We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Veterans and Military Offer
$585
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/26/21
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (844)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chatham Bars Inn
Updated 12/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Chatham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes.
Read more
Room & Suite (335)335
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Golf course
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Veterans and Military Offer
2,214Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,470
  • 362
  • 186
  • 124
  • 72
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lauren wrote a review Jan 10
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions1 helpful vote
As a Cape Cod native (born-and-raised), I am immensely loyal to the area and therefore was hesitant to write this review. However, staying at Chatham Bars Inn in August 2020 was by far the worst experience I have had at a hotel in my life. We booked a Saturday-Monday stay for our family of five in a spa suite and spent most of the first 24 hours (aside from sleeping) at the pool and beach. Upon returning for my daughter's post-lunch nap on Sunday, while my other family members golfed, we encountered a huge, live cockroach on the living room rug. In a rush, I put my daughter down to sleep and returned to the living room. The large bug was gone and as I sat quietly on the couch another smaller one crawled beneath me on the rug. I covered it with a resort mug and immediately began packing our belongings. One bug can be a fluke, two mean infestation and can come home with you! I called the front desk and they seemed like they wanted to be helpful, but didn't sound surprised. When my daughter awoke, we went to the front desk to check out and they said "we will comp your entire stay (two nights) obviously, but we have to wait until the account reconciles." We left quickly to head home a night early. Months later, and after dozens of calls to the accountant, we still await our full refund. They refunded 50% of one night and nothing else; they no longer respond to calls or emails. As I mentioned, I am an avid supporter of the Cape and it's economy. I hate to even bring any negative attention to a local property but CBI is wrong here. CBI has a bug problem that is needs to deal with ASAP. I would obviously never return there sadly and hope they get serious about cleanliness in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Rodrigues, Marketing at Chatham Bars Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Lauren, We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay here at Chatham Bars Inn in August. We strive to provide the best accommodations and service every time and we apologize that this was not reflected in your room. We can assure you that we take all precautions to ensure that each and every room has been deep cleaned and sanitized upon arrival. We will be looking into this further and although I see you have spoken with our team, I encourage you to please reach out to me personally so that we may further discuss this matter. - Simon Rodrigues | Director of Sales and Marketing | srodrigues@chathambarsinn.com
Read more
KayLBos wrote a review Oct 2020
Boston, United States12 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed at the Chatham Bars Inn for the night of our anniversary and it was nothing short of absolutely incredible. The staff treats you as royalty, and are so polite, kind and helpful. The whole place is so clean, sanitized and safe (and we were welcomed with extra PPE when we arrived). The rooms are so beautiful, decorated with such coastal chic decor. The beds were so comfortable, it felt like they bought the bed for us it felt so clean, new and luxurious. We had a cabana for the day by the pool and the staff was so friendly and attentive while giving you plenty of peaceful time to yourselves as well. The food was delicious at the Beach House, and we had a drink at Stars at night by the fire which was so romantic. Even the staff at the Beach handing out towels were so nice and helpful. They provide transportation around downtown Chatham so we had a ride to and from dinner which was such a luxury, especially in this Covid world we are in right now. We highly recommend Chatham Bars Inn for so many reasons!!!! It is a must see and the experience was unmatched!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Rodrigues, Marketing at Chatham Bars Inn
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Dear KayLBos, We are truly appreciative of all of your kind feedback. We're thrilled to know our accommodations, food, and services were all above your expectations. Thank you for your high recommendation of us to others! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. - Simon Rodrigues | Director of Sales and Marketing | srodrigues@chathambarsinn.com
Read more
laross17 wrote a review Dec 2020
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions
Absolutely perfect! The inn is stunning, the staff gracious, food outstanding. My family have been visiting the inn since I can remember and each and every visit just proves that this is not only the most beautifully situated inn but run by the utmost welcoming and kind people. The gift shop is a must see too with unique and classy items as well as adorable children items.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Rodrigues, Marketing at Chatham Bars Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review and feedback. We're so glad to know that time after time we have been able to provide a wonderful stay for you and your family! We look forward to welcoming you back again next time. - Simon Rodrigues | Director of Sales and Marketing | srodrigues@chathambarsinn.com
Read more
Maura N wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Pros: stunning views. Comfy beds. People were nice and staff was courteous and hard working, running all over the property to clean and bring things to people because the place is too cheap to properly stock the rooms. Cons: this place is super expensive (600 bucks a night in the offseason) for what you get. The cottage was not at all luxurious, other than the beds—it is run down and worn from what appears to be many years of wear without replacing. Honestly felt slightly nicer than a motel. Not a thing was in the fridge, no plates or utensils for eating in the room, two little espresso pods for morning coffee, little kitchenette area and bathroom super worn down. Stains on carpet and furniture.No outdoor areas for eating at the inn—only indoor which did not feel safe because of covid. We had an outdoor place we could have eaten but it was too cold and the cushions had been removed. We ordered to our room and Food was so bad. Only winner was my daughters mac and cheese which I think was kraft with a butter sauce. I would never pay big bucks to stay here again and I cannot believe how successful this place is despite the crappiness of it. It is all location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Rodrigues, Marketing at Chatham Bars Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 179mauran, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, our courteous and hard working team and our cleanliness. We apologize that your cottage fell short of your expectations and are looking into the items you have brought to our attention. The team has tried there best to offer outdoor dining experiences, but due to weather, at times it is not possible. Once again, thank you and I welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay at your convenience. I may reached directly at (508) 945-6743. Warm regards, Simon Rodrigues | Director of Sales and Marketing | srodrigues@chathambarsinn.com
Read more
Jeff Bezos wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
This LG is garbage, the remote response time is 10 seconds and tv is like 15 years old. To get TV remote to work you have to walk up to tv and it takes forever to respond if that. Food was great but COVID-19 limited menu. Rooms besides TV are fire!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Rodrigues, Marketing at Chatham Bars Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear about any problems you had with your TV in your room. We will be looking into this and appreciate you providing feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, as we know we can provide a 5-star experience. - Simon Rodrigues | Director of Sales and Marketing | srodrigues@chathambarsinn.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$339 - $1,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chatham bars hotel chatham, chatham bars resort, chatham bar inn cape cod
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsCape CodChatham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
217
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chatham Bars Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Chatham Bars Inn?
Nearby attractions include Chatham Orpheum Theater (0.5 miles), Chatham Pier and Fish Market (0.3 miles), and Chatham Candy Manor (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chatham Bars Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chatham Bars Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chatham Bars Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Chatham Bars Inn?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chatham Bars Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cuvee at Chatham Inn, Impudent Oyster, and BlueFins Sushi & Sake Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chatham Bars Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Chatham Bars Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Chatham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chatham Bars Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Chatham Bars Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chatham Bars Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, and Romanian.