oct 7, 2021
We’re flattered! Thank you, Tmgan, for your rave review. Our crew is grateful for your kind comments, and we’re all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Christopher on your next trip to Edgartown. The pleasure was ours!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RiverMountain42 wrote a review Sep 2021
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts4 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Christopher. It was our first time there and were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast in the morning! It’s a very clean hotel with bright and fun decor. The bed was plush and comfortable. The afternoon fresh baked cookies were a sweet delight as well! The hotel is a short walk to the downtown and very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from K P, Guest Services / Front Office at The Christopher
Responded Sep 13, 2021
The pleasure was ours! Thank you for paying us a visit at The Edgartown Collection and for spreading the word about our great location and delicious treats. We hope you’ll make us your home-away-from-home for all of your future trips to Martha’s Vineyard. Can’t wait to have you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$350 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
victorian hotel edgartown
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Victorian Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsMartha's VineyardEdgartown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Christopher
Which popular attractions are close to The Christopher?
Nearby attractions include Old Whaling Church (0.1 miles), Pirate's Puzzle Escape Room (0.1 miles), and Edgartown Memorial Wharf (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Christopher?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Christopher?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Christopher?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Christopher?
Conveniently located restaurants include Detente Restaurant and Wine Bar, Among The Flowers Cafe, and The Seafood Shanty.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Christopher?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Christopher?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Vincent House Museum (0.2 miles) and Dr. Daniel Fisher House (0.2 miles).